We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to stay!”
Review of Goreme House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Goreme House
Ranked #45 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Loved everything about this hotel! Lovely big room with coffee and tea making facilities. Beautiful buffet breakfast on the roof terrace with everything you could want including delicious homemade jams and pancakes, while enjoying a wonderful view of Goreme. Excellent location close to town and all the sights, we particularly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere in the courtyard and fabulous service and assistance provided by the friendly staff especially Avni who was of great assistance finding our luggage which was lost at the airport. Internet and a computer were always available. We would like to thank you for a lovely stay, we will be recommending you to all our family and friends.
Gail and David, Australia

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed at the Goreme House Hotel for two nights, at a very reasonable price (50€/night) when comparing against other hotel prices in Goreme. Excellent location, a couple of minutes walk to goreme town, and decent mattresses for a good nights sleep. Its best feature is definitely the breakfast, which is served in the rooftop restaurant which has amazing views. The breakfast is served in buffet style with cereals, honey and jams, meats and cheeses, fresh fruits, home made delicious pancakes and a hot dish too, with juices, tea, coffee etc.

Drawbacks were tepid - not hot - water and small, but perfectly comfortable rooms.

Highly recommended if on a budget in Goreme, don`t want a cave room, but want a comfortable room with a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyJMGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Goreme House is a very nice and cosy, ideally located place. The rooms are big and clean, the terrace has a wonderful view on the fairy chimneys and there is also a patio garden where you can relax at any time of the day or evening. The breakfast buffet is simple but great, plentiful and full of local products and home-made food. The staff is extremely welcoming, attentive and helpful. They offered us some tea on our arrival and an excellent home-made baklava on our departure, gave us tips (in perfect English!) about the best walks around Goreme and helped us organising our hot air balloon tour. They also came and picked us up from Avanos bus station while all the other tourists who were there had to take a taxi. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone and very much look forward to going back to Cappadocia and staying at Goreme House!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaddiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

Biggest problem was that we stayed in august which was very hot. There was no airconditioning or fan which meant you had to open big windows that were half the size of the door which meant no safety or privacy or sound barrier. Otherwise, Great location close to town, but also right next to mosque where you hear the morning prayer at approx 4am straight into your window. Rooms and house were tastefully decorated to feel like you were staying at a Turkish friends house. Beautiful rooftop view over the village. Airport shuttle service available even for late night flights.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sairaih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

This hotel was very cute and had a nice rooftop view. Our main complaint was the fact that there was no fan or air conditioning in our room which for this time of year is unbearable.
Otherwise it was a nice little hotel and we had no other problems

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anjham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The hotel has an excellent location and the rooms are large and clean. This is a small hotel and the feeling is nice and laid back. The breakfast buffet is ok but when we were there we got the impreswsion that the same stuff was being wheeled out each morning and the breakfast room contained lots of flies. The breakfast terrace is lovely! As for the staff, they were not impressed by my refusal to pay in cash or to sign up for one of the trips/balloon flights. Also, don't expect the staff to anticipate your needs, you will have to ask if you would like a cooked breakfast or another coffee etc. Having said this nobody was unhelpful during our stay and the quality of the hotel and location more than made up for it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank espeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We had really a bad, worse experience ever with one of the staff named Avni, who is always trying to Rip off their guests, apparently he did the same with some American and Japaneese guests, and unfortunately for us we trusted him as he seems so helpful.
1-if you ask him for any activity he will always try to send you to his friends ( cost much more expensive than others) maybe because he is getting commission.
2-he convinced us to take a tour with him on his own car for 200tl instead of 180 tl with travel agency (including entrance fees everywhere, lunch ang guide), saying that with him he will stop wherever we want (without entrance fees, no lunch, no guide).
We were very disappointed because he didn't know Wich way to take, we spent most of the time in the car looking for our way than visiting, at the end instead of one day tour we had to split it on two days(very tiring). Of course we had to pay for all extras (entrance fees) and at the end he took us to an expensive restaurant where we had to pay for his dinner as well (Wich is included with the travel agency)
When came the time to pay the bill for the tour he made us pay 380TL instead of 200TL agreed saying that it was 200TL per day, and as I mentioned the tour is supposed to be one day but he made all the efforts to split it in two days.
3-shuttle bus to the airport is 20TL per person as per the hotel, but he ripped us off again making us paying 25TL each(we knew it later that it's 20TL).
We spend a lovely days in cappadocia but because of this guy named Avni we regret the day we choosed the horsemen house hotel. It's a shame for this guy and he is giving a very bad reputation to the hotel even if the hotel manager is so nice and kind.
We don't really care about the money he ripped off from us, we just wanna warn people from this guy, we don't wanna other guests to experience the same bad experience as us.
Hope that the manager will come to learn about this guy before he ruin the hotel reputation.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evangelina09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ismail u, Manager at Goreme House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear Guests,
We are very surprised to see this review, we were not expecting such a reaction from you. We are sorry that you feel that you were cheated, we were trying to provide a service similar to the type we have been providing customers for the past 11 years as this has proven to make previous guests grateful and satisfied.
1-Our job at the hotel is to suggest good places for our guests because of customer satisfaction,not because of a comission. In a small town everyone is friends and this is more than often a benefit to the customer not the staff.
2- A daily group tour in Cappadocia is 80 tl per person correct, this is however with a group size of 14 passengers minimum. We had offered to provide a private car service for 180 tl total for the day excluding extrance fees and meals as the daily tours had already departed at 09:30. The benefit of this was 1. Cheaper than a taxi, and 2 The driver can speak fluent english and is able to give further information that a regular taxi driver.In addition to the regular Red Tour tourist stops the guests were taken to Love Valley and Mustafa Pasa. Unfortunately there was a wrong turn taken to yet another extra destination Damsa Dam and for this we appologise.
On the second day we made Green Tour.Still in the Green Tour apart from all the places in the tour the guests were also taken to Uchisar Castle and Guzelyurt.For this tour we charged 200 tl total, usually a taxi is 250 tl for the day and the daily tour again with minimum 14 people is 90 tl per person.
Both options were explained to the guest upon check-in and we are once again sorry if any missunderstanding took place. We were certain that we had allowed the guests to see above and beyond what they could have achieved on the two daily tours. To be clear there is not one tour in Cappadocia that can possibly visit all of the above places in one day as the total km’s travelled over the two days exceeds 420km each stop requiring a minimum of 15mins to visit.
The guests were also taken to the Dervish Ceremony as an inclusion to this day, the extra charge for this is usually another 50 tl. As they were short on time they were taken to a restaurant where the staffs meal was provided and was not added to the guests bill.
3-Our shuttle service for the hotel is at a charge of 20 tl per person each way, however they received a return transfer for 25 tl per person.
Further more the guests received a complimentary room upgrade and a 20 tl discount per person on their horse riding tour.
Once again we are sorry that the guests were not satisfied with their time at the hotel, this is not the type of review we have been receiving or have been expecting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Historical Goreme House
Historical Goreme House
#31 of 77 in Goreme
151 reviews
0 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Stone Palace
Cappadocia Stone Palace
#52 of 77 in Goreme
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tekkaya Cave Hotel
Tekkaya Cave Hotel
#18 of 77 in Goreme
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Goreme City Hotel
Goreme City Hotel
#61 of 77 in Goreme
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goreme House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goreme House

Address: Eselli Mah No 47, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £20 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Goreme House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cappadocia Goreme House Hotel offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in a restored old Cappadocian House. Close and convenient to downtown, restaurants, Museums, shopping and attractions in Cappadocia. Immerse yourself in an atmosphere that is delightfully different... Goreme House Hotel, nestled on the back slopes of Goreme Village, was constructed and completed in 1997. The hotel harmoniously fuses together traditional Anatolian style with modern comforts in order to create a cozy and relaxing atmosphere to meet the needs of today's traveler. In constructing Goreme House Hotel, the style was kept as traditional as possible while stressing the importance of details. Blocks of natural rock were used to create the cool and spacious arch rooms. Wood floors and panel decorations were added for warmth. Modern bathroom amenities as well as central heating make even the weariest of travelers feel at home. Goreme House Hotel is not your everyday, conventional hotel. It has a warm, guest house feel with extremely personal care, breathtaking views, and many quaint corners to "slip away" with a good book or simply enjoy the views of village life activities going on down below. Homey yet professional is the general ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Goreme House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goreme House Hotel Goreme
Goreme Hotel
Goreme House Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing