We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just 2 Words...STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
736 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,278 helpful votes
“Just 2 Words...STAY HERE”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We enjoyed a fabulous 3 night stay at this beautiful hotel in an ideal location in Goreme.

Reception was more like an orientation that was very helpful. The entire staff is friendly and will help you with most anything. They can arrange tours, taxis, dinner reservations, etc.

We had a charming cave room that was very large and had a large bathroom as well. No a/c but the window is left open(their are bars so no one can enter) and an oscalating fan. Comfortable bed with nice linens. 2 sitting chairs and coffee table with a small fireplace for cool nights or cold days. Closet, small safe, good lights(room is dark). Wood floor. The bathroom was all marble and tile. Large vanity with a very nice size shower w/good hot/cold water pressure. There was also a faucet and copper bowl for throwing water on yourself...like the Turkish do. There is a drain in the floor so not to worry :) Quality soap/shampoos/lotions, etc. Very quiet...we slept like babies.

Breakfast is included in your room rate and it was a large variety of items. Mostly the same everyday. Sometimes diff. breads/pastries/cakes. You can sit outside on the lovely terrace that has a terrific view of the area. Or, tables inside if you prefer. Served from 8-11 am. They also serve lunch and dinner froma limited menu. There is a bar for beer, wine, raki, cocktails, etc. There are several rooms for sitting, watching tv/movies, computer usage, a library, etc. All very clean and cozy. You can easily meet other guests. There are stairs everywhere so be prepared for that. Stairs, stairs and more stairs.

There is a small pool with another great view. But, it was not taken care of too good. Cushions were not on the lounges, some chairs were broken, umbrellas not up, etc. If they straightened it up we believe alot more folks would use it or at least relax there. There is an outside bar but it was not open. You can get cocktails/drinks/food from inside though. This is the only area of the entire hotel/grounds that needs a little TLC.

They gave us a lift(no charge) to the Goreme Open Air Museum as well as some of the nearby restaurants. How nice is that! They have reasonable laundry service too. You get a 10% cash discount on the room portion of your bill. Also, a spa is on property.

If you go out the back entrance of the hotel, it literally takes 5-7 minutes to walk into town. We did not realize that at first.

Cappadochia is a remarkable part of Turkey that you must see. And, as far as the Kelebek Hotel...only 2 words are needed...STAY HERE.

5 STARS.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HawaiiKaiGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,190
    303
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
423
1,310
130
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Goreme is chock-a-block with cave hotels, I went dizzy trying to choose. Let me make it easy for the rest of you, stay here at the Kelebek. The hotel is large enough to have lots of hidden spots to lie in a hammock or lounge by the pool or perhaps linger over coffee or a beer on the restaurant terrace. The rooms are spacious and charming and the staff was uniformly cheerful and helpful. I fell ill while here and I must say, I can't think of a better place for it to have happened. I spent the day on a soft lounge chair under a giant umbrella by the pool where the shade and soft breezed lulled me to sleep. Oh, the food in the restaurant is very good and they recommend their 'sister' property, the Sultan Suites nearby for their lovely evening restaurant The Seten. Our dinner there was another highlight of our stay, there was a lovely musician playing Turkish music and we totally enjoyed the experience.

Room Tip: We had a room by the Rose Garden, which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HE_Low
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

What I love about Kelebek is that whether you are staying in a cramped fairy chimney or in the most luxurious suite, you have access to all the same top notch shared facilities and will receive the same treatment from the staff.
We know this to be true as we started off our trip in room no.2 - it was fine, if cosy, but is just below the breakfast area so you can hear quite a lot of passing footfall as well as conversations, which was not reason enough to change rooms, but there was an issue with the flush on our WC. The hotel dealt with this in an exemplary way (I used to work in travel) and offered for us to move for our final night to the 'Eagle's nest' room 21. WOW. Never would we have experienced such luxury had our WC not broken! Total treat and left us with very positive feel about the hotel.
Local advice on walks you can do independently was really valuable, and earned our trust to book an excursion (no.2 Ilhara Valley) and a balloon ride - although I was a bit miffed there were 20 people in our basket when we had been promised max of 16.
The pool IS cold but really refreshing after a hot dusty day walking amongst the rocks!
Hotel restaurant is a bit bland for dinner, but the next door Sultan Cave restaurant is excellent, and good value for what you get.
It was a bonus to be able to store luggage and use shower facilities up until the evening of our departure. And tea / apple tea is free all day, as is internet access. (I've rated sleep quality as 3/5 because it is so worth getting up at dawn to see the balloons in the sky, as well as getting up to go in a balloon yourself! Oh and you'll hear the pre-dawn call to prayer too.)
My only fear for Kelebek is that prices will rise as its popularity increases. It's too good to keep it a secret!

Room Tip: My recommendation would be to choose your room carefully - because you can! - and ask lots of questi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPally33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This hotel is truly fantastic. Great location, beautifully appointed and very helpful and attentive staff. The breakfast buffet is probably the best we've ever experienced anywhere in the world (so far) and the views from the breakfast terrace amazing. We only stayed 2 nights but it felt longer because the place is so relaxing. A wonderful hotel in an out-of-this-world setting.

Room Tip: We chose Suite 17 because of it's private terrace and wonderful views over the town and valley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thespecialagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

After five days on the road and having stayed in what we thought were great hotels, this one was by far the most outstanding and luxerious place we'd seen. Especially for the price we couldn't believe it. The charm wasn't just the uniquely designed rooms, finishing or heavenly terrace, but our hosts were welcoming, happy and kind. Our complimentary glass of wine was just the begining of an awesome stay. Their little dog "panda" was such a big attraction as he played with guests and made you feel at home. The staff were limited in english but we had an insightful and genuine conversation with a student worker of 17 years of age who totally engaged us with his life experiences, introducing us to his culture and lifestyle. Dinner at the Sultan's house, next door, was affordable yet extravagant. Food was delicious and the setting superb. In the morning we awoke at 6:30am astonished to see 100 hot air ballons and their human cargo floating over our hotel in silent parade. We should have stayed three days instead of one.....

Room Tip: Every room would have been awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davee96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The perfect base to explore the unparalled Cappadocian region.

You feel very warmly welcome by the attentive staff of this extremely well organised travel agency. They own the cave hotel, a balloon flight agency, a daytrip tour agency, a hammam as well as an excellent restaurant - any view from the terrace is better than the last one.

Also worth mentionning: their breakfast buffet is top.

They were very accomodating when I told them I forgot something at their place by planning a delivery to my next hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat et Gen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Pros: Beautiful grounds. Amazing terraces where you can sit and have a glass of wine and soak it all in. Try the hammam--Turkish bath is a truly unique experience. Great buffet breakfast, with tasty traditional Turkish foods. Dinner is also of high quality. The sister restaurant, Seten, is also lovely. We booked a balloon ride (Butterfly Balloons) through the hotel and it was a once in a lifetime experience. Make sure to wake up early (between 6 and 7) one morning and watch the balloons float over your hotel room. Surreal.
Cons: A few gaffes. Airport shuttle promised door to door service but stopped at three other hotels. The rooms don't have alarm clocks but they do have a guy who knocks on your door for wake up. But he was 15 minutes late. I asked for an iron/ironing board but none were on the premises. I had them launder some clothes and they washed all different color items together, ruining several pieces.
All in all, this is a lovely place, but is a few steps away from being truly exceptional. If they could polish up some of these services details---they will be top notch.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Skigirl874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#2 of 69 in Goreme
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#1 of 69 in Goreme
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#3 of 69 in Goreme
1,078 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 69 in Goreme
919 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing