We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one let down!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Only one let down!”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We arrived in Goreme at 6am on a night bus from Antalya to the most magical view of all the hot air balloons in flight at sun rise, we couldn’t have asked for a better start to our time in Cappadocia. As told to at the time of booking we called for a pick-up and within minutes the night receptionist had collected us and our bags and driven us up the hill to the hotel. Given that this was going to create our first impression of Kelebek, the man who ‘welcomed’ us couldn’t have been less enthusiastic. He told us our room wouldn’t be available until 11am at the earliest and that we could sit on the terrace and eat breakfast when it started at 8am. He didn’t offer us a tour, a map of the area or anything remotely helpful. We took it in our stride, relaxed on the terrace and took photos of the balloons for an hour or so until breakfast began.

It wasn’t until the next day that we were annoyed, when we found a terrace at the back of the hotel that has a better view of the balloons at sunrise, and that the previous morning (when we arrived) we could have enjoyed the hotels organic breakfast for free, but on the 16th when we wanted to book it, the free offer was no longer on and we would have to pay 15 Euros. Given that we had had four hours to wait for our room, the free organic breakfast would have been perfect to fill that time. but no-one thought to mention it!

Other than that our stay was great. The hotel is peaceful and has several hidden terraces and gardens to get lost in for hours on end. The breakfast is plentiful, but could maybe have done with labels to identify some jams and yoghurts. The day reception staff were fabulous, and super helpful, which totally made up for our initial experience, and the hamam was blissful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,228
    306
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
434
1,325
134
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tweed coast
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We wished our two day stay at the Kelebek Hotel was longer. The view from the hotel was breath taking. The staff were just so obliging and efficient. We were most impressed with the prompt reply to every email. They organised our balloon flight and a tour to the underground city and other sights. This was done on very short notice.

The food was very good and we ended up eating in the restaurant rather than going into town. Breakfast was excellent. Coffee and tea was available all day.

After checking out, we were able to shower later in the day, as we were catching an evening flight back to Istanbul. All these small conveniences make travel so much easier.

Two days was not long enough. There was much more to see. We were not able to take full advantage of this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in a cave room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My friends and I were travelling through Turkey in April 2013, and we had stayed at the Kelebek when we stopped in Cappadocia on the recommendation of a friend. That friend was absolutely correct in his recommendation! The service we had received here was second to none! The staff went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible: allowing us to store our luggage at the hotel the day we checked out so we could fit in a day tour before we had to catch our bus later that night, offering us the use of their hamam when we returned from our tour so we could shower before taking our long overnight bus, and one of the staff even offered us a ride to the bus station! When we had tried to offer that particular staff member a tip for his service (twice!), he refused - saying that he did this because he enjoys helping people, not for the money. We eventually did give him the tip after much insistence. To quote the hotel: "just because you have checked out does not mean that you stop being our guests".

On another note, the hotel was clean, well situated on top of a hill (which offered great views from their breakfast terrace), and offered all the amenities one would expect from a good hotel. Their hamam was excellent - my experience at their hamam exceeded the one I had experienced in Istanbul, breakfast was complimentary and very tasty, and the hotel itself (being a cave hotel) was quite unique. All in all, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KH_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Our 3 day stay at the Kelebek Hotel was awesome. The food was great and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The highlight was the complimentary breakfast at the organic farm of owner Ali who gave us an interesting tour/commentary en route on a tractor- pulled cart fashioned out of whiskey barrels. .

Room Tip: Our poolside room was great.Too bad that we weren't able to use the facility because of the cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalgaryHelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

After reading other reviews and recommendations here and on Lonely Planet, and checking out the hotel website, my wife and I decided to reserve Room 109 (Balcony Mansion) for our three-night stay at Kelebek. The place was absolutely wonderful.

We arrived at the Kayseri airport on a Monday morning and had arranged through the hotel in advance for a shuttle pick up from the hotel for 10 euro/person. This made the transport easy and hassle-free, as we didn't have to worry about catching a bus or taking a taxi. The journey took just about one hour to reach Goreme.

We reached Kelebek around 10 am and, since our room was not yet ready, we were able to store our bags in the luggage room. The hotel's daily breakfast was still going on at the time of our arrival, and the staff allowed us to eat and gave us tea/coffee even though we weren't technically checked in yet. We sat out on the terrace and had our breakfast and had our first chance to enjoy the spectacular view from the hotel looking out over the village of Goreme. There was ample seating and lounging areas, and I spent a fair share of my time at the hotel napping on the terrace.

The hotel staff went above and beyond in helping us plan our activities for our three-day stay. In particular, Mert, the hotel manager, sat down with us for about 30 minutes when we got to the hotel and went over different activities including tour options, balloon companies, and self-guided hiking trails. He armed us with a map of Goreme and went over a number of highlights in the region. This gave us a great starting point and, with Mert's help, we were able to pack a lot of stuff into the limited time we had in Cappadocia. As a side note, we did end up book, through Kelebek, a tour package with Heritage Travel and a balloon flight with Butterfly Balloons, which I will review separately.

Our room, the balcony suite was large and comfortable, with its own private balcony which looked out over the hotel courtyard and the valley beyond. The bed was large, and the bathroom had both a shower, a clawfoot tub, and, the best part, heated floor tiles! There were only two minor drawbacks. First, the shower was slow-draining. Second, since we overlooked the courtyard, there was quite a bit of guest noise outside our window at 5 am from the other guests who were going out on balloon flights, and throughout the day.

The hotel grounds also have a pool and hamam. While we didn't use the pool at all, we did the peeling and soap massage at the hotel's hamam, which was very soothing and invigorating.

The highlight of our hotel experience had to be the organic breakfast. This is a complimentary activity in which Ali, the hotel owner, takes a group of about 15 guests to his family farm for breakfast every morning at 9 am. We were transported in a wagon hitched to the back of a tractor and wound our way up the hillside to the top of the valley. From there we hiked down to Ali's family farm in another, smaller valley, where we were served an amazing array of produce, breads, cheeses, and yogurts by his family and staff. All along the way, Ali taught us about the history of Cappadocia, Goreme, and what growing up farming in the area was like for him. We were returned back to the hotel by 11 am, and the trip added a unique, personal touch to our experience. I highly advise you not to miss out on this if you stay at Kelebek.

All in all, we were very pleased with our stay here. The service was phenomenal, the views were gorgeous, the room was cozy, and the staff really made us feel at home and helped us make the trip extremely rewarding and unforgettable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NayanS758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Well decorated cave with good facilities with good service. The view in the common area is very nice. They organize some good outdoor activities and tours, don't miss them.

My room was far away, actually completely separated from their original building, stay in those near the reception/office would be much better since all the activities are happening there...

Some of the rooms has a window on the roof and people standing on top of it can actually see everything inside...(except the bathroom). My room had no such issue but a girl I meet there told me she is exchanging for another room due to that reason. You certainly wouldn't want to be seen when you are inside your room.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to their main reception area. You might want to check if the interior of you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilfredwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The staff there were very hospitable. They knew what it meant to provide great customer service and were so accommodating in every regard. We had a large group of 8 people and they went the extra length to fit us into their spa schedule because they knew we had a separate tour that would finish much later in the day. They arrange shuttle transports for us when we could have easily walked to our destination. Offers like that showed how attentive they were to ensuring a memorable stay. Please stay here if you are ever in the region. Wonderful staff!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#11 of 72 in Goreme
1,023 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 72 in Goreme
1,161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 72 in Goreme
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#18 of 72 in Goreme
934 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.0 mi away
Sultan Cave Suites
Sultan Cave Suites
#12 of 72 in Goreme
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing