We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special hotel in a very unique setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We had a fabulous time during our 3 night stay at the Kelebek. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Upon arriving at the hotel, we had a great introduction to the various attractions in and around Goreme. Soon afterward, we were whisked off to the Open Air Museum in the hotel's vehicle, just so we didn't have to tire ourselves with the uphill walk. Very thoughtful!

The hotel room was reasonable large, with a nice little fireplace. The staff would replace the wood when we used the fireplace. Very romantic to have this in our room, and the chimney worked well; no smoke in the room! The bed was very comfortable. We had room 17 with an amazing view from it's large terrace. The one afternoon that the weather allowed for hot air ballooning, we got some cool photos.

We enjoyed all our breakfasts in the relaxing dining areas, inside. (In warmer weather, dining al fresco was also available.) Additionally, we had a nice lunch and dinner during our stay. Next door is the stellar Seten restaurant. Our dinner there was special. Excellent service!

On day we took advantage of one of the hotel's small group tours of the area's sights. We had an excellent guide, very personable and knowledgable. Fun company with other travels and amazing sights.

On our last day, we decided to take it easy and stay closer to the hotel for a day in. Since it had been rainy and cold, we took advantage of the hammam (down the steps from our room) for a wonderful Turkish bath and massage. We highly recommend their pampering!

Unfortunately, we did not get to experience the hot air ballooning due to poor morning weather. But with such a lovely hotel, we felt that we still had an amazing experience. This hotel should be at the top of everyone's list for Cappadocia.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank charles a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

995 - 1,001 of 2,625 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Definitely one of the highlight of our trips. Breakfast is amazing with very diverse offer. Staff is extremely helpful (GM welcomed us at the front desk and put himself at our disposal to organise any activity we wanted). Rooms are very comfortable and adorable (most are carved inside stones). The Spa is fairly decent and they offer a nice turkish bath service as well. Would most definitely return and do recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gabriel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed in one of the cave rooms and it was fantastic, the room was clean and with the right atmosphere. The staff was supper friendly and helpful. The restaurant was very good we a great breakfast.
The hotel is located relatively close to the attractions but on top of a steep hill so be prepare to walk or catch the hotel transportation.
Overall an amazing place and I highly recommend. We booked our trip with Ms Gulcin SEZER from Turkish Heritage Travel and everything was perfect

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crisvv99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My girlfriend had booked this hotel room, when we were travelling in Turkey in December 2010. Because it was off, season we got 20% discount. I had no clue where we would be staying until I got there. I was amazed by the beauty of Cappadocia in general, but this hotel stay took it to another level. We were staying in Room 11. The hotel staff organised a pick-up for us from Goreme station, they planned our whole itinerary for us which included Hot Air Balloon ride, Red and Green tours and Turkish culture night. All the experiences were awesome. Now the best part was the room itself. I had never stayed in a cave room before and never stayed since, it was simply spectacular. It was freezing outside, but inside the room was very warm, beautifully furnished and ideal for couples. I found the service level of the highest quality over there, and staff in general were polite and courteous. We had lunch there, and it was authentic Turkish food with continental touch. As I said in beginning, it was and still is best hotel I have stayed in and rightly deserves the Top spot on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: Choose Room 11, has excellent view and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

From the moment the free shuttle from the Kelebek Hotel pick us up from the Goreme Otogar, we were living in a dream. All the praise and good remarks here are all true, the staff of the Kelebuk (Butterfly) Hotel treat us with politness and offer us top notched service.
When I wrote a review, I like to talk about facts: Here they are - Free Wifi is available in the reception and the public area. The breakfast are great with a varity of choices and is included in the room rate, Coffee and tea are available in the restaurant for free at all hours. The Hamam is one of the best in cappadocia and we could enjoy it for free. Our room ( number 10) is a classy cave room, spacious, warm and cosy ( important in winter months), witll has full amenties of a 5 star hotel.
It is a 5 minutes walk to the centre of Goreme, on the wayback it is a uphill climb, but for a hilly place like cappadocia, it is not difficult at all. The view from the hotel terrace is spectacular, you have a great view of the moonrocks, fairy chimnays, and in the morning, dozens of hot air balloons dotted the sky. When we were there, the sky was cloudless and sunny, and we have took some of the most unbelievable photos of Goreme.
The room rate, at winter time, was 55 euro, but we were given a 20% discount. For that amount, you are lucky to find a good budget class hotel in Istanbul.But here, you could have the time of your life.
We did the Hot air balloon trip, yes, we were anxious after the Luxor accident, but the trip went smoothly, and the company took the safety issue very seriously. And Cappadocia probably is the safest place to have the Balloon ride. so if you are there, we encourage you to try. It was the high point of our trip to Turkey.

Room Tip: definately take a cave room if you were offer one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raymasterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2014 in Suite 103 (the old stable) and enjoyed every minute. Communication prior to our visit was spot on, and when we were there staff were friendly and courteous. Special thanks to Matt for his big smiles and helpfulness, and also to Tuna who received us when we arrived rather late on our first day. The hotel is superbly situated high up in Goreme, having the advantage of some fine views as well as being close enough to the centre of town to walk in (just 5 minutes!) for food etc.

There was building work going on during the day but you have to expect this during the low season, and Matt kindly did come and see if it was disturbing us in our room and would have asked them to stop if we'd wanted, very considerate.

Our Suite 103 was perfect, huge bedroom area in the cave bit, and with just one little window it was very snug and quiet. If anything it was too warm and took a while to work out what settings to leave the heating on during the day. So don't worry about being cold in winter! So cosy. The bathroom was lovely too, with lots of complimentary toiletries (including conditioner! yeay!) and a huge shower. The living room is comfy and a lovely space to relax in after a hard days exploring. It's one of the most private rooms at the hotel (others are on the main walkways or nearer to reception/restaurant), down on a private little terrace along with rooms 101 and 102. Wifi in room too!

We did eat in the restaurant one evening, and the food was decent, if not earth shattering. The dining room and terrace are pleasant and buffet breakfast was the biggest spread we've ever seen, with everything from the usual continental options to all manner of dried fruit, pancakes and even Turkish delight!

I can understand how this little gem has been a Goreme favourite for some while.

Room Tip: Suites 101, 102, 103 seemed more private than many of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rena77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here for three nights in February. We chose room 10 because it had a little extra space and separate beds. No wifi in the rooms, but because of the "caves" they'd probably have to put a router in each room to make it work. There is access in the breakfast/lounge area throughout the day though. The room was clean and comfortable. It is a little dark, but it is a cave, I know. I think that this is most difficult in the bathroom. There are many more lights provided in the main space. The shower gave us a bit of trouble from time to time. It was difficult to get the shower head to remain on the upper hook and a couple of times we managed to soak the bathroom floor since water leaked from the doors a bit. This room also has a window in the center of the ceiling. Light from this window shines directly on one of the beds, making sleep past sunrise a bit bright...but if you're up for your balloon ride you'll never know! Outlets in this room were a bit loose. Plugs would stay in but easily lost their connection to the power source. There is also quite a bit of construction going on on the property right now.

We also tried the hammam and the traditional Turkish scrub and soap massage. The whole idea of a mixed hammam is a bit odd to us. Seems a bit personal to be fairly nude in a Muslim country with the opposite sex.

Service by the entire staff was very attentive. There are A LOT of employees. Perhaps they try to keep everyone employed year round but there always seemed to be plenty of people lingering around who worked for the hotel or some other connected company. Staff easily arranged airport transfer, dinners, tours, etc. Cash discounts offered for just about everything.

This is an enjoyable place to stay and I'm sure that in the warmer months the outdoor spaces would be a nice way to spend a day relaxing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank carzim59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 78 in Goreme
1,146 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#22 of 78 in Goreme
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 78 in Goreme
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 78 in Goreme
1,048 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#16 of 78 in Goreme
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £53 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing