We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience from the staff to the geography.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience from the staff to the geography.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

The staff from management down were so welcoming and accommodating. We loved our stay here and recommend the organic breakfast experience run by the owner (Ali) as a highlight. Although the hotel meals weren't quite as good as some of the others around Mert, the manager was incredibly obliging and offered his time very generously each day to plan our next adventure . The guys running the restaurant and bar were also great fun and looked after us with good humour each day. The rooms were far more luxurious than we expected although the beds were very firm and probably could do with an upgrade.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirleerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,191
    303
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
424
1,310
130
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bangkok
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

They provide service beyond extra ordinary, each and everyone of them, from Ali the owner to each and every staff of his.

Our gangster stay in room 12 and 14, since our budget is quite tight (2 cheapest rooms in this hotel) Room 12 is a bit more bigger and more comfortable than room 14, but anyway we grateful and feel its worth every penny on this hotel.

Like others, we get a free pick up, complimentary breakfast the day that we not suppose to have breakfast, and the breakfast one day in a valley by all good set up and lead by Ali himself, we feel his love doing all service and explanation and we so delight and touch by all that. By the way, the breakfast here is so very yummy.

Like others too, I feel very relax here to close all travel books, stay away from all travel website since the advise from the staffs for what we shall plan each day is nothing but perfect.

Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junya_and_gangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights in this wonderful hotel. The hotel itself was very nice but the service was really unbelievable. Mert, the hotel manager, personally assisted us the entire trip in helping to plan our days and checking in to make sure we enjoyed our activities. His advice was always spot on.

The other great selling points of this hotel were the views over the city and the great outdoor lounge areas available to all hotel guests. The great city view does mean that you have to walk up a hill to get to the hotel but it really wasn't too bad of a walk.

Another great thing about this hotel is that you actually get to pick what room you stay in. Our first two nights were spent in Room 17 which had its own private terrace that was perfect for watching the hot air balloons. The room was very spacious with a very modern bathroom. Our last night was spent in Room 4 which is a fairy chimney room. It was a little smaller (and cheaper) but still very nice. The bathroom was pretty tight so if that would bother you I would recommend paying a little more for a bigger room. The wifi is only guaranteed in the main areas of this hotel but I found that it worked from the terrace of Room 17 and right inside of Room 4.

Booking of the room was done over email. They also booked our airport shuttle and hot air balloon ride with Butterfly Balloons before we arrived at my request via email.

I very much recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Goreme, and I hope that one day I will have the chance to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MegTollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
289 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived via bus from fethiye and landed at 8 am - well before check in - we were not only picked up quickly but also served complementary breakfast and made comfortable.

Mert the manager is exceptionally knowledgeable and gives very good advice, we even took a lot of advice on Istanbul from him which helped us save a decent amount of money.

The room was very good - only thing that is missing is tea maker in the room and a safe - but the complementary tea/coffee served throughout the day makes up for it.

We also went for the organic breakfast - it was delicious and true to its name - we ate amongst bees literally!

Look no further if you are planning to use goreme as your base in cappadocia - highly recommended!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank themanfromearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The rooms (9/10):
We stayed in Kelebek from 8 - 13 April 2014 in room 103 for 2 nights and 109 for 3 nights. In both rooms, the beds were comfortable, the rooms clean, the bathrooms nice (with heated marble floors), the area spacious and the ambience cosy/romantic. I especially liked Room 109 as it was laid out very well, with the living area / fireplace integrated nicely with the sleeping area, giving a spacious impression.

Although our rooms did not have particularly spectacular views, I would expect there are some that do as the hotel does have a very good vantage point over Gorome.

Location (9/10):
5-10 minutes to the center of Gorome. Cose to many attractions. On top of a hill, so has great views (but a steep climb up).

The service (10/10):
The manager, was extremely helpful in our planning. He introduced and described the various activities available to do in Cappadocia on a map. He then took consideration of our preferences and budget constraints and recommended a set of activities (a tour, hot air baloon, trekking and ATV routes) and the order in which they should be done. He also checked up on us each day, to see how the day went and if changes were needed to the plan.

This was unlike the other hotels we stayed at in Turkey who could not prioritise and recommend activities as good as him. Also, he was never pushy. After half an hour we were very clear on "what to do", felt properly orientated and had a customised schedule. Overall I liked how efficient he made the process and the fact that he was honest in trying to meet our needs rather than pushing the most expensive activity.

Other examples of good service:
- The manager recommended some very good food for our meals (Top Deck was the best restaurant we visited in Turkey!).
- We were walking back to the hotel, one of the staff (Ali) who was driving a van recognised us and offered us a lift.
- The manager offered us a lift to the starting point of a trek.
- The manager provided us an itinarary for the Asian side of Istanbul, where he used to live, which proved insightful.
- Early morning pre-flight sandwhiches were provided.

IMHO the overall level of service provided was the best I have experienced in my past 5 years of travel (including a trip to Japan) and I could recommend this hotel based on this factor alone. I would like to say a big thank you to the manager, who made the difference between a good holiday and an excellend one and who showed genuine concern for our level of satisfaction.

The breakfast (8/10):
A wide buffet spread was provided. I particularly liked the honey comb, cherry tomatoes, eggs to order, fresh french toast and olives. There are some small variations between days but mostly a similar spread.

I would definitely stay in Kelebek the next time I am in Cappadocia!

James

Room Tip: Room 109 is spacious and laid out really well. It also has air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldWideWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Kelebek was an awesome experience in an amazing place. If you haven't been to Goreme, Kelebek is the place to stay! The staff was very friendly, hospitable and can help you plan your stay at this fantastic place. The facilities are roomy and clean and you can appreciate the beauty of the town at all times. The restaurant run by Osman offers quality food in a peaceful and romantic atmosphere. A place worth staying at!

Room Tip: The larger suites are very comfortable, although I feel you will hardly spend time in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had read great reviews about this place on trip advisor and I am pleased to say that everybody was so right about this place. The hotel is lovely with clean and pretty cave rooms, the service is outstanding and it has a great view. The manager of the hotel is extremely patient and concerned. He helped us plan our trip, offered us complimentary breakfast on the day we arrived and ensured that we were fine. I would highly recommend this hotel to stay at in Goreme.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelCurry86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#16 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing