We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable Сappadocia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goreme House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Goreme House
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable Сappadocia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in stone suite. Everything was perfect - location of hotel, our room - clean, lovely decorated, enought spacious, with comfortable bed. The weather outside wasn't so good - but in room was warm. And the most important sing - everybody's hospitality. Mr Halis helped us with everething - with renting a car, ordering transfer, сhoice of route or restaurant and so on. We was really happy after this trip.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alla702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    52
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
36
125
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CHENNAI,INDIA
Level Contributor
229 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

THIS IS A FAMILY RUN HOTEL AND YOU ARE MADE SO COMFORTABLE THAT YOU FEEL YOU ARE PART OF THE FAMILY.

we were received by the entire family as if it were a home coming. my 80 year old mother was not well and could not climb the steps. An alternative room was got ready in minutes and she recuperated there and was normal in a couple of days.The family meals were shared with her and special vegetarian soups were made for her . All our needs were attended to without delay. Since it was off season,food options were limited but there are numerous excellent places very near by to indulge in local cuisine. The son and hotel manager ,Halis, speaks good English and is very well informed. He advised us on local trips. I still can't believe that Cappadocia is on earth and that one can fall in love with a hotel and with the family that owns and runs it....just in five days!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — FRIENDLINESS
  • Disliked — NO ELEVATOR
  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RAVI K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2009

We booked our room 3 weeks in advance (prior to the crazy last minute preps for our wedding) and were promised the best room of the house. And that's what we got.
Our room was ready on arrival 11am and as November is quiet, we could retain the room till 4pm on our third day. Having three days in Goreme was a good duration.

I fully recommend the wonderful service provided by Goreme House. The Stone Room in particular is a relaxing, spacious, romantic room to stay. The service provided by Halis, his family and other staff was of a very high standard and unobtrusive. They are very knowledgable about Goreme and the local area.

Lovely features we enjoyed in our room included a spacious heated room with a couch, paytv and a modern bathroom with a jacuzzi. Room decorations were both traditional and tasteful. Breakfast is served upstairs on the terrace with a beautiful view across the town of Goreme with the option to eat inside in winter and outside when the weather is warmer. Goreme House has high speed wifi, which was great for us as we were travelling with a laptop.

It's quiet and relaxing in Goreme. The perfect location to experience the countryside of Turkey. At Goreme House, we were just a 2 minute walk from the end of town and 5 minutes walk from the superb Anatolian restaurant Alaturco. The Open Air Museum, outside of Goreme, is an easy 30-40 minute walk away.

Goreme House organised our transfers to and from the airport at the time of our booking. We emailed with Halis prior to our short visit to let him know we wanted to do a baloon ride (on the best weather day) as well as a day trip. He provided us with perfect advice about which day to do each, which was useful as November is rainy in Cappadocia. We got to see the things most important to us whilst in Goreme, even though there was lots of rain.

We thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our stay at Goreme House and take home lovely memories of our three day stay in Cappadocia. We strongly recommend Goreme House for it's service, comfort, professional advice, convenient location and lovely view.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OccasionalTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYork
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

Very friendly and kind warm hospitality and we had a wonderful time! Nice Cappadocia wine and unforgettable moment on the top of the roof at Gerome House.We love to visit again!! walking distance to the top of the hill and you will able to see nice scene, And also restaurants and shops are near by so you don't need taxi from hotel.Convenience location in Gerome area.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankieTiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

me and my gf stayed at this hotel for 3 nights beginning of NOV 09 and we were delighted with it. excellent value for money. the staff was lovely and very helpful, the breakfast and the views were very nice and the room were very cosy and warm (it was already winter there!). can´t ask for more for the price paid.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

Last year in Cappadocia, my tour stayed outside of Goreme, a small town where you feel like you're not on earth with its unusual rock formations. So this year I came alone and stayed at Goreme House, which is pretty much right near the center of Goreme. Halis, the owner of Goreme House, was very hospitable and of course, knows the area very well. So he can answer any of your questions about the area. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean and very spacious. It feels like you're at home except when you open the door, your view could be a cool fairy chimney! I like how Goreme House feels like you're in the countryside with its grapevines with grapes hanging above and beautiful colorful floral plants along the walkways with an open patio below and an open breakfast patio above. It was nice and peaceful to relax and enjoy a scenic view of Goreme while eating breakfast on the rooftop terrace. I like using the free internet on the super fast Apple computers with huge monitor screens. To make things even nicer and more convenient, there are 2 computers to use. So you don't have to wait for someone like me to get off! And if you're lucky like me, you might be able to try Halis' mom's super delicious güllaç dessert with flaky crusts soaked in milky syrup, filled with nuts and flavored with rose water.
Also, if you're interested in hot air ballooning over Cappadocia, which is a must see, I highly recommend Halis' Voyager Hot Air Balloon Company. If you're lucky like me and get Halis as your pilot, you'll have the best ride! Unlike last year's balloon company my tour used, Halis flew lower so you can get a better closeup view and better photos of the fairy chimneys and unusual moonscape of Cappadocia. Also, he would slowly spin the basket, so everyone gets the best view and can see everything! No need to look over someone's head or shoulder to see the other side. He'll turn the basket so you'll get to see the other side, too.
And for Japanese speaking tourists, Halis' partner and wife speaks fluent Japanese. One of the Japanese tourists I spoke to told me Voyager is the only company that the Japanese can really communicate with and is highly recommended in Japan. And you know those Japanese tourists only go with the best!!!
Thank you, Halis and your sweet family, for your great hospitality and professional service! I am so blessed to be your friend. :)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

The Goreme House is a wonderful hotel to use as a base to explore Cappadocia. It is a hard working family establishment run by Halis and his parents. They will try to fix any travel problems you may have or drive you to the Whirling Dervishes. Halis can personally take you on a hot-air ballooning experience.

The room was very clean. Breakfast was pretty good on their terrace with a terrific view of the town of Goreme. The price for the standard double was 60 euros and only 54 is you pay cash. Well worth it.

There's wireless internet although the connection was a little weak (a problem with all the mid-range hotels we stayed at). The TV had BBC (for English speakers) but not CNN.
Those were my only minor inconveniences.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.3 mi away
Ottoman Cave Suites
Ottoman Cave Suites
#24 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#28 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.9 mi away
Phocas Cave Suites
Phocas Cave Suites
#2 of 7 in Cavusin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Historical Goreme House
Historical Goreme House
#30 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goreme House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goreme House

Property: Goreme House
Address: Eselli Mah No 47, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Goreme House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cappadocia Goreme House Hotel offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in a restored old Cappadocian House. Close and convenient to downtown, restaurants, Museums, shopping and attractions in Cappadocia. Immerse yourself in an atmosphere that is delightfully different... Goreme House Hotel, nestled on the back slopes of Goreme Village, was constructed and completed in 1997. The hotel harmoniously fuses together traditional Anatolian style with modern comforts in order to create a cozy and relaxing atmosphere to meet the needs of today's traveler. In constructing Goreme House Hotel, the style was kept as traditional as possible while stressing the importance of details. Blocks of natural rock were used to create the cool and spacious arch rooms. Wood floors and panel decorations were added for warmth. Modern bathroom amenities as well as central heating make even the weariest of travelers feel at home. Goreme House Hotel is not your everyday, conventional hotel. It has a warm, guest house feel with extremely personal care, breathtaking views, and many quaint corners to "slip away" with a good book or simply enjoy the views of village life activities going on down below. Homey yet professional is the general ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Goreme House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goreme House Hotel Goreme
Goreme Hotel
Goreme House Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing