We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get much better ..”
Review of Goreme House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Goreme House
Ranked #45 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2009

My wife, and I, traveled to Goreme to see the underground cities from centuries past and to take a hot air balloon trip. After researching places to stay, on the internet, we selected Goreme House.

What a perfect choice!

This is a family run hotel with about 12 rooms. If we had been driving, we would have missed it as it is tucked away just up the side of a small hill and in behind some local homes. We had picked one of the suites which offered a jacuzzi. Breakfast is included in the price and is served in a dining room at the very top of the hotel (4 stories). The dining room offers a 180 degree view of the surrounding valley. Breakfast was in traditional Turkish style. As a note here to those from North America who have not traveled much in Europe or the Middle East, do not expect to see piles of breakfast ham or bacon. Breakfast consisted of freshly squeezed orange juice, a large assortment of great tasting local cheeses, fresh (and delicious) tomatoes, cucumbers, an assortment of olives, breads, jams and a choice of eggs (boiled, omelet, fried ...). In Turkey, tea is traditionally served stronger than a mother's love and hot water needs to be generously added to bring it to a delicious state.

Goreme House is located about a 2 minute walk from most of the downtown centre where a wide assortment of shops, restaurants and other attractions are located. The bus station is about a 5 minute walk and everything else is just as close.

Our hosts were generous to a fault. If we asked, they provided or arranged for what we were looking for. On one afternoon, the dad offered to drive us to the next village for free.

Ok, now for the best part .... the son (the hotel owner) also owns a hot air balloon business. He is also a pilot and we were fortunate enough to ride in his balloon on the day we went up.

His English is just about perfect. His humour is excellent and his piloting skills are amazing. I had several conversations with him, after our flight and the following day. One of the very first things that caught my attention was the individual cost. per flight, per passenger (it was 150 Euros each). When he explained the capital costs of the business, the operating costs and insurance and taxes (none of these are cheap by anyone's standards) I quickly realized the cost was very reasonable if not even a little on the cheap side.

I won't take the space to describe the balloon flight itself. There isn't enough room here. I will say I personally have an issue with heights. I can assure everyone this was not a factor during any part of the flight. I was too amazed, too busy and too comfortable with the complete event. I will share one secret. After the landing, the staff held a champagne reception and we all received a Certificate of Flight.

All told, we spent four days and nights as guests. It was worth every bit of the cost, time and effort. There may be a few nicer hotels in the area but from what we observed, they lack the local flavour and colour. There may even be some cheaper hotels but we felt we received more than the value in what we paid.

Voyager Balloons and Goreme House will see us again and the next time, we are taking friends from Canada with us.

If your plans include travel to central Turkey, you can't go wrong in including at stay at Goreme House and you just have to experience the hot air balloon ride for yourself. Make sure your camera batteries are well charged and you have lots of film/digital storage space. You will need both!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MortPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2009

We had a very nice holiday in Cappadocia specially in Goreme House Hotel. The staff were very very friendly, nice and helpful. Rooms were very authentic, hotel was very close to the historical areas which were in walking distance. The hotel owner Halis Aydogan was also a great pilot in the Baloon which was a wonderful and unforgettable experience.
We look forward to visit them again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctoreNewfoundland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

We stayed 4 nights and i's a pity we don't stay longer for Cappadoce is wonderful (so much to discover and to appreciate). Before leaving, I was afraid that Goreme would be crowdy and distorted by tourists but it's still very authentic. it's a real pleasure to stay in this place. Halis Adogan is very thoughtful of his guests. he helped us to realize hikes. The hotel is peaceful and very well located. The rooms are very pleasant, the terraces delightful. Still now, we remember from the excellent breakfasts (orange juices, olives...) outside on the terrace. We hope really we will come back!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleonor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We stayed 3 nights with 3 late teenage kids, Aug 09. We all loved the place. Spotless (as most places in Turkey are) but with a private courtyard and a terrace (great views) for breakfast. The owner is very pleasant and helpful. There's plenty of restaurants in Goreme and as you've come here for the rock formations, lots of great sites close by. We had a balloon trip that lasted 90 minutes with Kapadokia Balloons.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We (2 adults, 3 teenager and friends also with family) spent five wonderful days
in this nice hotel. The staff is very friendly and ready to help and assist wherever necessary!! We spent cosy hours with our friends in the beautiful inner courtyard and
also enjoyed the sunshine on the terraces with outstanding views. The breakfast was
typical and delicious. Cappadocia is a very interesting and breathtaking region within
Turkey and it offers all kind of activities.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homer68Geisenfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Goreme House Hotel is a nice place to stay visiting Cappadocia, the rooms are comfortables and there is a great sightseeing from the terrace. The staff is very friendly and can provide excellent suggestions for the sight of Cappadocia, the atmosphere is friendly too.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EtaBeta22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

The hotel is very cozy, charming, relaxing and confortable, perfectly located, and with wonderful views of Goreme. Halis and his team are the perfect hosts for Capadoccia. They made your time there so exciting and easy to manage, you feel like you are at home. No matter what you want to do around or to know about the place, they are always there to make things easy for you!!
And, trust me, don´t miss their homemade marmelade!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpallaresb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Historical Goreme House
Historical Goreme House
#31 of 77 in Goreme
150 reviews
0 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Stone Palace
Cappadocia Stone Palace
#51 of 77 in Goreme
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tekkaya Cave Hotel
Tekkaya Cave Hotel
#20 of 77 in Goreme
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Goreme City Hotel
Goreme City Hotel
#62 of 77 in Goreme
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goreme House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goreme House

Address: Eselli Mah No 47, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £20 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Goreme House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cappadocia Goreme House Hotel offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in a restored old Cappadocian House. Close and convenient to downtown, restaurants, Museums, shopping and attractions in Cappadocia. Immerse yourself in an atmosphere that is delightfully different... Goreme House Hotel, nestled on the back slopes of Goreme Village, was constructed and completed in 1997. The hotel harmoniously fuses together traditional Anatolian style with modern comforts in order to create a cozy and relaxing atmosphere to meet the needs of today's traveler. In constructing Goreme House Hotel, the style was kept as traditional as possible while stressing the importance of details. Blocks of natural rock were used to create the cool and spacious arch rooms. Wood floors and panel decorations were added for warmth. Modern bathroom amenities as well as central heating make even the weariest of travelers feel at home. Goreme House Hotel is not your everyday, conventional hotel. It has a warm, guest house feel with extremely personal care, breathtaking views, and many quaint corners to "slip away" with a good book or simply enjoy the views of village life activities going on down below. Homey yet professional is the general ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Goreme House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goreme House Hotel Goreme
Goreme Hotel
Goreme House Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing