We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I stayed here the first week of December, 2012. Nice hotel, responsive staff, great breakfast. I also ate dinner there twice because it was raining and snowing and I didn't want to go down to teh village. Dinner was good. Room 19 is a junior cave suite, and was very cozy. It has a smal fireplace which I used one night. it is also well heated by a radiator and also a heated towel rack in the bathroom. There is a generous sitting area which makes this room adequate for couples as well as singles. I highly recommend. The owners also are connected to Butterfly Balloons and Heritage tours. Butterfly was a great professional balloon ride.

Room Tip: Room 19, Junior Cave suite, next to the pool, has a fireplace too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1Anka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,451 - 1,457 of 2,625 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012

Although it's a little confusing to find your way around at first, the unconventionally laid-out hotel, with a mix of cave and stone-roof rooms, is a beautiful place to stay. Our stone-roof room was lovely. The service was excellent - we got great advice on activities and self-drive options (I wish we hadn't bothered getting sat-nav for our hire car) - and the breakfast was amazing, with a lovely roof terrace. The hotel-linked Butterfly Balloons were great, and the mixed hamam at the hotel is also very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CanberraK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

The highlight of our trip in Turkey was Goreme and a lot of that had to do with the warm hospitality and comfort of the Kelebeck Hotel.

A beautiful hotel with endearing details and fantastic views of the town is great all on its own, but the service is what blows you away. We stayed in one of the cheapest rooms and were treated with so much kindness and warmth. The value is amazing. Everyone was friendly and helpful in such an honest way. We had marvellous times sitting in the common area (which somehow managed to feel like our personal living room) sipping tea, meeting new friends, and using the wifi.

You haven't slept until you've slept in a fairy chimney room; the only sound that penetrates it is the call to prayer and light doesn't have a chance. The lobby was also a very welcoming place to book and wait for tours or cuddle with a hotel cat.

Goreme seems to be a very inter-connected town, or maybe this is just Kelebeck. Our tour guides, even those not booked through the hotel, were familiar with the hotel and its owners; everyone seemed to be friends with everyone. The hotel staff cares about how your trip is going, that tours and transfers run smoothly, and are willing, able, and eager to help with everything.

Breakfast was fantastic every morning, best we had in Turkey, and dinner at the hotel restaurant was also a nice memorable night. We used the laundry service and it was done well for a reasonable price.

Kelebeck exceed every expectation. From the moment we entered the lobby and were asked to take a seat in a comfy arm chair we were relaxed and comfortable. A welcome retreat after busy Istanbul, and a fond memory to look back on now.

IF YOU GO TO GOREME, STAY HERE!!

Room Tip: Loved our room, #7. The bathroom was a little tight but fine for us, and everything was adorable and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EveMarieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and had such a wonderful stay! We hired an excellent tour guide to take us around and explained the history, geological and religious significance of the area. After two long but incredible days of hiking and sightseeing, we rested. Kelebek was the perfect place to welcome us to our home away from home with their relaxing hamam, cozy dining area, and great meals. The hamam is open to guests and non-guests (with a charge, I believe) so during our scrubbing session where we were naked except for towels covering just the essentials, people were talking in and out of the room. I was self-conscious but I was so comfortable, I didn't care! We were there at the end of Nov so it was quite cold, in the 40s, which I didn't expect. Your room will not be connected to the hamam or to the free breakfast so bundle up if you are there during the long winter.

Here are some quick tips/FYIs"
- The beds are a fit firm (for my taste)
- Ask for omelettes (there is a sign that they will make it but it is not very obvious)
- Bring a bathing suit if you want to use the hamam
- Cats freely roam the streets and there were two kittens that came into the dining area and curled up on the couch in the tv area at night (so cute!)
- The hotel is about an hour from the airport
- Dinner in the dining area wasn't bad!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bl181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We got room 103, and had a lovely time at this hotel. The staffs were very helpful and friendly. And unlike one or two of the negative reviews here, we didn't notice them being short staffed. Not sure how other higher end hotels in the area would compare, but this hotel was certainly one of the highlights on our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Avonord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I stayed in one of the cave rooms, and I would highly recommend this as a novel, memorable, and comfortable accommodation experience. If you'd have a hard time climbing a steep, small staircase, then you'd be better off with one of the lower level rooms, which still will give you access to the outstanding views, high quality shared spaces, and exceptional, free breakfast every day. The staff was also very helpful and accommodating, and there is a nice, communal atmosphere that permeates this establishment. Though this location is a little out of town, it only took about ten minutes to walk to the center of action in Goreme. It was certainly worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a cave room with a view facing town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tdh1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel has many sitting areas to relax with a glass of wine after exploring the surrounding areas. The breakfast has a large variety of food and was tasty. The balloons rise over the hotel in the mornings. We stayed in a cave room and it was cozy and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhereIsAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#3 of 78 in Goreme
1,142 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 78 in Goreme
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#10 of 78 in Goreme
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 78 in Goreme
1,048 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#16 of 78 in Goreme
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £52 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing