We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop looking - Kelebek is where you want to stay in Goreme!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stop looking - Kelebek is where you want to stay in Goreme!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

WOW... what an amazing place Kelebek is! It is not only a unique cave hotel, it is a very special cave hotel! There are so many wonderful cave hotels touting their wares in Goreme but seriously - look no further than Kelebek. We initially booked for nights and eventually left (with a heavy heart) after 5 nights here. Everything from check in to check out went smooth. Matt the manager was very hands on and made sure that we were comfortable and checked on us often - which was really nice of him. We travelled here with a very active toddler and stayed in room 107. I picked it because it had a huge bathroom (with a claw foot bath tub), lovely super king size bed and a separate seating area with a fireplace. The room was spacious enough for my little one and she was never bored. We also did not have any internet problems - a little slow at times but connection was pretty solid most of the time.

Cons: same breakfast every single day... so if you're staying there for more than 2 nights, it can get a little tiring. I also suspect that it's also recycled because not very much was fresh apart from the made to order eggs. The juices that they serve are not fresh (which was disappointing) and milk is UHT (we ended up buying fresh milk from outside and storing it in the room).
no coffee and tea making facilities in the room - but free coffee and tea available in the terrace dining room - which is great but not very convenient when you're pining turkish tea late at night and you don't want to leave your room in the cold. We got them to put the tea in a flask... which helped!

Other than the not-so-great breakfasts - eveything else is amazing. I would highly recommend staying at Kelebek when in Cappadocia

Room Tip: Get room 107 if you're looking for a massive bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fazzyk416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,228
    306
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
434
1,325
134
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We closed our trip to Turkey in Goreme staying at the Kelebek Special Cave Hotel. We choose to stay in the heritage room which was once a wine room around 1500 years ago. It is not very often that you have the opportunity to stay somewhere with such history and we loved it. While the room may not have been as luxurious as others, it was magical for us to be able to sleep in a fairy chimney. We woke up on two mornings to view the sunrise and balloons floating over the horizon which it the type of sight you would typically only see on a postcard.

Mert, the manager was very attentive and helpful. The day we arrived, he sat down with us to help plan our time here offering suggestions and tips to best fit with how we wanted to spend our time. The organic breakfast was excellent as well. We enjoyed time with the owner hearing about his childhood and growing up in Cappadocia followed by one of the best breakfasts we have had.

Out final day was spent relaxing by the pool after a turkish massage. I wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: The heritage room is really quite special if you want to sleep in an authentic cave. Be mindful tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Kelebek was simply amazing. Perched on a hillside overlooking the Rose Valley, the location meant that we ate breakfast looking at hundreds of coloured balloons. Then at night we saw the Fairy Lights of Goreme. It was magic. The Cave bedroom was very cosy and comfortable and unlike any room I've stayed in. I've never slept in a cave room before with gorgeous rugs on the floors. We used the beautiful marbled Hamam (Turkish bath) which was all included. Matt (Manager), Ali (night manager) and the dining staff were all incredibly helpful. The breakfast was traditional Turkish but you could order an omelet or cooked eggs as well. We ate dinner there one night too. Delicious and reasonably priced. Our 4 nights at Kelebek added heaps to our experience of Cappadocia. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MichelleAddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights when we came to Cappadocia as part of our honeymoon trip in Mid-Jan. It was very fun to see and stay in a cave hotel that's so different from the 'normal' ones. We had a superb 3 nights staying with them!!

After the overnight bus, we arrived at the early morning in Goreme. A staff came to the bus station to pick us up after someone at the station helped us to call the hotel. We thought it would be far away, but only few mins drive! When we arrived the hotel, the manager was very nice and made you feel very welcomed! After greeting us, he invited us to have breakfast at their hotel first (free) as the room was not completely ready yet (We arrived early, it's not the check-in time yet). After the room was ready, we checked in and the manager was kind enough to ask us to find him again for all the local information after we got ourselves ready after the long overnight bus. He's been very very helpful and knew that we were on our honeymoon, so the hotel was very generous to give us wine and other complimentary fruits and snacks!

We stayed in room 17. The room was excellent with great view in our balcony. You can see all the hot air balloons flying in the early morning! Our room has a fireplace too but we didn't use it even though during winter time, as their heating is very warm for us already. Everything was excellent in our room except one tiny matter is the wifi. The manager has already informed and apologised to us that the internet reception is not good in our room. So if you need to access to the internet, we needed to go out to the balcony though. Apart from that we were totally in love with this room!

We did go on to the hot air balloon as well and the hotel made an excellent arrangement with the balloon company! And we also did have a bottle of wine after our ride from the balloon company!!! We greatly appreciated this!

In general, we were in love with this hotel and I would definitely recommend people to stay in this hotel if you visit Goreme! I would definitely come to stay in this hotel again when I return in the future!!! We feel so welcomed and comfortable for my entire stay! It's such a memorable stay for us as well!!! Thank you very much!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JFJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This was my girlfriend's favourite hotel on our trip to Turkey. She particularly enjoyed the cosy library with its steady apple tea service. The management and staff were eager to meet all requests. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 different rooms. Each had its charms, but 105 (I think) had heated floors in the bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at Kelebek while visiting cappadocia. Mert, the manager, and the night concierge (sorry name escapes me - young man) were consummate professionals who made us feel welcome, well looked after and entirely comfortable. This kind of service will always make people recommend and return - well done.
I would recommend considering this hotel above others because of the decadence of having a beautiful hamam free at the hotel, the exceptional breakfast, lovely cave setting and outstanding service. The rooms and bathrooms are beautifully presented and comfortable too.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank mtya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

What fun to stay in a room carved out of rock! Cozily warm despite the cold February temps outside, room 102 had heated floors in the spacious bathroom, comfy beds and a fireplace. The view from the door was over a garden, the golden rock valley and hot air balloons in the morning! The manager, Mert, was super helpful and friendly, booking us airport shuttles, a discounted balloon flight and tours of the area with the very professional and knowledgeable Turkey Heritage Tours. We also appreciated the delicious breakfast and free coffee, tea and water throughout the day, especially when we were using the free internet in the sitting area. Lovely hotel, lovely management and a breath-taking area of the world worth a visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gcblase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#11 of 72 in Goreme
1,023 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 72 in Goreme
1,161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 72 in Goreme
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#18 of 72 in Goreme
934 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.0 mi away
Sultan Cave Suites
Sultan Cave Suites
#12 of 72 in Goreme
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing