We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hospitality in a very cool boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hospitality in a very cool boutique hotel”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The staff, especially Hassan, are fantastic. Best I have ever run across in my travels around the world. They bent over backwards to help me because my luggage didn't make my connection, and actually had one of their drivers bring it to the hotel rather than leave us to the mercy of the airline. Decor of the hotel is excellent...we stayed in one of their King cave suites and it was quite and quite well equipped. They run a travel agency, a balloon company, and a rug store, but don't let that discourage you....they are top notch. I highly recommend taking their balloon flight; their pilots are amazing and they move their launch point around based on the winds of the day (some of the other balloon companies launch from the same place each day, which doesn't necessarily equate to a good trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jarettms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,211
    304
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
429
1,318
131
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

The location, terraces, garden, and in hotel hamam are wonderful. The breakfast is the best I've had in Turkey. Lovely staff that take care. The Kelebek offers extra discounts to a classy restaurant and the best ballon company in town, the butterfly. Book early and enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4teatree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Kelebek Hotel. We had a nice time and as already mentioned several it is quite charming but some points that I did not like:
1. When we walked into the room the toilet was not properly cleaned, the lower parts where you seat was dirty, with yellow spots...
2. It was quite noisy outside of our room. As this is not a party hotel we would expect that we came to rest. During several hours we had people talking loud and laughing close to our room
3. Bewteen the recepction and the breakfast building they had some shaby area (it looked that some of the worker lived there) it gave a bad image, it was messy and dirty (this is inside the hotel area).
4. The breakfast was a bit poor

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XAPECAJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSanFrancisco, Manager at Kelebek Special Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Thank you for having chosen Kelebek Hotel as your base in Cappadocia. We take all reviews as feedback and try to make Kelebek Hotel better and better for all of our guests.
I wish you had pointed out the above matters to me personally, and I would have fixed any issues immediately as we are prompt with any request. All rooms get checked for cleanliness before a guest checks in, and we never had a complaint about bathrooms being as you described. It is a very isolated situation. In cave rooms, sometimes lighting can be deceiving as well.
The “shaby area” you have described is not associated with our hotel as there is a local living as our neighbor. With the way cave houses are laid out in Cappadocia, we have totally different rules governing land ownership. Again, we never had a complaint about this being an issue before.
As for breakfast, we get compliments everyday about it being so rich as we carry more than 50 items on open-buffet. There is fresh orange juice, 10 types of jam, cereals along with pastries, Turkish breakfast and omelets cooked to order. Of course, food can be very subjective as tastes vary everywhere you go in the world. We try to eliminate this hurdle by carrying a big variety trying to cater as many tastes as possible.
We are sorry you left with some negative thoughts of Kelebek and look forward to your next visit; hopefully we can make it up to you by hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Our stay at Kelebek was a once in a life-time experience. First off, Kelebek arranged for transport to and from Kayseri Airport, which simplified things tremendously. We stayed for 4 nights and we stayed in one of the Presidential suites right above the Kelebek office and travel service. The room was one of the most unique rooms I've ever stayed in. It was large, had it's own marble bathroom and shower, was situated on a couple of levels of living space, and had it's own private balcony over looking the town and valley of Goreme.

Most everyone working there spoken conversational English well and were extremely warm and friendly. We especially had a great time chatting with Serkon almost on a daily basis. The hotel is quite beautiful and we took advantage of Kelebek's travel company to book a most unforgettable hot-air balloon ride and also a fabulous daily tour which tour us on hikes through valleys of Faery Chimneys and cliff dwelling, explored underground cities, treated us to a tasty Turkish meal, visited a traditional pottery/ceramic factory as well as a local winery, and a few other fun places - it was an all day affair that was quite affordable considering all that we did.

Since we were on our honeymoon, the hotel staff surprised us with a complementary bottle of local wine (Cukurbag) and fruit basket, which we thought was a nice touch. Our room came included the free use of the luxurious on-site hamman (the steam room, wash room, and relaxation room). We used this a few times and we also splurged for the additional Turkish body scrub and wash and full body massage. It was 2.5 hours of pure pampering - and it was fantastic!

The included breakfast was delicious with 20+ things on the buffet that ranged from the traditional turkish bites (tomatoes, cucumbers, cheese, olives) to more western style choices (muesli, cereals, pastries). Of course tea and coffee are available complimentary 24 hours a day from their on-site restaurant and bar.

Outside of their included breakfast buffet, we ate at their restaurant just a few times. Although the food wasn't extraordinary, it was quite tasty and it was convenient. We even ate at their sister hotel's restaurant up the hill called Sultan, which was also a nice experience. The food was tasty and well presented and the ambiance was a bit fancier than we expected - the decor was tasteful, warm, and inviting.

Although the rooms at the Kelebek hotel are all quite nice, they aren't all "cave rooms". They only have a hand full of true cave rooms and the rest are built out of cave stones, but not actually carved out of the bedrock itself. So if you are looking for the true "cave experience" choose your room from their selection of available rooms on their website or you might be mildly disappointed.

Kelebek is situated a short distance (very walkable) from the center of Goreme up a hill. If you have difficulty walking uphill, then this might not be the place for you. That being said, most places in Cappadocia require some level of fitness since there are so many different places to explore and discover. All-in-all, I would not hesitate to stay at Kelebek again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a unique experience and a little adventure.

Room Tip: Don't get the rooms without private bathrooms unless you like to "rough it" a little m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The Kelebek Hotel exceeded all our expectations and definitely ranks as one of the best places ever we have stayed at due to its unbeatable affordability which offers extremely good value for money. Hassan Kabalci is the perfect host and he ensured that we had an excellent stay.

Unlike other hotels, in this instance the rooms and facilities are exactly as they appear on the hotel website - true to life - which means what you see is what you get! The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. High quality linen on a firm mattress ensures a good night's rest. The bathrooms were perfect in all aspects. From the breakfast terrace, one can enjoy endless views while savouring the delicious spread of local products. Breakfast is served from 08:00 onwards (or earlier by prior arrangement) but staff is available from earlier - especially useful if you want to get up early and watch the myriads of hot air balloons dotting the skies in the early morning.

Kelebek guests qualify for a discount at the Seten Restaurant - fine dining in a superb location - worth the effort. Heritage Travel, affiliated to the hotel, seamlessly arranged our airport transfers and tours. Seda was superb in assisting us in finalising our arrangements beforehand. Their tours represent good value for money and outstanding quality - no need to look any further for other offerings.

I would highly recommend a minimum 3-night stay at the Kelebek to ensure that you can enjoy every aspect to the fullest.

Room Tip: For a single traveller, choose room 20 and for a couple, choose room 15. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I visited Kelebek with a friend in December 2012. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, the staff was nice and helpful, and the breakfasts were great! I definitely would visit again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jess_hagerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Hotel is charming, offering wonderful views, located on a hillside above Goreme, a town situated inside a national park in Cappadocia. Rooms are less expensive and smaller than the sister hotel next door, but even tho my room (114) was small-ish, it was nicely furnished with local textiles and rugs. It had a private terrace as well. All rooms are unique.
One note: the bathroom (modern, spotlessly clean, well designed) was down an interior stair case on a separate level - must confirm with the hotel in advance if you cannot handle this kind of situation. Breakfast was fine out on the lovely terrace all three sunny mornings I stayed. The day-long tours were arranged by the in-house Heritage Travel agency and there is a turkish bath/spa on premises as well. One guide in particular was excellent - Cihad (not sure of the spelling). Had a delicious dinner at the Kelebek restaurant one evening (try the tandoor lamb!), and ate at the more up-market restaurant at the hotel next door as well which was good too. Great red Cappadocian wine not to be missed! Kelebek had lots of sitting areas both indoors and out, where you could relax and read if you had the time, which we didn't.
Staff was friendly, ready to help when needed, such as carrying luggage up steps, handling billing/check out, etc. I'd go back for sure. Only small criticism was that they could have used more lighting in the backroom, given that it did not have a window.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a valley view and be sure to clarify (if you cannot handle a stairway to the bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing