We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Lovely hotel and staff, very welcoming, complimentary welcome drink on arrival,parked our car, carried in our bags. We had a lovely room, the terrace/restaurant area was a great space to relax in. Delicious breakfast as well

The hamman was also a wonderful experience, enjoyed the scrub and soap massage

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,162
    303
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
416
1,300
126
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just back from two days at the Kelebek, can't tell you how much we enjoyed our stay there, our only regret being we couldn't stay and extra day just to relax and enjoy the whole cave hotel experience, including the organic breakfast at their farm. We stayed in Room 106, a cave suite, very comfortable and beautifully decorated. I most definitely hope to return some day...:)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prish_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Kelebek already has a fantastic reputation and glowing reviews so they don't really need my input, but it was such a wonderful experience. In short, it was absolutely charming-- and that goes for both the physical property itself as well as its staff and services.

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of May, but we could have easily stayed there for a week. We reserved about two months in advance but all of the cheaper rooms were already booked so we splurged for a suite. Aside from the beautifully decorated rooms, little things show you how thoughtful the management is in providing a welcoming experience-- complimentary bottled water in the room every day; turkish delights in the room; electric plug adapter in the room. Contrary to some other reviews, we had consistent and reliable wifi in our room.

We arrived by plane at Kayseri and arranged for airport pick-up through the Kelebek. For everyone who checks in at the hotel, Kelebek staff will sit down with you to help you figure out the best way to see Cappadocia based on your interests and schedule. They will also give you an orientation of the hotel so that you know where everything is (cafe, hamam, etc.). We loved the fact that our guy (don't remember his name but he kind of looks like Dermot Mulroney...) gave us recommendations specific to our interests without pushing us towards the tours offered by Kelebek's sister travel agency company. In fact, he even told us which tour we should skip since there are hikes that we can do on our own. It's true what all the other reviewers have said-- the staff is really friendly and helpful. Seriously, they always have a smile when they greet you!

The farm breakfast option is a delightful experience- it will take up most of your morning but if you have time, it's a nice departure from your typical hotel experience. You will ride in a trailer wagon for a bit to a farming area that's in a valley. The scenery en route is every enjoyable and there is A LOT of food at the actual meal itself, including freshly baked bread. The breakfast at the hotel is also an amazing spread-- the most variety of all the hotels we stayed at in our 2 week trip in Turkey. On our last morning, we had an early flight and weren't able to go to breakfast, so the hotel prepared sandwiches and juices for us to take on the road. The sandwich wasn't particularly special but it was the fact that they knew we would miss breakfast so they set out food for us--I really appreciated this.

I loved the hamam experience at Kelebek because it's small, you make an appointment, and it's more private than going to a public bath. It may not be as authentic as a public bath but it was such a treat to get to experience a scrub and massage at the hotel, especially after being on your feet in exploring Cappadocia.

If you're going to Cappadocia during peak season, reserve early!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HWen210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed in room 7, which is in one of the fairy chimneys! Weather in June was quite hot for us (30 DC) but as soon as you enter the room (or any other cave parts of the hotel) it's immediately cooling.

Our room has a cute little window that looks out into Goreme town - very pretty at night. In fact, the hotel has many terraces, all with beautiful views of Goreme landscape.

Essentials:
- Location = very handy, 5 min walk down the hill to town centre where there are plenty of food options. The hotel also serves dinner there, but we did not try.

- Hotel condition = clean & cute. This place is cute everywhere you look!

- Room amenities = hair dryer, soap, shampoo, shower cap, indoor slippers, and even loofah mitts! Spare pillows and blankets. Heater (we didn't need it) and hot water with good pressure.

- Breakfast = great variety: cereal, fruits, yoghurt, salads, bread, cheeses (so many), cakes, dried fruits (figs, apricots), deep-fried turkish items, fruit juices. Eggs are made fresh for you on request. They also have organic farm breakfast option which apparently is quite an experience. Unfortunately we did not have time to try this. Maybe next time!

- Staff = AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING. They all genuinely want you to have a good time. We arrived quite late, but the guy who was on night shift (forgot to ask his name) spent time tweaking our 1st day itinerary with us. Another staff (Matt) talked us through how we should structure our 2nd day itinerary, pointing out routes that are off the main road so we can see more things. What these guys do, that we rarely experience, is that they listen to your plan - then give their inputs accordingly (rather than just blindly repeating the same route suggestion they tell every guests). We felt so welcomed at Kelebek hotel. Bag boys and breakfast staff were also very friendly.

- WIFI = available in restaurant & terrace areas. No WIFI in the room.

- Booking = browse the hotel website, and pick a room you want to stay in. Email the hotel directly for booking. Book early if there's a room that really attracts you. All the rooms are reasonably priced - and they offer 10% off if you pay by cash.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LlewAndPrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed for two nights at the Kelebek Cave Hotel. We absolutely loved our time here (and took lots of pictures of just the hotel itself because it is so unique!). They generously pick up and drop off guests at the bus station. Our room was very cozy and they always replenished the bottles of water. The concierge was outstanding. We worked with Matt, predominantly, and he gave the most detailed information and honest advice. Additionally, while we had already checked out of the hotel on our last morning in town, we weren't leaving Goreme until 8:00 pm that night. Matt, on multiple occasions, made sure we understood that we continued to be their guests and had full access to their facilities and services (including allowing us to take showers that afternoon in their hamam and keeping our luggage stored for us). The breakfast they offered in the morning was fantastic (so many choices!) and they offer guests a complimentary traditional Turkish breakfast at one of the employee's family farms. That was an absolutely charming experience in of itself. Can't say enough good things about this hotel and its staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blmahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Kelebek consists of a series of beautiful buildings off a central lane - it's a private resort with gorgeous views from the various terraces and balconies. My room was beautifully appointed and authentically charming. Breakfast was outstanding but what stood out for me the most was the service. Everyone there went out of their way to be helpful without being obsequious. I was picked up promptly from the bus station and right from the start I was given help booking what I wanted to do, without being pushed to do hotel-recommended activities unless I wanted to. Before I came to Turkey I dreamed of staying at the Kelebek but thought it would be too pricey for me as a single traveller - however, they offered a cash and single person discount which was the clincher. I stayed at the Kelebek for my last 3 nights of 5 weeks in Turkey and I was so very glad I did.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denmania24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

5 stars to the lovely staff of Kelebek. Very friendly courteous and helpful. Rooms were a little cramped and the bathroom had a bad smell but the hotel had excellent views of Cappadocia from its restaurant. Overall a wonderful stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rupz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 66 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 66 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 66 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 66 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 66 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing