We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Goreme House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Goreme House
Ranked #42 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

It was amazing to be there after 20 hours on the plane to be overlooking the balcony with geranium flower pots and viewing the fairy chimneys. We woke at 3am with the prayer call and then at 6 am with the whoosh of the hot air balloons. Breakfast was the best we had in Turkey, thanks to the lovely staff. We negotiated a package of tours before we went with this hotel. We bargained so it saved any hassle when we got there. The room was perfect on the first floor.

Room Tip: Don't forget to go up the hill and view the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    52
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
36
125
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We loved this hotel.
1. It's centrally located to the village centre and the bus stop (Otogar) where we alighted.
2. It's got great helpful staff, Kubilah and Emre arranged our tours and even helped us with an arrangement to wash and change before we headed to our next destination.
3. The plentiful ripe gorgeous mulberry tree, is something you will be tempted to climb and enjoy the tasty fruit off the tree.
4. The breakfast is satisfying, and can be enjoyed with the Panasonic view of the chimneys.
5. The sunset point cafe is at walking distance.
6. The wi fi works just fine.
7. I'm not sure if these rooms are real cave rooms, but the decor is quaint and cozy.

Room Tip: Check the shower, before you choose the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KubraSait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This place met our needs. We stayed in a stone suite, which was nice enough. My only issues were the shower (just a shower head, nothing to keep water from going through the whole bathroom with too intense of pressure to use- it was painful) and the internet was in and out. Other than that, the folks were nice and arranged the balloon ride and airport transportation for us. I would suggest to look at other places if you're willing to pay a little more, but if you are looking for a place on more of a budget, choose Goreme House.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gabriela l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We arrived late at night after flying in from Istanbul. When we arrived they were so welcoming, they carried our bags and checked us in with easy. I felt like I was visiting a long lost relative. The whole atmosphere of Gerome is pretty cool. You really feel like you’re in a far way land.

Breakdown:

Hotel:
The hotel is very nice and comfortable. The place was extremely clean and had a very quite and relaxing atmosphere. The location of the hotel is perfect, just off the main road. It’s easy to walk everywhere. When we got dropped off, I heard one of the other guest staying somewhere else comment “I want to stay there!!”

Room:
Our room was very nice, it was a cave built into the rocks. We were on the very top floor, so we had a nice view of all of Gerome and the rock formations. In the morning, you can see all the hot air balloons fly by your window. The wooden shower was amazing! It was chilly while we were there and to be able to take a hot shower in a wooden shower, was awesome felt like I was at a ski resort.

Breakfast:
The breakfast is a typical Turkish breakfast. The lady making breakfast would always smile and greet us as we walked in. It felt like I was at someone home rather than a hotel. The bread was amazing. Everywhere we went in Gerome the bread was awesome! I have dreams about that bread!

Staff:
They were all so nice and accommodating. From the moment we got in late at night to right when we left they were nothing but helpful. It was the same people working the whole time we were there (I think they are the family that owns it). The guy in the office literally worked round the clock (not sure when he slept). He helped us plan a couple of different tours and his suggestions were right on. The hot air balloon tour he suggested one company over another and he was absolutely right. The company we went with only had a few people (15) in the basket (which made it an awesome experience!). While we saw the other company cramming about 50 people into one basket.

This hotel was great and I would definitely recommend it. The hotel staff works hard to make it comfortable and cozy!

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the very top. Great views of Gerome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a2312o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Hotel location is great. Hotel itself too. The suites are real cave rooms. Staff also tells about the surrounding and offers activities which are mostly objective. you can walk to the center and arrange some activities. but for dinner you must go to Avanos!
We joined a balloon tour so we don't have any idea about breakfast.

Room Tip: suites (spa does not work, shall check or ask first)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhaz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

I was welcomed to breakfast before I even checked in at about 7.30am. It's a typical turkish breakfast with a selection of cheeses, olives, freshly prepared eggs, selection of teas and juices, cereal..
I was a walk in guest so my room wasn't to be ready till later that afternoon.
The rooms are heated and have a warm cozy feel, very nice if it's cold outside. I had a deluxe room. It comprised of a reception room, separate from the main bedroom. There is a tea and coffee station. Complimentary bottled water. The bathroom is on the smaller side but still nice. It had a corner bathtub. It was all clean but I noted that some mold was starting to sprout on the tiles(obviously something that was accidently missed as everything else was spotless. There are extra blankets in the wardrobe if needed. And I only discovered the next day as I checked out that the room had a minibar and TV (not that you need it) with cable TV. All cleverly concealed in an armoir.
Overall, the room is tastefully furnished.
You can also request a late checkout, which is later than most city hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderlustandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Well placed hotel, with delightful staff, who could not do enough to help. The whole place was spotlessly clean, but everywhere is a little faded, so if you are looking for ultimate luxury, this probably isn't the place for you. Breakfasts are excellent, with freshly cooked omelettes every day. The terrace is a delightful place to while away some time - with great views of the area. Soft and alcoholic drinks are always available. The hotel organised balloon flights and a guided tour for us, along with painless transfers to and from the airport.

Room Tip: Room 302 is a nice spacious cave suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat_cliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Goreme Suites
Goreme Suites
#7 of 77 in Goreme
490 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dervish Cave House
Dervish Cave House
#37 of 77 in Goreme
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 77 in Goreme
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 77 in Goreme
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anatolian Houses
Anatolian Houses
#23 of 77 in Goreme
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Historical Goreme House
Historical Goreme House
#32 of 77 in Goreme
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goreme House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goreme House

Property: Goreme House
Address: Eselli Mah No 47, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Goreme House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cappadocia Goreme House Hotel offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in a restored old Cappadocian House. Close and convenient to downtown, restaurants, Museums, shopping and attractions in Cappadocia. Immerse yourself in an atmosphere that is delightfully different... Goreme House Hotel, nestled on the back slopes of Goreme Village, was constructed and completed in 1997. The hotel harmoniously fuses together traditional Anatolian style with modern comforts in order to create a cozy and relaxing atmosphere to meet the needs of today's traveler. In constructing Goreme House Hotel, the style was kept as traditional as possible while stressing the importance of details. Blocks of natural rock were used to create the cool and spacious arch rooms. Wood floors and panel decorations were added for warmth. Modern bathroom amenities as well as central heating make even the weariest of travelers feel at home. Goreme House Hotel is not your everyday, conventional hotel. It has a warm, guest house feel with extremely personal care, breathtaking views, and many quaint corners to "slip away" with a good book or simply enjoy the views of village life activities going on down below. Homey yet professional is the general ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Goreme House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goreme House Hotel Goreme
Goreme Hotel
Goreme House Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing