We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We recently spent four nights here while travelling around Turkey for five weeks. What a sensational place to be able to kick back for a few days and unwind. The location was perfect - far enough from the village to avoid any noise and close enough for an easy walk downtown. The highlight would have to be the organic breakfast at owner Mr Ali's valley hideaway. A tractor and cart ride to the rim of the valley was enjoyed with wonderful stories by Mr Ali about his early years and the history of the area. We then descended into the valley which was just superb and the breakfast was to die for with organic fruits and produce grown all around us. If you are looking for a place to enjoy fantastic service and amenities at a reasonable price this is it!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mungobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,241
    307
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
437
1,333
135
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This was by far the highlight of my trip to Turkey. This hotel is located up a steep hill at the edge of Goreme, with wonderful rooms built into the caves. All the staff here, from the front desk, to the restaurant, to the hamam were extremely helpful and pleasant. The included breakfast had a huge selection, all of which was tasty. We also ended up having dinner at the hotel restaurant, which was the standard Turkish fare, but very tasty and affordable. The hotel organizes a number of activities--we did a tour of the underground cities, which was run by an excellent guide and well worth the price. The hotel also has a hamam, which we visited at the end of our stay. It was a beautiful setting and very relaxing. The only downside to the hotel is that the wifi is spotty in the rooms due to the thick rock, but I didn't mind sitting in the lounge to use the internet. I highly recommend this hotel -- I truly loved everything about it and would go back again!

Room Tip: We chose room 102, two twin beds with some nice extra amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I can't believe there was still someone give the rate as "average"!! What are they still requiring for? Everything is perfect, it's not only a hostel but a Museum! My husband's eyes& mouth became so wild when he saw Kelebek. Everything is beyond our imagination, the small& cute garden, the friendly stuff, the perfect location, the charming room,the hearty breakfast and the amazing view...
In the morning, when we opened the window, we're shocked by what we saw!!! So many hot balloons are just outside of our window, what a beautiful dream!!
My 5 years little girl totally enjoyed her staying in Kelebek, she even remembers her friendly "sweety"(sorry I can't remember his name since my girl only called him in this way) till now, she got a warm-hearted hug on every morning & afternoon...and I believed this is the only guy she still remembered in our 2 weeks' journey... thanks for the smiling welcome!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yssy0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Müllheim, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Kelebek in Göreme ist a truly special cave hotel. You are wandering around in it as in a three dimensional maze. Don't worry though about getting lost, there is always some friendly staff to put you back on the right track. From wherever you are you have an amazing view over Göreme and the surrounding mountains and caves.

The breakfast and dining room is right at the top of several levels. You can sit outdoors or in a small and cosy room just below the main dining area where you have a choice of table in one of the nooks and crannies. The food is delicious and there is something for all tastes. Nothing is fatty as everything is grilled and nicely flavoured but not too spicy, unless you especially ask for something hot. Very quickly you will get into a conversation with someone from any number of countries. The common language is English. Breakfast is also set up in the restaurant, buffet style, hot and cold dishes. These are mostly Turkish which are now my very favourite. I mainly stuck to my usual breakfast of muesli but added a variety of dried and fresh fruits. What i always added was a large spoon full of the dried mulberry fruit. All the fruit is wonderfully fresh and sweet. You can already tell that I love fruit.

There is also a "Hamam", the Turkish Bath, just down from the lobby. In the middle of a hot and steamy room is a big square stone slab. This accommodates 4 people, 3 side by side and one across, alongside their feet. I was the one at the feet of the other three. Every person has a towel wrapped around their rump and is being soaped and massaged by one of the little Asian girls. After you are finished you will have all that soap washed off. Dripping wet you can then dry yourself and and your dripping wet hair. I promise that you will feel like new. If you also want your feet massaged, which is a very good idea after climbing around those caves and underground cities, a young man will take over. He is kind and considerate no matter what shape your feet are in. I think nobody should leave Turkey without having experienced a Hamam.

What you will have gathered from my description of the Kelebek Cave Hotel is that there are steps everywhere and I mean high steps, like the 40 cm high step from my room up to the shower and toilet area and also down from outside my room. From there more steps up again into the lobby, then outside the building and up once more to the dining area. I would therefore recommend this hotel mainly to reasonably fit people. For me it sadly was not right. After just one night I had to tell the manager that I could not cope with the steps. He was very understanding and told me that there was another hotel from the same owner just down in the town. So I packed up my things and was driven down to the Heybe Hotel which was just perfect for me. This however, is another story. My last question is only, "when are you going there?" If you are flexible with your planning make it May or September."

Room Tip: On their website you will find pictures of all rooms. Make sure though you book early. October, stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleonore H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed here for two nights in November. The property and service were amazing. Upon arrival, we were given an orientation to the area by one of the property managers (Onul.). Lots of great information and he made us feel at home. The hotel is extremely clean and very cool to see. I enjoyed sipping wine and relaxing in their restaurant/lounge and patio. After four days of running around Istanbul, this was a nice contrast. We took daytime tours that were recommended and organized by the hotel, and just enjoyed the hotel in the evenings. The staff anticipated our every need been though not all spoke English well. I really appreciated their willingness to figure out what I needed. The rate was quite reasonable and came with breakfast and wifi in their common areas. I'm picky and could find no faults with this property. Thanks for an experience that I will remember for the rest of my life.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonathanN378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We found this hotel to be charming and unique. We admired the attention to detail, and everyone on staff was pleasant and eager to be of assistance. We loved exploring the different vantage points -- there are many places to see the town and the country. (Be sure to wake up early to see the many balloons pass by overhead.) We also enjoyed relaxing in the restaurant area, which is open all day to guests. The breakfasts were outstanding, and we had dinner there once, and it was very good too. And don't miss out on the hotel's Turkish bath -- it was a great way to end the trip, and well worth the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank west54st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

What an enchanting beauty!! The hotel is decorated expertly to fit its unique surroundings. We enjoyed the hotel restaurant both for breakfast and dinner. I also relished the Turkish Bath. We all enjoyed the hotel tour seeing and experiencing much more than we ever could on our own. The hotel service was way beyond what is hotel norm. It was the hotel who discovered our flight out was cancelled and it was the hotel also who arranged another flight and subsequent very early am airport shuttle for us. Before the shuttle came to pick us up at 4:45 am the night receptionist handed us sandwiches and drinks to take with us. Staff was so gracious despite having to go home late, do extra work or be awake in the early, early morning because of us. We would have been in trouble had you not helped us. Thank you sooo much!

Room Tip: Our room for 4 was enchanting! I don't think one could go wrong with any of the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo-anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 76 in Goreme
1,028 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 76 in Goreme
1,178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 76 in Goreme
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#19 of 76 in Goreme
943 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.0 mi away
Sultan Cave Suites
Sultan Cave Suites
#15 of 76 in Goreme
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing