We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit or Miss” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goreme House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Goreme House
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Bourne, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

I enjoy traveling to Turkey very much and I hate to give this hotel a bad recommendation but a member of my travelling party picked this hotel for its uniqueness. I found the hotel to be dusty and damp with threadbare sheets and towels. Hit = location, breakfast, hospitality. Miss = catching the maid taking a nap on my bed and the room being constantly damp even with the heat on. There are many more options for accommodations in Goreme.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    52
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
36
125
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

I really wanted to love this place. The website is beautiful. And, there are some nice things about this hotel, but it hardly lives up to the website, so be prepared. Unfortunately, I had problems from the beginning. I was promised an airport pick up, but no one showed up, so I found my own way to the hotel. When I got there, the very apathetic manager was unable to find my reservation. He actually had me sit at his computer to find my emails so he could find my booking. I finally got my room, but there was no apology for the missed airport pick up, and it was a cold welcome at best. The whole process was uncomfortable. I wasn’t given any information about the hotel or the area.

A morning later, I was leaving the hotel for a tour, when the manager told me that he needed my room. He told me that he was going to put me in a different, but better room, and asked that I pack up my things to move. I wondered what was going on, so I asked him several times why he needed my room, but he didn’t give me any explanation, and he got increasingly irritated with me for asking. I just wanted to know why I was being moved, and wondered if I’d be moved several times during my stay. I also worried that I’d be charged extra money for the change. I left for the day, and when I returned, one of the staff gave me my new room key. I asked the woman why I was being moved, and she called the manager over to talk to me. The manager became extremely angry and yelled at me for continuing to ask questions. I was stunned and walked away, but he kept yelling. He was irate. It was unbelievable. I finally went up to the room, which was very nice and larger than my original room, but I was so shaken and upset by the whole encounter, it was hard to enjoy it.

Some nice things about the hotel: They provide a good breakfast in the morning and the terraces offer lovely views. The hotel is well situated - an easy walk to many restaurants and shops. The hotel is fairly quiet, except for the early morning call to prayer coming from the nearby mosque.

I never did see the “library” mentioned on the website and it wasn’t clear to me which computer was available for guest use, though there is one in the reception area.

The room I was moved to was quite nice, and I was not charged extra for the upgrade. A complimentary bottle of wine was also included. On the downside, I had thought the room seemed fairly clean, but the night before I left, I checked under the bed for anything I might have dropped, and found that the area (under the bed) hadn’t seen a dust mop in ages. There were some bunched up night clothes from a prior guest, along with some old batteries, pills, etc. It was pretty grimy. The bathroom was nice, but the hot water ran out fast.

I loved Goreme, but next time I will stay in another hotel. I am at a loss to explain the behavior of this hotel manager. I talked to other guests and got mixed feedback about their experiences. Some of them described the same surly, offensive behavior I encountered, and some had better things to say. My advice would be to stay elsewhere. I spent some time at the Kelebek, which was beautiful and friendly. The restaurant was great and the staff was very helpful. I would suggest taking a look at the Kelebek or another hotel in Goreme before staying here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anabanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

we have rented a basic room on the higher level (202 or 203 I think). picture of our room on their website had a view of the chimney; well our room in real life didn't...
I found it overpriced for what it is. First impression of the hotel is small and old looking. As soon as you enter your room you will find that it smells very humid and there is no light coming into your room unlike the picutres on the website.
location is not much better than if you were to stay in Urgup or Nevsehir, where more choices of hotels available...we also had problems with hot water one morning... bed sheets and towels were really old however very clean... there were not enough supplies in the bathroom; "very" small bar oh olive oil soap and two little bottles of shampoo, nothing else...
Family who ran the hotel was nice and friendly and helpful but I think with small improvments here and there they can deserve the money they charge...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MmeAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Me and my wife took note of the good ratings of this hotel in Tripadvisor and booked a standard room for four days. However, the room provided to us had nothing to do with the photograph in the catalogue. The photo in the picuture showed a nicely lit room with a wonderful view of the fairy chimneys, whereas the room we had was without a window. It was a very small and dark room in the basement. When we complained about the situation, we encountered a very rude attitude by the hotel staff. The hotel administration later apoligized for this treatment and promised us that we would be given a suit room for two days and a delux room for the last day. However, they did not keep this promise. We noticed that our luggage were transfered to another standard room the second day. We were quite upset about this treatment. Moreover, during our stay, each morning, we were voken up by the morning prayer at about 5 o'clock as the hotel was quite clause to the local Göreme Mosque. As a result, we decided to leave the hotel one day early. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. There are many more much nicer and cheaper hotels out there in Göreme. Don't waste your money for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tokuzlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

Beautiful little family run in right in the center of Goreme, Cappadocia. Our room was very large, clean, and comfortable for European standards and the service was great. Only about 5-10 minute walk to the restaurants/attractions in Goreme and 30 minute walk to the Open Air Museum. The family was very accommodating, always offering us tea or coffee. They were more than happy to help us with our activities planned for each day. Their English was great, and they appeared to be very conversational in other languages as well. We didn't have laptops with us, and they offered to let us use their personal computer to check email. Their courtyard is beautiful for relaxing on a hot afternoon, and the view from their terrace at breakfast is stunning! For the price this inn has much to offer compared to the other lodging options in Goreme. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

This was a charming family-run business that gave us great value for our money. I particularly liked the family-run aspect of it because we could sit there in the afternoon, after a long (and hot) day of sightseeing and chit-chat with the owners. There is a mulberry tree in the main courtyard and the owners picked a bunch of the berries and gave us a plate to eat. The breakfast was delicious too - the jam is all homemade and delicious. So delicious that the bees love to come and hang out with you as you eat!

I thought the rooms were decent - they weren't too busy so they gave us the adjacent room for free, which was nice. Since we had four people, every extra bathroom helped. It was REALLY hot in the rooms though, even with the windows open. We borrowed a fan from reception but it didn't really help at all.

They were supposed to have free WiFi but I couldn't get it to work. And since I was on vacation I didn't bother to ask for help...

Overall, I would definitely stay in Goreme House again - it was a fantastic experience with great people. The owner's sister even helped me mail my postcards since I didn't have time to get the stamps. I gave her some money and she took them to the post office herself. Fantastic - only a family-run business would do that for me.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calkenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exton, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

We recently stayed at Goreme House Hotel for couple of nights. The hotel is located couple of minutes from the center of the town. We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel owners did a great job with our accommodations. The breakfast made by the owner's sister was excellent. My wife and I really enjoyed the view from the hotel terrace. The room prices are a little expensive compared to some other hotels but this place was recommended in our Turkey tour book.

The people of Turkey are great at hosting including the people running the Goreme House.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.3 mi away
Ottoman Cave Suites
Ottoman Cave Suites
#24 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#28 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.9 mi away
Phocas Cave Suites
Phocas Cave Suites
#2 of 7 in Cavusin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Historical Goreme House
Historical Goreme House
#30 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goreme House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goreme House

Property: Goreme House
Address: Eselli Mah No 47, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Goreme House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cappadocia Goreme House Hotel offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in a restored old Cappadocian House. Close and convenient to downtown, restaurants, Museums, shopping and attractions in Cappadocia. Immerse yourself in an atmosphere that is delightfully different... Goreme House Hotel, nestled on the back slopes of Goreme Village, was constructed and completed in 1997. The hotel harmoniously fuses together traditional Anatolian style with modern comforts in order to create a cozy and relaxing atmosphere to meet the needs of today's traveler. In constructing Goreme House Hotel, the style was kept as traditional as possible while stressing the importance of details. Blocks of natural rock were used to create the cool and spacious arch rooms. Wood floors and panel decorations were added for warmth. Modern bathroom amenities as well as central heating make even the weariest of travelers feel at home. Goreme House Hotel is not your everyday, conventional hotel. It has a warm, guest house feel with extremely personal care, breathtaking views, and many quaint corners to "slip away" with a good book or simply enjoy the views of village life activities going on down below. Homey yet professional is the general ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Goreme House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goreme House Hotel Goreme
Goreme Hotel
Goreme House Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing