We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kelebek Cave Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kelebek Cave Hotel”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This was a wonderful find. Although it is listed in Fodor's as an "$" it was every bit a three-star hotel. You can actually select your room on the hotel website and the preview we had of our room was true to the actual room. We were met by Hassan who was our "host" for our three-day stay. We stayed in a "Junior Suite," I think, and paid 80 euro per night.

Breakfast (included) was excellent for Turkey and you could get fresh-squeezed orange juice and an omelet for no extra charge.

One of the nicer features was the open-all-day bar in the lobby/lounge where they served complimentary water and tea at any time.

This group of men also have a hot-air-balloon business -" Butterfly Balloons" - and a higher-end restaurant" - "Seten" - that we patronized. Both were good values and the hotel gave us a good deal on our balloon rides - 160 euro

Only negatives: 1) We had a car so it didn't matter, but it's a decent hike uphill from town, 2) wi-fi didn't work in rooms, but it's in a cave, so that makes sense.

Room Tip: Select on website. We were in Junior Suite #18, but from conversations with other guests, most simi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,190
    303
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
423
1,310
130
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Had a wonderful stay at this friendly and beautiful hotel and the price is really good value. One recommendation for other visitors would be to check out all the rooms available either online or when you arrive - we preferred some of the cheaper ones for atmosphere!
Great terrace for that evening drink too.

Room Tip: Check them all out. Some of the cheaper ones are actually more atmospheric.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aeneas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Our room was beautiful, clean and modern with an old world charm. The owners and staff were very friendly and the breakfast was great! I highly reccomend this hotel to everyone. All around great vacation!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jb0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Lambert
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We had the pleasure to stay in the little bedroom excavated into the unique rock formation. It was simply perfect. You don't here a noise, the temperature is just perfect and the ambiance is extraordinaire. Every morning the breakfast was delicious and the service friendly. Do not forget to try the hotel restaurant, Seten, the mezze are really good.

The employees are welcoming and generous with their time. They will make sure you have a great stay. Special thank you to Hasan for his activities suggestions and his time.

Room Tip: Definitely the fairy chimney. No bathrooms, but a nice experience !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed at the Kelebek Hotel in Goreme (Kelebel means 'butterfly' in Turkish) with a friend for 3 nights ... and it was a super nice experience. Of course, the area is bursting with things to do and see (we had our share of 4x4ing, hiking and hot-air-ballooning!), but it's lovely to have a comfortable, friendly and authentic hotel to come back to ... the authenticity stems from the fact that the owner is a passionate local from Goreme – he has seen each unique hotel room shaped out of original cave rooms where produce like potatoes were stored for the winter. Reception staff were extremely helpful, the breakfast was abundant (serving real, filter coffee!) and the location and views are great. The hotel also has a serene pool area where you can unwind with a refreshing Efes beer at sunset. The Kelebek hotel is sort of linked to the Sultan Hotel next door and you can easily wander between the two ... we had dinner at the Sultan's Seten restaurant twice and it was lovely. You can sit indoors or outside – the cooking is traditional yet modern and the local Cappadocian red merlot was delicious! All in all a wonderful place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laugh_or_cry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We spent three nights here in May and had an absolutely fantastic time! What a unique place and a definite must on any Turkey tour! The hotel was very comfortable - we stayed in a Junior Suite in room 17 and found the room to be of adequate size - bathroom small but manageable. Room opened up into a terrace where you could sit and enjoy the early mornings (hot air balloons around) and the late evenings (sunsets are beautiful). Breakfast was nice with a good selection - we didnot have any dinners at the hotel. We did have a massage and a turkish bath and found the therapists to be great - especially after 4 hours of quad biking.
We booked the "Discover Cappadocia" full day tour and the 4 hour quad biking through the hotel and really enjoyed both - highly recommend the quad biking as it is a great way to explore this unique area.
Restuarants that I can recommend in this area include Sedan and the SOS restuarant - views from the SOS restauarant are absolutely fantastic and meals were well-priced.
Lastly, I have to recommend that when staying at this hotel that you book the transfers through the hotel. Our flight was delayed on the day that we were due to arrive (8 hour delay due to strike action) and when we finially did get to the Kayseri airport, we just climbed into the closest taxi and didnot think that the price would be very different from that quoted by Kelebek. Much to our suprise, when we got to the hotel, the taxi driver asked for TL 220 (EUR 110) verus the EUR 30 for two people quoted by the hotel. The staff at Kelebek were also surprised and argued with the taxi driver on our behalf and managed to get the fare down to TL 150 - thanks again Apo!!!!

Also, we had a very early check-out - picked up at 7:00am but we still managed to have breakfast at the hotel. People at other hotels complained that they didnot get breakfast but at Kelebek, the normal breakfast spread was available with 1 staff member assisting with coffee, etc.

Al in all - a great stay at this fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subashnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I'd organised a secret birthday trip to Goreme for my husband's birthday, co-ordinating 2 other couples to meet us there. The Kelebek staff were great regarding my constant emailing of questions and booking us on tours and put my mind at ease about all various concerns I had.

When we arrived, the staff couldn't be more genuinely friendly, professional and easy going all at the same time. The rooms were absolutely beautiful and full of character and though we had a small issue with our shower it was immediently fixed without fuss (and with a smile!). The breakfast was amazing, so fresh and delicious but made even better by the veiw from the eating areas. Every part of the hotel seems to have an amazing veiw or is just beautiful in itself.

To add to the excitement (on top of the balloon ride and quad biking tours - both highly recommended) my husband had an allergic reaction to something he ate or drank (NOT at the hotel) and the staff at Kelebek were absolutely brilliant - they sped both of us to the hospital in nearby Nevsehir and stayed for the whole time (about 3 hours) helping with translation and various things. This was far more than just being professional, a genuine concern for his wellbeing was felt. The next day they checked up on us to see how he was and then went to the restaurant concerned to see if they could find out the ingredients of the meal so we could see what may have caused this. Again, this was beyond our expectations and we are very grateful for all their help.

I can not fault Kelebek in any way and would not even consider going anywhere else - I certainly hope that we will come back one day soon. As one of my friends who was travelling with us said "It's like Hassan just wanders about and makes sure people are happy".

As far as Goreme is concerned, I don't think I have been to a more spectacular place. I have been to many places but this by far has got to be the most unusual and most stunning place I've been to, not just for it's beauty but the vast history behind it and for the people that live there today. I could go on and on about how fabulous our stay was, but whoever is reading this - just go and see for yourself!
(4 Aussies, living in London + 2 from Sydney stayed and all loved the place)

Room Tip: Go to their website - you can look at each individual room - each with its own unique character and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjbinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#2 of 69 in Goreme
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#1 of 69 in Goreme
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#3 of 69 in Goreme
1,078 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 69 in Goreme
919 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing