We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fascinating time in Cappadocia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We loved staying at the Kelebek Hotel! The room was spotless and very charming - we had a cave room. All of our needs were taken care of while staying here. The food was delicious in the hotel's restaurant. The staff went out of their way to help us get oriented and answer our questions. We took one of the the whole-day tours (tour #3) that was fascinating. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and guided us on an interesting walk through the rock churches and fairy chimneys. I would definitely stay at the Kelebek again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,714 - 1,720 of 2,674 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

Great location. Cave hotel. Catch all the tours from this local. The help is awesome. Had a fireplace and the room was comfortable. Town is down a rather steep hill, but not too far, and there are short walls where you can sit and rest along the way. Next store is sultans restaurant which is fantastic, with good food and good service. Cats and dogs are friendly too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gnatking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Beautiful hotel. Clean rooms. Very friendly staff... super friendly and knowledgeable actually. The hammam and massage is very useful after a long day of trekking! Breakfast is great! The hotel will organize all the things you'll want to do for you (horseback riding, hiking, underground city, open air museum, balloon rides etc.).

The airport pick up was very straightforward, no problems. Overall the whole experience was fantastic! I can't think of even a small thing to complain about.

Room Tip: Definitely get a kin or presidential room. The upgrade is worth every single penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shervvaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

we stayed for 2 nights in this hotel, room 19, and enjoyed every minute! the town of goreme is quaint and full of eateries for visitors, but we found the best meals were at the hotel-affiliated restaurant seten (for which we were offered a discount). the walk up from town to the hotel is a bit steep but doable.

the room had spotty wifi service, but was otherwise large and spacious with luxury amenities. it was warm and cozy despite weather in the 40's. the breakfast was adequate with fabulous views of the stark landscape. we were able to arrange several outings through the hotel - a small (~10 person) tour for a reasonable price, whirling dervish ceremony, hot air balloon ride with Butterfly balloons. one of the best treats was waking up one morning and seeing the hot air balloons fly right over the property - an amazing sight. the haman was also a nice treat in a beautifully done spa. the only note for improvement is that there seemed to be a lot of construction on the site and with that, piles of trash and cleaning supplies littered in small spots around the property. overall though, we enjoyed the excellent service, beautiful views, and comfortable room - all at a reasonable price!

Room Tip: read room descriptions carefully so you can select the room of your liking on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pianogal1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the pascha suite no110, in a stone building overlooking a valley. It is a very big room, with a seating area and nice fireplace, which we used one night. Also a small balcony with afternoon sun, two chairs and a table, perfect to enjoy predinner drinks.The decor of this suite is very nice with regional touches and good taste. Bathroom adequate, although somewhat smallish for the suite. Breakfast was in the lower breakfast lounge (the upper one under renovation) with great views. Food was buffet style and quite ok. Free wifi not available in most rooms, a little bit in ours, and generally bad internet connection. There is good internet in the reception area. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank panda58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Kelebek in February 2011. The hotel was beautiful, our room was wonderful and the people who ran the hotel were absolutely amazing. I have to say though, our favourite of our hosts was the little dog, Snowball, who the hotel owners had taken in - such a friendly little guy, we were sad to say goodbye!

There was a great breakfast, we had a large balcony with an amazing view each morning as the balloons went up and free access to the hamam, which was a treat after a long day of hiking around and exploring caves.

The owner arranged a tour for us and, though we are NOT tour-types, he assured us it would be the best way to see everything we wanted to see and it would be very small. We were surprised but the tour was great! There were only about 8 of us on it and we got to see the underground city, a pottery shop, a winery and a lot of other great places in the area that would have been difficult to see otherwise.

Anyway, we will definitely go back to Cappadoccia one day - mainly because of the wonderful experience our hosts provided for us.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 17 and were convinced that it was the best room in the place. Directly over the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krystle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This is a great place to stay in an absolutely wonderful town (Cappadocia was my favorite place in Turkey). We stayed in a cave room at Kelebek that was really lovely. Cold and dark--had it not been for the electricity and heating lamp, we would've felt like we were living in the stone ages...but that's part of the charm of the place. Two friendly house cats kept us company whenever we left the room. The views from the decks of Cappadocia are also very nice. The breakfast buffet is fairly simple, but filling. The staff was generally very friendly, but not everyone speaks English. Also felt like the tours and the hotel restaurant were a bit over-sold. Overall, though, a nice experience and would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 80 in Goreme
1,198 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#1 of 80 in Goreme
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sultan Cave Suites
Sultan Cave Suites
#14 of 80 in Goreme
1,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 80 in Goreme
979 reviews
0.1 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#10 of 80 in Goreme
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £52 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing