We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly, helpful and fabulous hotel in central Turkey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“A friendly, helpful and fabulous hotel in central Turkey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

My adult daughter and I travelled to Turkey in May, 2012. She had wanted to see the "fairy chimneys" of Cappadocia so we found the Kelebek listed in "Lonely Planet" as a Top Choice in Goreme. It was amazing! Not only is the surrounding area fascinating with its surreal rock formations but the hotel itself truly deserves the high rating that it consistently receives. The staff was welcoming, friendly, helpful and efficient, beginning with my email correspondence with Ms. Burcu Yucel in the reservations office to the various men at the front desk who helped us in so many ways, There is not sufficient space to give all the praise that I'd like to give! Our room was great, the attached restaurant was great. We used the spa -- very relaxing after a day-long hike through the terrain. We'd go there again in a minute!!!

Room Tip: View the rooms online and book well in advance to reserve the room of your choice. This is a popula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,174
    303
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
418
1,305
128
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed 2 short nights in the Kelebek Hotel and absolutely loved it! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful in planning our days in Cappadoccia. We were the first group to have breakfast in the new garden, which included a drive and a small hike to a beautiful valley where we had the most delicious fresh food. We highly recommend asking advantage of this as they offer it with no cost associated. We stayed in the top from of one of the fairy chimneys which meant that we shared the communal bathroom. It was always kept so clean and there was nobody in it. I would return in a second!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kendra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

I loved this place. We stayed in room 10 it was lovely. The pool was very relaxing. The staff are great.

I wish we could have stayed longer, we were only there 2 days. Not long enough.

The little puppy Panda is the cutest!

Treat yourself to the hamam.

Room Tip: You can pick from the website, they really do look like the pictures. The hotel is up a hill be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canarycat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

You just must stay at this hotel if you visit Cappadocia.
Even if there are cheaper hotels in Göreme, spend a night less somewhere else, travel by bus instead of plane, do whatever you have to do to save some money if you travel on a shoestring, but stay here while you are in Cappadocia.

The location is simply amazing, with a terrace facing the valley of Göreme and a swimming pool on top of it.
Rooms are just spotless clean and very facinating.
Breakfast is great, with a huge choice of foods and served on a terrace with a great view.
But nothing of this would be so great without the hotel staff. They are simply the friendliest people you could find in Cappadocia and they would do whatever it takes to make your stay at this hotel just fantastic. They suggest trips and walks in the valley around Göreme, tours (guided or not) in Cappadocia and they won't hesitate to help out if you'd need to take a night bus, drop you somewhere, etc.

As said, do not miss what may be one of the best accommodations you could ever find.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fedezil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and would have happily stayed for more if we could. They were very friendly and genuine which was great.

A really nice location for the hotel looking over the town. Not quite on the main street but only 5 minutes walk away.

Rooms were a bit small but really quaint.

Used the hamam which was a lot of fun for the family. We also used the hotel to book a tour and a balloon ride (which was the highlight of our holiday in Turkey).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Staying at the Kelebek Hotel was hands down the highlight of our trip to Turkey. We ended up extending our stay for an additional night, we loved it so much. The weather was perfect in September and we took advantage of the tour (of the underground city for 50 euros) and the hot air balloon ride (180 euros, but essentially a once in a lifetime opportunity). We stayed in the 3 different rooms (the hotel was full, so we kept moving rooms in order to extend our stay) and of rooms 7, 110 (presidential suite) and 104 we LOVED 104 the best, hands down, but every room was gorgeous. The free breakfast was exceptional and the customer service was one of the best parts of our stay. We are typically the backpacking in the woods type of vacation couple and even though this may look like a boutique hotel experience online, in person it is a down to earth, rustic and gorgeous place with lots of garden space and hammocks and of course you're sleeping in a cave. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

Room Tip: Room 7 was over the hamam, so could get a little hot, but also had it's own balcony overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spokane
Level Contributor
140 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

This would be a five star review except for some particular problems with our room. Room 11 is very small and has no a/c so it gets a bit stuffy. In addition, our shower leaked (flooding the bathroom) and the toilet ran. However, I don't believe this to be indicative of the other rooms. Staff was very helpful and very accomodating. They arranged our airport pick-up for just 10 euros (90 minute ride from Kayseri) and a superb tour of the area (Heritage Travel's Undiscovered Tour). Bed was very good. The property is beautiful with gardens and a pool and great views of the fairy chimneys. Open Air Museum is about a 20 minute walk away. Staying in a cave room is a must for any visit to this area and the Kelebek is a reasonably-priced and solid option. Food at the restuarant was just average although the breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: May want to spend a little more for a bigger room than #11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duggem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#18 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing