We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chilled out at the Kelebek”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
1 review
“Chilled out at the Kelebek”
Reviewed 10 June 2008

Goreme is a really friendly little town in a gorgeous setting. Serap and her staff embody this. They are delightful, helpful and very laid back. The hotel is very resonably priced with excellant facilities (including the MOST comfortable beds in Turkey!) and in the best position overlooking the valleys but still just a short stroll to town. Their guide was enormously knowledgeable, open, ecologically minded and fun. You must go there!!!

  • Liked — Cave
  • Disliked — nil
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NewieNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,211
    304
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
429
1,318
131
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
178 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2008

We stayed in the boutique bit, with a huge room, sitting room, ensuite (which all worked) and an old door with a huge key, as mentioned in some other reviews. Room 103, I think ours was, the Stable Room, partly cave room which I liked, but my wife found slightly claustrophobic - all very comfortable and yes, it is up a hill, but having to eat their huge, very nice breakfasts, is a fair price to pay. We booked the recommended Ballon tour through them as well as our internal air flights, all of which was arranged with great care by Serap - The balloon flight itself was magical - it has to be a Must-do for anyone going to Cappadocia. You must try the Rice Puddings from the local cafes whilst there, too.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Turkey_Baster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ank
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2008

We stayed at Kelebek Pension, rooms 4 and 9. Room 4 is in totally in the cave, has a partial view of Goreme. The room is very basic and has the smallest bathroom I've ever seen. The sheets and towels were clean, but the cover on the bed was so dirty with stains on it.

It was a busy period when we stayed there, and the staff asked us to leave in half an hour, by saying the check out time was 10 a.m.. I've never heard 10am check out anywhere in the world!!! We would already leave, but it was definitely a rude behaviour.

The best part of the pension is its outdoor terrace where you get your breakfast as well. It has a very good panaromic view of Goreme.

In my opinion, Kelebek Pension is an overpriced accomodation, and being on Lonely Planet made them a bit arrogant. But if you wish to stay there, at least stay in a cheaper room (room 7 for example) and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank gezgin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2008

My sister and I decided to stay at this hotel overnight, after a quick change of travel plans. The room was charming, and the staff even more so. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

We had to leave early in the morning for a drive to the airport in Kayseri. When we told the manager we'd be leaving before breakfast (normally included in the room rate), he arranged for us to pick up a meal of fruit and sandwiches in the lounge before we left.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Precarious parking
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jafrogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2008

We had reservation for a suite at Kelebek cave hotel in Goreme. The atmosphere at Kelebek is friendly and cheerful with young people speaking fluent English, with a nice and cozy reception room, a splendid terrace for dining as well as for relaxion, soothing music, free computer service and a friendly young team of Cappadocia guides. Kelebek hotel has its own travel agency, Turkish Heritage Travel that takes care of the guests needs for sightseeing and daily excursions. Here is the view of two fairy chimneys converted into rooms at Kelebek cave hotel. The picturesque of the vista is indescribable especially at night when the fairy chimneys (tufa cones) are lit and the village becomes magical.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank serena005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2008

My husband and I and my niece spent 2 weeks travelling through Turkey. The Cappadocian region was an absolute highlite. Staying at the Kelebek Hotel was the BEST choice we could've made. Not only was the hotel clean and comfortable, the staff was fantastic and wonderfully accommodating. We stayed in a suite w/jacuzzi, bedroom, and sitting room. I highly recommend you take time to walk around the streets and see the local area. We celebrated our 20th anniversary in a hotair balloon. No need to do the 1.5 hour ride - the 1 hour ride was plenty. Well worth the cost. Make sure you choose a reputable company. Also hiked the local area after seeing it from above. We hired a local guy to drive us around the area. He showed us fairy chimneys that we never would have seen if we hadn't ventured out. See the Goreme open air museum - you won't be disappointed, the food and wine at the Kelebek was great. The view from the terrace is beautiful. We have travelled to many countries (Egypt, Israel, Greece, Italy, Germany, etc.) Turkey is an absolute favorite!!! Wish we were able to go to Nemrut from Goreme. Also, you can do a day trip to the underground cities which are nearby. The food in Goreme center was excellent.

  • Liked — The clean and spacious rooms, great staff, transport from Kayseri Airport reasonable
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinandPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2007

We were looking for a very special place to celebrate our 5th anniversary and we got it here! Our suite was large, spacious and very Turkish which we loved! The whole place is very romantic and secluded. We were also looking for a hotel which had a local flavor and Kelebek has exactly that with luxurious amenities as well if one's willing to pay for it. The traditional turkish breakfast was very nice and was quite a spread. We found the service a little indifferent but believe me, the rooms more than make up for that!!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank arya273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing