We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A perfect stay!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I asked my boyfriend "is there anything that wasn't perfect about Kelebek?" He said "the fact that we can't stay longer??" I'm serious- Kelebek is wonderful!!! I haven't read all the other reviews- but from the few that I've perused, there is something helpful that I can add.

My very favorite thing about Kelebek is the lack of pressure to use their preferred tour companies. The staff is very informative on what there is to do in Cappadocia. And they can certainly give you recommendations on which companies to use. But that's it. They merely make the recommendation and move on. They just let us decided what was best for us without pressuring. I REALLY APPRECIATED THAT! After two months of traveling and having our hotels tell us why their preferred companies were the best and all the others were terrible, I didn't feel like having that same tired conversation. It just felt so much more professional when the staff at Kelebek said "We recommend x,y,z, company because we know it to be safe and reputable. But there are many good companies and we're happy to make a call to any of them if you like."

Man! That was a breath of fresh air.

And of course, let me just re-confirm that the rooms are awesome! The breakfast is fantastic! Having access to tea/coffee/water all day is wonderful especially in the winter. The staff are genuinely friendly but not overly-in-your-face. The hotel is kept spotless. The hamam , while more expensive than others, is welllll worth every penny. My scrub was incredible. The bath is beautiful. The sauna was divine. The staff at the spa were without flaw.

Also, the hotel's proximity to everything (as probably is the case for all hotels in Goreme) was great. Walking distance to the center of town (7 min?) and a little more of a hike (but certainly doable) to the open air museum.

AND there's a wonderfully friendly black and white cat named Doy Doy. She's adorable. We hung out with her every day!

Room Tip: We (boyfriend and I) stayed in room # 7 which is a cave room. Absolutely loved it! Maybe not the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,242
    307
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
437
1,334
135
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Cast off any doubts about this hotel and just reserve your place here. The cave rooms are unique and compelling, tastefully decorated and comfortable (with absolutely NO sense of dust, mold or any other fretful cave problems). The breakfast buffet is fresh, interesting and extensive, offered in a dining room/terrace area that commands beautiful views over Goreme and the fascinating Cappadocian terrain. Dinner is competently offered in the same setting, which is a nice option after a long day hiking -- and the dining room also works as a bar and coffee service. Everyone working here was exceptionally nice and thoughtful, without seeming insincere. Great advice was offered to us by Tuna, regarding things to do while in the area -- although they are affiliated with Heritage Travel and Butterfly Balloons (both great operations), there was absolutely no pressure or hard sell to book with those outfits or with anyone for that matter. We did greatly enjoy a hot-air balloon ride (with Butterfly), a Rose Valley-Pasabag-Avanos-Kaymakli tour (with Heritage), a self-guided hike from Uchisar to Goreme on the Pigeon Valley trail (awesome!), a bubble-massage Hamam visit at the hotel (professional and worthwhile), and a tour to see the Whirling Dervish sema at the Sarihan Caravanserai (don't miss the light-show in the courtyard following this seemingly authentic Dervish ceremony). Cappadocia on its own would have been amazing, but staying at Kelebek allowed us to enjoy it to the fullest and with perfect efficiency. The best value hotel I have ever stayed in, hands down.

Room Tip: Room 4 is a comfortably-sized cave room with a smallish bathroom, it is well decorated, and sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Our experience with Kelebek was excellent from beginning to end. I made reservations via email and received incredibly prompt and thorough responses. The hotel was just as beautiful as the website suggested and our room looked exactly like the pictures. The employees were very friendly, professional and helpful. Everyone's English was excellent, very helpful considering I know three Turkish words. The breakfast was top notch and the restaurant/bar area is open 24 hours, has free WIFI and complimentary tea and coffee. The concept of the cave hotel is so much fun and Kelebek will not disappoint. No complaints here, I wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Great hotel. Highly recommend it! Staff was very friendly and helpful, food was excellent and the price was adequate. The experience sleeping in a cave room was memorable. Staff also helped us understand the sites to explore in the 3 days we were there. They even offered to give us a lift to the open air museum which was not far away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Kelebek staff is great and very helping. They arranged all the tours and recommended best places to eat. All the places that they recommended turned out really great. We stayed for 2 nights and our experience with kelebek was memorable. Great service and very well organized.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hinal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Kelebek was such a lovely hotel in Cappadocia and we are so happy to have found it! The staff is so nice and helpful, each room is different and designed differently (size differs depending on how much $$ you pay per night). We stayed 3 nights at Kelebek and enjoyed each more than the next. Stayed in room 14--such a beautiful view but bring a mask if you are sensitive to AM light! The breakfast is the best you will find--must try the freshly squeezed OJ + fresh honey from the honeycomb! They have much more outdoor things to offer in the summer (chez lounges, pool, etc.) so I would definitely consider returning for a summer visit. Thank you Kelebek staff for such a lovely stay in nature!

Room Tip: Remember that you are in a valley so the call to prayer echoes and is much lounder than say a hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Kelebek hotel. The hotel is very good, cozy, well structured and the staff is more than professional + friendly. I totally recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to visit Capadoccia, which is a very interesting place in the world.

The staff also helped us to organize our activities like the balloon trip and the day tours. Everything was superb and not just another tourist trap. They also let us enjoy the hotel infrastructure after our checkout while we were waiting for our transfer to the airport. Don't think twice when choosing a hotel in Capadoccia, go for the Kelebek.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms might be a little on the small side, go for the more expensive ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marlonguerios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#14 of 76 in Goreme
1,029 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 76 in Goreme
1,107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 76 in Goreme
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 76 in Goreme
945 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.0 mi away
Sultan Cave Suites
Sultan Cave Suites
#16 of 76 in Goreme
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing