We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was the best. Holiday accommodation we have experienced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This was the best. Holiday accommodation we have experienced”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed in the apartments and used the hotel bar and restaurant in the evenings. All aspects of this accommodation was first class and the family that ran the Hotel/apartments could,nt be more helpful and they were very nice and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rozy638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,255
    309
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
441
1,342
136
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed at the Kelebek in Goreme in mid June for 3 days during an 8 week tour of Europe, Prague, turkey and Israel and it was the highlight of our time away. The people were lovely, friendly and considerate. The room we stayed in was spacious, appropriately decorated, comfortable with modern touches such as ensuite that provided luxury without detracting from the uniqueness of the cave room itself or it's location. We had a balcony view which was superb but the hotel complex itself and particularly the restaurant area provided one of the most chilled out, relaxed settings I have ever seen. Has to be experienced to be truly appreciated. The amazing geographic location and hotel experience is elevated to exceptional level by the quality of the staff such as tuna who cared for us while we were there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the heritage room,116. Try to get a cave room here as this adds to the experience. Ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveBarberLaunceston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

After reviewing all the outstanding comments on Trip Advisor, my friend and I decided to stay at Kelebak Cave Hotel for 2 nights and we were not disappointed! This is definitely the highlight of our trip in Turkey and the credits definitely go to the nicest people and staff we met in Kelebak.

One of the many things I like about Kelebak was on its rooms selection. An array of rooms in different sizes, features, etc. were available on their website for your own consideration, with the photos showing the FACTUAL conditions of the rooms (we knew they were 100% truthful and honest after our visit). I appreciate this because I can choose my desirable room easily and won’t be let down.

We arrived Goreme at 9 something in the morning. With the assistance of the staff at the tourist information centre, we were picked up right away from the bus station. We were invited to join the breakfast and were amazed by the view at the terrace where we had breakfast! The scenery was just breathtaking and we were both speechless watching the stunning landscape! To be honest, it probably is one of the best resting places in the world that you can sit and relax all day! 

We thank Mert (the Hotel Manager) for arranging the Hot Air Ballooning and Green Tour for us. We flew with The Butterfly Balloon and the experience was hilarious! Our pilot, Murat, was experienced and very humours! The Green Tour allowed us to visit the places we intended to explore in a short period of time, e.g. the Underground City, different valleys, etc. Both tours were perfectly arranged.

I highly recommend every guest staying at Kelebek to try the complimentary organic breakfast offered by the hotel. It’s an unforgettable experience for you to explore the traditional lifestyle and culture in the region. The breakfast there was a big thumb-up!

I want to thank Mert, Unal, Murat, Tuna and the rest of staff for their hospitality and excellent services. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning to visit Cappadocia. I will return for sure!

Room Tip: The rooms run out fast! Better reserve it ASAP if you are planning to pay a visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank antonbiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leongatha, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were totally amazed it what we saw in this beautiful hotel and the views whilst your sitting eating breakfast or just relaxing. The hotel and staff were of 1st class. Extremely helpful. The rooms were clean and tidy. The bathroom was however tiny. The long walk up the road was a draw back but if you want the views it was nothing

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Goreme was our first stop on a 3 city visit to Turkey. Our stay at Kelebek and experiences in Goreme were the highlight of our trip. The rooms were very unique - we stayed in a cave room - and really added to our time there. The staff at Kelebek were phenomenal. We were spoiled by their kindness and hospitality. They made excellent recommendations for hikes and places to visit. The location of the hotel is walking distance from town center, as well as a majority of the hiking trails. This is not a negative, but just a heads up that you'll be able to hear the calls to prayer (which happen very early). However, you can hear these no matter where you stay in Goreme!

The layout of the hotel leaves you with stunning views and plenty of comfortable perches with cushioned couches. The pool was small (not a lap pool), but a perfect place to take a dip on a hot day. The morning breakfast buffet was delicious and had a large variety of foods.

We also used their airport transfer shuttle, which was timely and very comfortable. I would highly recommend using it - there's no need for a car there unless you plan on visiting other towns that are far away. (You can walk to Uchisar easily).

All in all we had a very relaxing, peaceful stay and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, DE
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Everything from the rooms to the service was perfect here. I really wish we stayed more than two nights.

We arrived around 1am and there was a mixup with the date of our hot-air balloon ride. The guy at the front desk completely straightened it out for us, even though our arrangements weren't through the hotel! It was a huge help since we were virtual zombies after a long travel day.

Additionally, our fairy-chimney room was so great and had a window with amazing views. The hotel itself had a pool overlooking a valley...the perfect place to relax and watch the sunset. Do yourself a favor and build in time to just sit by the pool and take it in.

This hotel was perfect!

Room Tip: Look at the pictures online, they are really accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMENTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We spent 5 nights in Istanbul during all the protests in Taksim Square. We were in the 'Old City' so we could walk to all the touristy sites. So after all the hustle and bustle of Istanbul it was so nice to stay at the Kelebek in Cappadocia where it was peaceful and relaxing. The hotel itself was very nice and clean with wonderful views. The buffet breakfast was very good with so many choices. Some of the staff were more friendly than others but overall fine. We used Nese Tour agency for our private guide and driver(guide Serkan Akbay). Our guide was so informative and we really enjoyed having him. We had him for two full days. The hot air balloon ride was the highlight of our 3 night stay in Cappadocia. We went with Butterfly Balloons and it was amazing! The pilot was hilarious and really knew how to cater to different personalities. We felt very safe in his hands. BTW, our pilot was Mehmet Acikalin. The Kelebek was great for value! We loved Turkey!

Room Tip: We were very happy with our room. It was quite spacious with a separate living room area. Room 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 77 in Goreme
1,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#22 of 77 in Goreme
953 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#14 of 77 in Goreme
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.0 mi away
Sultan Cave Suites
Sultan Cave Suites
#17 of 77 in Goreme
1,025 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 77 in Goreme
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing