We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nothing to add that hasn't been said; Well done Kelebek” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
162 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Nothing to add that hasn't been said; Well done Kelebek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Great value and great service, this property does a great job from A-Z. From booking to airport pick-up, from travel recommendations to the organic breakfast, really well done. In one phrase, they listen, a quality less and less common these days.

To be constructive, I do wish the trails surrounding Goreme (fantastic vistas) were better marked, or perhaps Kelebek could upgrade its helpful area map? Lots to be said for getting lost and starting and adventure, but the more info the better.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjcSING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,162
    303
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
416
1,300
126
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the Kelebek pretty tired after our flights from the Us. We had been traveling about 20 hours at that point. The airport pickup arranged by the Kelebek was superb, we walked out and saw our name right off. The drive is about an hour from the airport to the town if Goreme. We were welcomed by Matt the Manager. He couldn't have been nicer. He was helpful that day and all through the days we spent in the enchanting area of Cappadocia. Stayed in rooms 110 and 103. Of the two my preference was 103. It was quieter and I could block the am light making sleep easier for this jet lagged traveler. Bed was great as was the space itself. Great hotel. Also we partook in 2 tours arranged through the hotel as well as the whirling dervish ceremony. All were wonderful in different ways. My husband and I also enjoyed hamams with massages. What a delight, best thing ever! We highly recommend this unique property for the comfort but also for the welcoming feeling they provide.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank loro_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Kelebek is a delight, and the best hotel in Goreme (as you can read in other reviews).
Some rooms are small (we started with 3 nights in 11: best for a solo traveller, with a step inside the door as well as into the dark, low-ceilinged bathroom) and as it is a 'cave hotel' it is dark, which is easily remedied with better/more lighting in rooms with no natural light.
But the traditional decor (local rugs, candles, lots of wrought iron & wood) and exceptionally friendly, helpful staff almost make up for the tiny, dark room we had. The hotel's descriptions on the website, and picture (which must've been with the door open as it was dark by day and bright by night, thanks to no covering over the door's window and the hall light right outside) were not as clear as we expected: we were shocked with the size and darkness of our room. We also heard whenever neighbours coughed/talked loudly, and the only window was small and opened onto a hallway serving 2 other rooms: we suffered anytime they smoked and had to notify staff as cigarette smoke filled up our room quickly.
On our last night, we had to move to a larger more traditional cave room which was behind reception in another small complex of rooms... thank goodness. This was 30 Euros more, and out of our budget but acceptable for one night: it had a seating area with traditional cushions and better lighting as well as a bathroom we didn't have to wait to use (it was large enough for 2 people to be in at once). The floor in this room was also all 1 level: those with mobility issues are going to find Turkey (and especially Cappadocia) difficult!
However, the helpful friendly advice provided upon arrival and attention to detail at breakfast (plentiful choice included local honey on the comb & various fresh breads, fruits and eggs to order!), dinner, and all services was excellent. The hotel restaurant welcomes non-guests and was busy: food was fresh, at the right temperature, and their wine list extensive. We also enjoyed food & drinks via room service with family who were in a suite, and this was very fast & professional.
The "orgasmic, organic breakfast" field trip offered free once per stay was a real treat: Ali the owner, who didn't reveal himself until he began explaining the surroundings and agriculture on the way to breakfast, was a gentleman with excellent stories and a lovely sense of humour. He takes guests via a large wooden 'basket' with bench seating through Goreme and into the hills pulled by a tractor (which factors into 1 of his stories!). After a scenic 20 min. ride, all walked down steps his family made into King's Valley where his ancestral home is being gradually developed. We saw the chickens who laid the eggs we enjoyed along with fresh vegetables, herbs (local dill: yum!), tomatoes, and 3 kinds of cheese plus yogurt and olives: the spread was so large there was no space left on the broad table! After a feast washed down with hot tea or fresh juice, we walked out of the canyon, hearing more stories, and were pulled back into town. All told, this is a 2 hour morning experience not to be missed, and balanced out our initial room experiences.

Room Tip: Avoid small rooms (11 & all in that hall): luggage does not fit & there is no air flow unles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larsey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

The staff from management down were so welcoming and accommodating. We loved our stay here and recommend the organic breakfast experience run by the owner (Ali) as a highlight. Although the hotel meals weren't quite as good as some of the others around Mert, the manager was incredibly obliging and offered his time very generously each day to plan our next adventure . The guys running the restaurant and bar were also great fun and looked after us with good humour each day. The rooms were far more luxurious than we expected although the beds were very firm and probably could do with an upgrade.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirleerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

They provide service beyond extra ordinary, each and everyone of them, from Ali the owner to each and every staff of his.

Our gangster stay in room 12 and 14, since our budget is quite tight (2 cheapest rooms in this hotel) Room 12 is a bit more bigger and more comfortable than room 14, but anyway we grateful and feel its worth every penny on this hotel.

Like others, we get a free pick up, complimentary breakfast the day that we not suppose to have breakfast, and the breakfast one day in a valley by all good set up and lead by Ali himself, we feel his love doing all service and explanation and we so delight and touch by all that. By the way, the breakfast here is so very yummy.

Like others too, I feel very relax here to close all travel books, stay away from all travel website since the advise from the staffs for what we shall plan each day is nothing but perfect.

Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junya_and_gangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights in this wonderful hotel. The hotel itself was very nice but the service was really unbelievable. Mert, the hotel manager, personally assisted us the entire trip in helping to plan our days and checking in to make sure we enjoyed our activities. His advice was always spot on.

The other great selling points of this hotel were the views over the city and the great outdoor lounge areas available to all hotel guests. The great city view does mean that you have to walk up a hill to get to the hotel but it really wasn't too bad of a walk.

Another great thing about this hotel is that you actually get to pick what room you stay in. Our first two nights were spent in Room 17 which had its own private terrace that was perfect for watching the hot air balloons. The room was very spacious with a very modern bathroom. Our last night was spent in Room 4 which is a fairy chimney room. It was a little smaller (and cheaper) but still very nice. The bathroom was pretty tight so if that would bother you I would recommend paying a little more for a bigger room. The wifi is only guaranteed in the main areas of this hotel but I found that it worked from the terrace of Room 17 and right inside of Room 4.

Booking of the room was done over email. They also booked our airport shuttle and hot air balloon ride with Butterfly Balloons before we arrived at my request via email.

I very much recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Goreme, and I hope that one day I will have the chance to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MegTollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
283 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived via bus from fethiye and landed at 8 am - well before check in - we were not only picked up quickly but also served complementary breakfast and made comfortable.

Mert the manager is exceptionally knowledgeable and gives very good advice, we even took a lot of advice on Istanbul from him which helped us save a decent amount of money.

The room was very good - only thing that is missing is tea maker in the room and a safe - but the complementary tea/coffee served throughout the day makes up for it.

We also went for the organic breakfast - it was delicious and true to its name - we ate amongst bees literally!

Look no further if you are planning to use goreme as your base in cappadocia - highly recommended!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank themanfromearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 66 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 66 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 66 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 66 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 66 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing