We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hideaway - Many georgeous nooks & Crannies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We had two different rooms whilst we were here and both were very good, if a little small.
I am not sure there is a "bad" room in the place, all are unique - Beware of the word "Suites" on the web page, these are one room, with an area for sitting - The common areas were absolutely spot on, with many little nooks and crannies to hide away in. This had the feel of a retreat about it, which is what we were after. I must say on the less positive side, that the pool was (literally) breathtakingly cold (my 9 year old son's teeth chattered) and there was noise from the spa area people in our first room (room 18, I believe) and from the laundry room radio on our second room, which kinda detracted from the overall experience

Room Tip: Do not read into the word
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,837 - 1,843 of 2,674 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

I and my wife stayed in this hotel in June after I turkish friend of mine strongly recommended and I need to say that I was really glad that we followed his suggestion!

The staff of this hotel is simply amazing. The really care about every single detail and apart providing top notch features, they foster an unique Turkish experience (you will literally stay in a cave!) in a very friendly environment!

One of the managers, Hasan Kabalci is not only detail oriented and friendly but he genuinely cares about the guests satisfaction. When I and my wife were there, he helped us to plan the entire trip, recommending activities that would fit our taste and making sure that we would have a lifetime experience.

Last, this hotel is very well located and it has an amazing view from Goreme. In summary, you can not go wrong with this place!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThiagoO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We came last november and this review is loooong overdue. Last year, we had the opportunity to travel around europe for 4 months and this was definitely one of my top 5 experiences. Staying in a cave hotel is a MUST when coming to cappadocia. Kelebek was awesome!! The service was great, the food was delicious.... i loved looking out from my room and seeing the breathtaking view!!
Doing a hot air balloon ride is a must!! we were hesitant to do it because of the cost... but SOOO glad that we did it! I loved cappadocia and i can't wait to come back here one day!

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank flowergal80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We booked 3 months in advance for a Cave Room... however, when we arrived we were given Room #10 which is not what we wanted, but since the hotel is so charming & fully-booked, so we just accepted it.

The hotel's wifi is just in the Lobby & restaurant, however, that does not matter, the view is more than enough to compensate.

The staff were just so hospitable - always ready to help even if they only know simple English. By the way, Heritage Travel Agency is just at the Entrance of the hotel, so we were able to book our optional tours easily.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mannie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

It could not be better there, for this price. We stayed in the cave room nr.4. Staff was very helpful and friendly, Good breakfast buffet almost brunch.
Parking lot was close enough.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vopetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed at the kelebek this august 2011 for 3 nights with our two teanaged daughters and a friend and her daughter. although we arrived early we were shown straight to our rooms and then talked through everything the hotel had to offer over complimentary apple tea. our rooms were all different but full of character. if you like big chain conformity then the kelebek isn't the place for you. our friend had a beautiful room with three big windows looking out over Goreme but a reasonably small bathroom, while ours was dark but had a cosy seating area and a mini hammam for the bathroom. Both were 80 euros. the breakfasts were wonderful, fresh fruit, homemade jams and yoghurt, local honey olives and cheese, fresh bread and all eaten on a terrace with a view to die for. during our stay we booked three trips with heritage travel, a sister company. The history and adventure tour was exceptionally good and gave us an insight into local life. the balloon ride with Butterfly Balloons was the highlight of our 3 week trip. We visited the Open Air Museum ourselves but Ali arranged for one of his drivers to take us there free of charge and transferred us to the bus station when we left, again for no charge. When our bus, arrange through a separate travel company, was perversely booked to pick us up in Urgup Ali got on the phone and organised a Goreme pick up for us.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies with views to die for and cost very little more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornmillgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We had such a great time at Kelebek. Sweet cave rooms, helpful staff and beautiful views. The on-site travel agency, Heritage Travel, can help you book all kinds of day trips. Good food, relaxing environment, great Hamam. Wish I was back there right now!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 80 in Goreme
1,198 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#1 of 80 in Goreme
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 80 in Goreme
979 reviews
0 mi away
Sultan Cave Suites
Sultan Cave Suites
#14 of 80 in Goreme
1,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#10 of 80 in Goreme
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £52 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing