We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest staff, great breakfast and amazing views of Goreme”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The friendliest staff, great breakfast and amazing views of Goreme”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The staff at Kelebek makes you feel like you're an old friend....they are warm and inviting and really take care in making sure you get the best of what Cappadocia has to offer. We stayed in one of the cave rooms which was perfectly cool after a long day in the sun and very comfortable. Lounging on one of the lush terraces with beautiful potted flowers wasn't bad either. We looked forward to the breakfast spread almost as much as we did the incredible hikes and activities we planned for the next day. The town of Goreme is very touristy, but staying at Kelebek was totally worth it. We highly recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Cappadocia!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mondarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,211
    304
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
429
1,318
131
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The Kelebek was wonderful. The rooms, the views, rates, and most of all the service were fantastic. There is a manager/concierge named Hasan, who has such warmth and grace taking an active interest in making sure we had all the information we needed for each day's adventure. He seemed to have all the time in the world for every guest, so impressive and made our stay there very special.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Great location and very well run. While it is up a hill, there is short cut to the town from the back door. We were Impressed with the welcome and efficiency of the hotel staff.
The travel agency that runs great tours is at its doorstep. Breakfast is plentiful, the spa is cosy and the views from their restaurant patio are amazing. Would love to visit Cappadocia again! Unreal.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjc354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We recently stayed at the Kelebek Hotel in Goreme in one of its cave suites. We arrived at night by shutle and were immediately shown to our elegant room. It was comfortable, spacious and beautifully appointed. It faced a small covered courtyard. Just beyond was a lovely garden, full of blooming roses, overlooking the fairy chimneys of the Goreme Valley.

The breakfast buffet was bountiful and was served in a room also overlooking the valley. Although we were often away during the day, the Kelebek was an oasis of comfort at the end of the day--a glass of wine on the dining terrace, checking emails on the excellent wireless connection, reading up on what we had just seen.

A certain number of cats live at the hotel. One morning a lovely orange and white cat came through the window and settled comfortably on some clothes on a suitcase. When we returned 6 hrs later, the cat was still sleeping comfortably. The morning we left the cat was outside our door to say goodbye.

We took one tour arranged by the hotel, a history and adventure tour, which was a superb introduction to some of the sights in Cappadocia. It combined hiking through the Rose Valley and tours of other areas.

The hotel arranges shuttles to the airport in Kayseri for only 10 euros per person. On our departure day, we left at 4:15am but the shuttle was punctual and the wake up knock on the door complemented our alarm clock!

One last thing: the Kelebek is apart from and above the bustle of Goreme. We welcomed the separation although Goreme is only a short stroll down the road. We highly recommend the Kelebek and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmcardello2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

If you're coming to Goreme, you need to stay in a cave hotel. Where else are you going to get this kind of experience? There are different levels cave accommodation available, and Kelebek offers a higher-end option with excellent service and cozy, romantic rooms. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful in everything from moving bags to booking tours. A complementary glass of wine awaits you when you check in, along with stunning views and the beautiful hotel itself. Even though it looked like some construction was ongoing during our stay, none of this got in the way at all and the hotel was very well manicured.

You can choose your room when booking, and they seem to offer a range of options too. Be sure to get an actual cave room, as some aren't built into caves. And also keep in mind, most of the rooms aren't 100% enclosed in a cave. I think most are part cave, part man-made stone structure. Nevertheless, they're stunning. On their website, each room description will say something like "Stone room" or "Cave room".

The restaurant in the hotel is quite good, and the generous traditional Turkish breakfast buffet is great. The hamam (Turkish bath) is smaller, but much nicer than the Elis Hamam in town. They give better massages, and you won't be sharing the bath with a bunch of burly Russian guys staring at you the whole time.

The rooms got a little chilly at night, and I couldn't figure out how to turn on the radiators. But the bed was comfortable, and the suite was much bigger than we needed. We booked a tour and a hot air balloon ride with the hotel, and they were both superb!

The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from the "center" of town, and uphill on the way back. I would definitely stay here if I'm ever visiting Goreme again. Book ahead, because this place does tend to fill up. Apparently it is the preferred hotel for US diplomats, so you never know who you'll run into.

Room Tip: Book early, and make sure you get a cave room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khuang82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

you get one of these caves ... an experience worth doing one time in your life. the hotel service is really good, and it makes a difference.

however, I think paying 40 euros a night to stay in goreme is too expensive when compared to other hotels in the area. at least we got a 10% (or 15%, can't remember) discount by paying cash. for those who can't live one minute without wi-fi, be aware that it only works in the reception area -and it's free.

the breakfast is quite complete and is included in the price. definitely avoid the tours offered by the hotel, since it is way more convenient to go and negotiate in town. We managed to pay for the balloon trip only 100 euros when everyone paid 150, by going to a place 3 blocks from our hotel!!! ;-)

have a nice trip, goreme in any case is worth seeing.

Room Tip: negotiate tours in town and get a better deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank elmasgrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasan-Kabalci, Manager at Kelebek Special Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time to review Kelebek Hotel. We try our best to get our guests the best Cappadocia experience while staying at our hotel. As for rooms, we have a range of regular to suite rooms that can be more expensive compared to some pansions in the town. Of course, the price you pay for rooms also take into consideration the facilities and free services you get, such as 30 item breakfast buffet, swimming pool, free wifi access and so on.

We just thought a little clarification is also needed for tours; yes, you can find cheaper tours and balloon flights in town. We just don't recommend taking a 100 Euro balloon flight because it is a very different flight experience and service you get compared to 150 Euro flights. Cheapest is not always the right choice. And our hotel tours are private for our hotel guests only. You pay about 5-10 Euro more than town agencies, but go only with 8-10 people and avoid collecting people from different hotels for about an hour. Overall, we believe our hotel guests deserve the best possible experience of Cappadocia.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2011

The view is exquisite, the price very fair, the breakfast over the top, the spa enchanting, and the staff was by far the best part. They were helpful without being overly friendly or intrusive. If you're looking for the cave-hotel experience with a modernized- comfy twist, this is the place!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing