We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Manager!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Manager!!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Kelebek Hotel was great, and the manager, Mr. Mert (pronounced more like "Matt") Kura was outstanding! He gave us frank, honest, personal, right-on advice and guidance that really helped our stay to be super! Super manager Mert! Thank you for your conscientious caring and help beyond the call! My wife Lynne and I appreciated your expertise and advice in all matters as well as your personable, kind, patient, and professional manner. Ask Mert before you do or buy anything! Aloha from Hawaii! Warren Nakano

Room Tip: It was quiet at the hotel, but during Ramadan, a drummer would go through the village at 2 am or so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warrenhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,226
    305
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
433
1,323
134
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We loved Goreme, and this hotel made our stay. We had a beautiful room, in a cave, with a lounge, huge bathroom and real cave bedroom. If I'm being fussy I would say it smelt very cave like and musty, which did keep me awake for a while, but we got used to it after three nights and it wasn't really a problem. It was a very short walk into town, a few hills, but only minutes away, you are very much in the centre.

We stayed with two other couples, and intended on eating out at different restaurants each night, as we had done throughout our travels. However we arrived quite late the first night and they accommodated us at hotel restaurant, so that is where we ate. The staff were so fabulous, we ended up eating there every night, it was simply too good!!! Great food, fabulous service, all at a great price, why look elsewhere!

We arranged quite a lot of the trips from the hotel before we arrived, but really there was no need, they were super efficient, and could have arranged all this for us.

We went on the organic breakfast trip with the Owner, Ali, which was a fantastic addition to the holiday. Wonderful ride in the tractor, wonderful Turkish smiley ladies to serve us, all a lot of fun, and hugely informative on the region/food/culture. This excursion is a must, and is totally free...how often does that happen?

Our one sadness was the pool was small and a bit mouldy, could have been a bad week I don't know, but the tiles were all green, and we didn't go in, terribly uninviting. However we did use the Hamam at the hotel which was fabulous, never been so clean in our lives, a lot of fun and very professional. Gardens were also beautiful, lovely to sit in and spend an hour or so reading in the shade.

All in all, we loved our stay, thank you Kelebek, we hope to return one day. We would strongly recommend staying with you to anyone.

Room Tip: Make sure if it is a cave room, chose one with a decent window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel was an amazing place to stay while exploring the surrounding Cappadocia region. It is only a couple minute walk from the main streets in Goreme, and provides great views of the region on its terraces. The breakfast was the best I experienced in Turkey while the service was simply outstanding. They were able to arrange airport pick up and transfer from Kayseri for relatively cheap and provided lots of advice on what to see and do in the surrounding region. The room we got, 102, was very nice, and I really appreciated the ability to view the rooms on their website before booking. I would definitely come again, either solo for one of the smaller rooms, or take one of the suits if coming with a family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is wonderful, we had a splendid bedroom in a cave but with a balcon. The view is amazing, the swimming pool superb. The staff is friendly and helpful, they organized the transfert from and to the airport, a tour in Cappadocia and a balloon trip. Warmly recommended place to stay.

Room Tip: We would recommend to take a bedroom with terrace or balcon but pay attention there are only few.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My second stay at the superb Kelebek was in May 2014, and I had no hesitation in choosing the same hotel again: there are hotels of good quality and ambiance in many places, and the Kelebek has these attributes plus the character of the unusual old stone building... - but what makes it 'stand out from the crowd' for me is the quite exceptional service and care from the excellent Manager and staff, for whom nothing is too much trouble!

Room Tip: Just look on the splendid website! : this will tell you all about the Kelebek, and the different r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The first cave hotel in Goreme and still one of the best. By the time we arrived there, we can understand why.

We were greeted personally upon arrival by Unal, a nephew of the owner. He showed us a quick tour around the hotel and we fell in love with the hotel amineties at first sight. To put it simply, if you decide to spend all day just letting time goes by in the hotel, particularly the terrace and common room, it will be a day well spent. Wifi is available there.

Tea and coffee are complimentary all day. The services are attentive and the breakfast is always a delight full of fresh produce.

We stayed in the fairy chimney rooms. The rooms are rustic but very comfortable. There's no TV and terrace wifi does not reach there, but of course we don't come to Capadoccia to watch TV and surf the internet so it's not an issue (even an advantage as it cut our connection addiction).

The fairy chimney rooms' bathroom and toilet are in the stone building (not ensuite), we had to descend from the chimneys to get there. It was spring when we stayed there, but Goreme is still cold for us who come from the tropics--especially at night. Therefore going to toilet at night was a bit of effort to us. Well, every unique experience has a price and spending some nights inside the fairy chimney was profound--worth the minor discomfort.

The staffs are also helpful. They can recommend you where to go and what to do around Capadoccia (free maps are available). When we needed to exchange our Euros to Liras, they even advised us that the post office has the best rate (without commission) despite they also have money changer service.

Goreme is a small town and easy to walk around. Therefore, location is not a factor. They can also pick or drive you to anywhere in the town for free.

One of the best accomodations we have ever stayed.

Room Tip: No central heating in the fairy chimney rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuarSanubari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel is beautiful and the best staff we have encountered in Turkey. They are very friendly and accommodated to all of our needs. We travelled with our dog and everything went smoothly. There's a peaceful garden area with a great view. We enjoyed the restaurant, and best of all, we had the most amazing experience at the hotel's hamam (Turkish bath). The organic breakfast is a must do! The owner takes the guests to his family's farm, about a 20-minute ride along a scenic view, and serves fresh vegetables and homemade breakfast. We will definitely come back to this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle_MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#12 of 72 in Goreme
1,023 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 72 in Goreme
1,159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 72 in Goreme
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#18 of 72 in Goreme
935 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.0 mi away
Sultan Cave Suites
Sultan Cave Suites
#13 of 72 in Goreme
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing