We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right out of a fairy tale!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Right out of a fairy tale!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

After a long day's drive from Istanbul to Goreme, we couldn't have been more delighted to pull up to the Kelebek Cave Hotel for our 3-night stay in Cappadocia!
We stayed in the King Suite (108), over looking the gorgeous rose garden, which was super comfortable, spacious and even had a luxurious claw tub.
The staff were super friendly and helpful, and upon arrival provided us with an itinerary to see the sights for our full 2 days in the area.
The morning excursion to the hidden valley for the organic breakfast was a beautiful touch, with delicious local and fresh food served with genuine and open hospitality.

Room Tip: Room 108 was spacious and quiet overlooking the rose garden. Room for a small cot if there is a thir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voneff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murat Y, Owner at Kelebek Special Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience with us at Kelebek Special Cave Hotel. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with the room, breakfast and our services on offer. I have shared your comments with our team and they are pleased that they have exceeded your expectations and made you feel home a away from home. Our focus is to show Turkish Hospitality to all our guests from all over the world.

My team and I are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Murat YAVUZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,190
    303
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
423
1,310
130
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

What can I say about this beautiful cave hotel other than go there! The views from the numerous terraces are stunning, the Hamam is a must, the service was great... very helpful advice on public transport and the small pool area was a great place to cool off after a long day of sight seeing. (The pool isn't heated so brace yourself before taking a dip!) The food at the restaurant was delicious but only one veggie option. The spice blend they serve with bread and oil will leave you wanting to steel their secret blend! You can put your food, drinks and Hamam on your room bill and if you pay cash (Turkish Lira) you'll get 10% discount on everything. There are cash machines a few minutes walk away which staff will be happy to direct you to. Goreme Open Air Museum is around a 20 minute walk away and the underground cities are easily accessible with public transport. Goreme centre with shops and restauraunts is just a few minutes walk away. We stayed in room 5 (fairy chimney room) which is accessed via really big, steep steps so make sure you book a room (all of which can be viewed on their website) appropriate to your physical needs.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moronstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Overall we enjoyed our 3 night stay at the unique and 'rustic' Kelebek...however there are positives and negatives.
The location is excellent with outstanding views from the terrace...but it is a steep walk back and forth along the dusty cobbled road into town. All the public spaces for relaxation are comfortable and reflect the unique character of the region.
The highlight of our stay was the unique experience of the 'organic breakfast' morning at the owners property in the Kings Valley. The staff involved with this were friendly and informative. Perhaps it would be helpful to suggest that visitors wear walking shoes as the scenic trek in the valley involves both steps and rocky terrain. The food was fresh and delicious.
There are many stone steps throughout the hotel and rooms are all different. Our Room 15 was light with a view over Goreme from the windows, air-con and a very small bathroom. On entering the room there is a cave hallway and then a low rock ceiling where you step down into the bedroom. This involved lots of stooping down and a few accidents..beware if you are tallish!
Breakfast had a large variety of items and it is a delightful space. It is ashame the staff were not very friendly...and it is nearly impossible to get a cup of tea before 8am.
All email enquiries were promptly answered and bookings made for transfers from Kayseri airport and the hot air balloon flight with Butterfy...highly recommended.
Cappadocia is a special place...and Kelebek a unique experience.

Room Tip: Book at least 6 months in advance so you have a wide selection of rooms from which to choose and as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jokate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Kelebek Cave hotel with an entourage of 12 friends, that I had booked all of our rooms online by communicating via email with the fabulous staff. Our airport transfers and Balloon tour was also booked online directly with the hotel. We stayed in the Presidential suite which was absolutely charming and very cosy. We arrived at Kelebek Cave late at night and everyone was hungry, the staff were very accomodating and drove us to a near by restaurant to arrange take away as the kitchen was closed, nothing was too much trouble. Our stay at Kelebek was an absolute highlight of our visit to Turkey. The breakfasts on the terrace in the warm sun were beautiful overlooking the stunning fairy chimneys and unique landscape of Goreme itself. Each night we would also have pre dinner drinks on the rooftop terrace. The morning we departed was quite early and the staff prepared sandwiches and drinks for our transfer.This is an absolute dream of a hotel, with wonderful, friendly staff, spectacular views and one of the most wonderful experiences I have endured whilst travelling. Thank- you to all of the staff at Kelebek for making our stay extra special and hassle free.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GouFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My wife and I did not stay at the hotel, so we won't comment on that.

The Hammam was great. Great 30 minute massage - I've had lots in the past and would definitely rank my masseuse as above average. Pleasant surprise.

Changing rooms are basically a curtain and a locker - nothing special, but we expected that based on reviews.

No real additional facilities - just a sauna before or after the massage.

The hammam scrub was great. Very clean facility, while they pampered us in bubbles, scrub, massage and wash. Took the full 30 minutes. We have heard bad reviews about the other facilities in town being more "touristy", very busy, unclean and run down. We had no issues at Kelebek.

They offered us tea after and called us a cab back to our hotel.

Overall, clean, simple facility, great massage - would definitely recommend if you get a chance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We recently stayed two nights in Goreme,the hotel reflected all the history of the area with it's cave rooms and layback atmosphere,however the walk up and down to the town gets tiring and the hotel would do well to provide a shuttle,rather than point guests down the very steep cobbled road.
The service in the breakfast room was a little indifferent ,however reception area was good and helpful
Ballooning is the main attraction in this area ,along with scenic bus tours to explore underground cities etc and marvel at the history of the area.
The manager could do well to put a muzzle on the dog that barks night and day next door to the pool area,Cappadocia is along way from Istanbul and some of the service experience there was not available in Goreme

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidd125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We're just back from a 2.5 week trip around Turkey, which included a three-night stay at the Kelebek Cave Hotel and I wish with all my heart that I was back there right now! Kelebek is something special; from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we had nothing but good experiences. When we arrived, the manager (Mert) showed us around the hotel so we could get our bearings and explained everything to us about the activities and tours we could take if we wished. Mert and the rest of the staff are really wonderful, there was never any pressure to book a tour, and no question or request was too much. Once we had got acquainted with our surroundings we sat down to a glorious lunch and a glass of wine on the hotel terrace and marvelled at the view - which with the unique landscape of Cappadocia was truly something to behold! Then we were showed to our cave room (Room 7) and were bowled over again. We really felt like we were in shire in middle earth. Cappadocia is so otherworldly and magical and our room was the same.
During our stay we took the balloon tour with the wonderfully witty Mustafa of Butterfly Balloons, we went on a history and adventure tour which included a hike in Rose Valley, and a tour of an underground city. We also availed of the hotel's organic breakfast at nearby farm - if you go to Kelebek you have to do this! We also had our first experience of a Turkish Bath at the hotel's spa, and we enjoyed morning and evening dips in the hotel pool.
We really hope to come back to Cappadocia one day and bring friends and family with us. When we do, we’ll be staying at Kelebek, no doubt about it!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 on the first two night, and then moved to room 4 above it for the third night. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serensues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#2 of 69 in Goreme
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#1 of 69 in Goreme
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#3 of 69 in Goreme
1,078 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 69 in Goreme
919 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing