We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Special hotel!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We just stayed two nights at the Kelebek Special Cave Hotel. What a wonder experience visiting the region. The hotel has a wonderful and friendly staff. Our daughters stayed in one of the incrdible cave rooms and my husband and I stayed in beautiful room 110. The hotel has lovely common areas with great views of the town, really nice breakfast buffet and drinks and snacks throughout the day. I went to the traditional Turkish breakfast that is held every day in a beautiful setting in a nearby valley. You get there by a tractor pulling a large wagon. It was fun and the owner gave us a little history of how his family started the inn. Local women had a amazing spread of Turkish breakfast foods waiting for our group. The staff is extremely helpful in booking balloon flights, airport transportation or tours. I would recommend visiting Goreme and staying in this wonderful and special property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gator544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,242
    307
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
437
1,334
135
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here from 7-10 Jul 2014. From Day 1, we were absolutely wow-ed by the beautiful views and the unique cave room that was assigned to us.

There is a beautiful terrace and restaurant area which serves free apple tea all day round - you get to chill and relax - watching the Rose Valley from a distance in the evening and hot air balloons dotting the skyline in the morning.

And the breakfast was the best out of our 2 weeks travel in Turkey. Cheese, fruit (fresh and dried), they even provided a honeycomb for you to cut into for breakfast ~

I am giving this hotel 4/5 because the room was clean - but sometimes didn't feel clean enough and the bathroom only had 1 light - so it was really a tad dark while showering. (e.g. covers reused, thrown on the floor while changing sheets)

Room Tip: You can choose a specific room by viewing the hotel website. What you see is that we you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redgoldfish82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights as our base to explore Cappadocia and everything about the hotel was wonderful. We made ample use of their deck for lounging and having various beverages, as well as at breakfast. The staff was uniformly courteous and helpful. We had pre-booked a balloon ride and a tour trough the hotel - both companies were affiliated with the hotel but also had very good independent reputations. We would highly recommend the balloon ride with the specific company. The day tour with a different company left us a little flat and was not something we would recommend. That was our only down-point of the entire visit. We also utilized the day spa at the hotel, which was fun and relaxing, and the hotel staff was also very good about recommending hikes and activities one can do without needing any kind of guide. The rooms themselves (we wound up staying in two different ones) were each unique and very comfortable and well-appointed. Finally, I can't review the place without mentioning the amazing organic breakfast offered as an option for guests. At the time we were there, this special breakfast was free. The owner of the hotel picked us up in a tractor with a wagon attached and told us stories of the area and his family's history in it as we were driven to the top of a ridge. We then hiked down into a valley - a gorgeous walk - where a full breakfast was laid out for us in a beautiful setting. All of the food was wonderful and amazingly fresh, with the ubiquitous Turkish tea on constant offer. We then took a short walk out of the valley in another direction and then were driven back to the hotel. This all was timed so that we could do it after the morning balloon ride, so we felt like we'd had a complete day before noon that day. A really special experience provided by the hotel. Overall, we would strongly recommend that anyone coming to this area stay with this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We only stayed here one night, but wish we could have stayed much longer. We arrived on the first flight of the day and took the shuttle from the airport. Upon arrival at the hotel, the hotel offered us our room right away, well before check-in. They also offered us breakfast, which was great. The view from the terrace just cannot be beat. With the help of the hotel, we were able to arrange for a tour the same day - the group that the hotel recommended was great, and we enjoyed our tour, which did not include any shopping excursions like many organized tours tend to do. Upon returning to the hotel, we finally ended up in our room - very cute, but it had a smell of smoke so the hotel quickly moved us to an equivalent room, which was also wonderful. We stayed in a room without AC in the middle of July -- it was a little warm at night, but the fan helped and it was not at all unreasonable. There are rooms available with AC if you are concerned about that. After a long day of touring and traveling, we had dinner at the hotel (very good and a fair price) and continued to enjoy the view and the relaxation of the terrace area. The next morning, we did a balloon ride organized through the hotel. After our return, the concierge helped us plan our day and even drove us to the Goreme Open Air Museum so we could beat the crowds. After our return, we lounged by the pool before our shuttle back to the airport.

We would absolutely stay at the Kelebek again. The customer service and quality of the hotel cannot be beat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandKate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Arenas, Magallanes y de la Antartica Chilena, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and didn't want to leave! What a great hotel! Great rooms and bathrooms, spectacular views, nice resting areas/pool. The hammam is amazing, beautiful and relaxing, don't miss the chance for a massage! And best of all: outstanding service! Mart in the front desk is very informative and helpful I wanted to do a balloon flight, but since I'm 5 months pregnant is was difficult and he called all the top companies to check if anyone would let me, finally (since my husband was flying) he got me to go and see the take off, follow the balloon and see the landing, also enjoy the breakfast and champagne at the end for free, very nice!! And people at the restaurant was always prompt to help Olsman, Gokhan and Sekure (sorry we dont know how to write your names).
We will definitely recommend this place! And hope one day to come back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The warm hospitality of the Kelebek staff cannot be surpassed.
I had the pleasure of staying here for a few days which included my 40th birthday, and the staff /management went to all lengths to help my partner make it an experience to treasure.
The premises and its surrounds are truly beautiful.
We had both lunch and breakfast in the Hotel's own valley (Lunch with the Rose Valley tour and Breakfast with the Hotels Organic Breakfast option). It was a magical experience.
Make sure you do not miss this hotel.
Thank you to the staff-you should be very proud of your level and style of service. I have not experienced this excellence anywhere else in the world

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pendekis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at the Hotel we were taken away by the breathtaking view. It's situated up on a small hill that overlooks the town of Goreme. If you wake up early you will also be pleasantly greeted by an amazing sight of the hundreds of hot air balloon in the air at sunrise. The turkish bath was a little pricey but VERY good and is highly recommended. They also served one of the best breakfast spread I've had so far during my two week trip in Turkey going from Cappadocia to Efes, Pamukkale, Bodrum and Istanbul. The service staffs were also extremely friendly and helpful. I would rate this hotel top notch in terms of service quality, except for that the room we had was a little stuffy in the 36-38 degree Celsius summer here since it had no A/C or fan, and the top most layer bed covers were never washed; of course the inner sheets were regularly washed and replaced as expected but the top layer was relatively dirty with stains and the room was generally dusty with sand possibly carried by the wind.

17 July 2014

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 76 in Goreme
1,028 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 76 in Goreme
1,106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 76 in Goreme
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#20 of 76 in Goreme
943 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.0 mi away
Sultan Cave Suites
Sultan Cave Suites
#15 of 76 in Goreme
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing