We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hosts, lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic hosts, lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

My husband and I have just returned from 3 nights at this lovely hotel in an amazing part of the world, I would thoroughly recommend the Kelebek to anyone visiting Cappodocia.

On our arrival we were greeted by the manager who offered us a complimantary breakfast as our room was not yet ready, this was above and beyond what we expected as we are used to just leaving our bags and returning later in the day. After this he spent some time helping us to plan out visit to ensure we made the most of our short trip. This level of service was fantastic as when we first arrived we had no idea what we would do, he was also available for more suggestions throughout our stay.

The hotel offers a free organic breakfast tour on one morning where you are guided by the owner into the valley/farmland owned by his family and see where the produce is grown and then enjoy this for breakfast. This was definantly a highlight for me.

We opted to stay in a cave room and subsequently it was a bit on the small side - however this was expected and the room was very comfortable. The only thing stopping me give it the full five stars is the noise level - our room was located right next to a stairwell and we were disrupted a couple of times each night with people returning to their rooms in the early hours. I suggest asking for a room away from the stairs.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,175
    303
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
418
1,305
129
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

No words will do this hotel justice.Only by staying here will you understand how great it is.The organic breakfast was the cherry on the top. Also a great balloon flight organised by the hotel with butterfly balloons. Ali and his staff can be very proud of this establishment . I am dreaming of my return

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dewit197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
437 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

This is a place I can really recommend. Matt, the General Manager, really runs a tight crew in here. Great service, very special rooms, lots and lots of attention to detail. The entire staff is focus on making you feel home, from the airport pick up to the airport drop, no fuss on early check in if rooms are available or letting you use all the facilities after checkout if you have a late flight.

They also arranged tours and activities that were exemplary planned. Again, I can recommend it without any doubts.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

had an amazing stay at kelebek. i love that pictures of all the rooms are online and you choose your accommodation before arrival. no excuse to complain, you know exactly what you're getting! we stayed in room 116 which was a gorgeous cave room. we had a great view of the hot air balloons in the morning from our private balcony. the bed was very comfortable.

all the decorations around the hotel were authentic, purposeful, and very very nice. it really added to the ambiance. the hammam was big and very nice.

the best part of the stay, however, was the free organic breakfast. after a pleasant tractor ride (in a big "basket"), which included interesting historical information, prepare for a walk into the valley. there are steps carved into the hillside but those with mobility issues can take the tractor down. those who wish to walk are in for a beautiful view. the valley and walk into it is stunning. the breakfast was out of this world. there were many things i hadn't tried before and i could hardly stop myself from eating everything. the location itself is amazing and having great food only adds to the experience. you must make time in your visit to partake in this experience. the hike out of the valley is just as lovely.

if you're going to cappadocia stay in goreme and stay at kelebek. you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yrstruly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin,ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

This is a wonderful location. The accommodation is very atmospheric and there are fantastic views down to the town and surrounding area. The management was very friendly and helpful.It is within easy walking distance of the town. We would have no hesitation recommending this lovely place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubliner_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

What a great hotel! I stayed at this hotel with 3 friends in January 2013 and we had a great experience. We were a group of young budget travellers, and hotel Kelebek was definitely worth a little extra money.

The staff were SO SO SO incredibly helpful. We came in the winter and got trapped in a huge winter storm. Since we were only there for 2 days, it was a huge bummer when the tours got cancelled on our second day. Even though we couldn't go on the guided tour, the hotel staff were so helpful and they found us a driver to take us around so we could still see the sites. Everyone was super friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was amazing! The hotel rooms were nice and cozy even though it was so chilly outside. We also went to the hammam, which was a really fun experience... though co-ed (i.e. not for those inclined to modesty). Due to the storm, our flights back to Istanbul were cancelled, and once again the staff was really helpful with organizing new transportation for us!

I would 100% recommend Hotel Kelebek.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caro m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

The Kelebek Hotel was everything we like in a hotel - close to town, clean, picturesque, and memorable. From our arrival until our departure we felt welcomed and pampered. We loved the organic breakfast in Hidden Valley and meeting the family who farm there. My wife had a ball on the balloon ride, and we both really enjoyed the tour of the underground city at Direnkuyu. Both were organized through the Kelebek. Even when we had checked out and were waiting for our bus to Konya, our hosts offered us full use of the facilities and even drove us to the bus station. The staff was always attentive but not intrusive. All in all a wonderful stay and experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing