We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best location and experienced service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“best location and experienced service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Kelebek is the most established hotel in old Göreme, with rooms overlooking the old town. We stayed two nights in a very nice quasi-cave room, as it had windows looking onto the sunrise over the roofs (also a nice spot to see the balloons early morning invading the sky).
Staff are knowledgeable and welcoming and you can sense that this hotel has operated for some years, given the quality of the advice provided and that they have thought about many details.
The breakfast is generous, but rather standard turkish and international. When we were there, the hotel also offered organic breakfast in a nearby valley and that was a great experience, as they take you by tractor to their farm and you are given in a great place nice Turkish breakfast with some original features (conserved walnuts, apples, honey comb, etc) - definitively worth the time (takes from 8.30 to 11.00).
The location is great as although your are on the higher part of the town, it takes five minutes to walk down to the main square.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 114, which has this great view over the town - the website actually provides good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asiavito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,174
    303
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
418
1,305
128
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

A friend recommended this hotel to us, and we had such a great time here. The staff is fantastic - so friendly and helpful. The events managers helped us find activities that were suitable for our four-year old that allowed us to explore the amazing scenery. The rooms are beautiful - we had a suite, and I was pleasantly surprised by the huge bathroom and big tub (good for a long soak after a hike). The food is really good - we ate here by choice for most meals, and they prepared special meals for our picky child. The views from the terrace are gorgeous.

Getting to the hotel was easy from the airport (we flew in from Istanbul) as the hotel arranged a van for us. When we left, they prepared sandwiches for the plane ride too. I really can't say enough about the staff, who really went above and beyond. I highly highly recommend Kelebek.

Room Tip: recommend the suites if you are traveling as a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennedy_L7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

What can we say. Look no further if you want to stay in the very beautiful town of Goreme. All attractions are closely. This very characteristic cave hotel has a great location above the town centre with very pleasant views from its terraces. Breakfast is excellent. But what really stands out is the hospitality from manager Mert and the owner. All recommendations for tours, sightseeing, restaurants etc. were spot on. Please make sure to also sample the recently added organic breakfast at the owner's family farm! Enjoy your stay (we certainly did)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulus_adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

It is my first time to go Turkey and I have been looking forward to Cappadocia and Cave hotel.
Kelebek makes you feel like home. From the airport pick up, the room, staff's hospitality, breakfast, view from the terrace...everything is just perfect.

And, I took night bus to Antalya after I checked out. When I finished the day tour and got back to the hotel, they provide towel and bath service, and also the common area, wifi, luggage room...all are generously provided.

I would say their service is 6 stars, and I regretted that I cannot stay longer this time. But next time I will definitely stay here again. Thanks and Keep it up!!

Room Tip: I just tried one room this time, but i think all their rooms are good:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwan wai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I wasn't able to stay here (fully booked on my dates, book ahead!) but I was lucky enough to receive great service from this hotel all the same. When it turned out that I couldn't extend my stay at my other hotel, I approached this hotel even though I knew the only room they had available was not really big enough for my family. Even though we were not even his guests, the manager graciously phoned a nearby hotel and arranged for a lovely, more than ample room for us and a car to pick us up and transfer us to the new hotel. We also were very lucky to experience the organic village breakfast for guests with the also very gracious owner. An absolutely wonderful experience! The food and location was amazing but, even better, the owner shared stories of his upbringing in the area. Fascinating and intimate. I did have a peek at a few of the rooms and they looked great - very atmospheric! And the hotel itself is beautiful, with lots of terraces to relax on as well as a lovely garden, all with amazing views over the valleys and village. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here at all. Outstanding service! Even though I wasn't a guest, I felt like one!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A_Travelling_Circus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at Kelebek for 3 days and we have nothing but good words to say about this hotel and the service we got.

We found the place quite welcoming and the hotel staff were always friendly and ready to help you. They gave us great tips/suggestions - detailed maps of the the area that were so useful for driving, treks and also took the time to explain the different places of interest and treks that one can do. There was always someone at the reception you could approach for any help.

The restaurant and the adjoining seating/reading rooms are good and the restaurant has nice seating places with good views of Goreme and some of the valleys and not to mention the views one can have when the balloons go up in the morning. They serve you tea/coffee from morning 7.30- evening 10 (I think) on a complimentary basis and that was a great feature. After a long day of site seeing, resting on the sofas there while sipping apple tea was an enjoyable experience. Of course the restaurant also serves decent food and the morning breakfast is decent as well, nothing to complain about.

We had an early morning morning check out (at 6AM) and the staff offered us packed sandwiches and juice cans to take with us as the breakfast started only at 7.30. We felt that this was a great gesture from the hotel and really appreciated this, as not may hotels take the effort to go that extra mile.

Few things that could be improved or are not that great are:
Curtains - Could do with better ones that actually cover the whole window!
Swimming pool - They have a small outdoor swimming pool. Not functional at the time we visited (April) because of the low temperatures.
The doors - The doors to the rooms were a bit creaky and the locks a bit odd, probably for the rustic and authentic feeling.
Room booking - Booking is through email an not through their website/other travel wbesites

Room Tip: They have a good website with details of each room on it. Some of the rooms do not have attached bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajnambiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our stay at this hotel was wonderful from beginning to end. The staff were exceptionally helpful in providing great itineraries, arranging reservations and going above and beyond to ensure we were comfortable and happy.

We stayed in the large and comfortable room 21 and enjoyed the spectacular view from the balcony, enjoying a glass of wine while watching the sun set over Goreme and Uchisar. The free brunch experience at the owner's farm is an experience not to be missed and was a highlight of our stay.

The hamam and massage experience is a wonderful way to relax after a day of hiking and is not to be missed. Dinner at the restaurant featured delicious local food and fresh ingredients. We filled up on sharing the large appetizers and finished with the delicious baklava.

Room Tip: Room 21 was large and had a wonderful view from the balcony. The double shower heads, fireplace an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EStarCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#18 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing