We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You couldn't get any better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You couldn't get any better!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband, mother and I spent two days and three nights at Kelebek Hotel. It was the most amazing place to stay and we do a great deal of travelling. Every single staff member was exceptionally helpful. The breakfast was fantastic and the setting perfect. They provided us with a drive into the main centre and pick up when my mother injured her foot, without hestitation. Our morning departure flight was very early and they provided us with a bag lunch since we would miss breakfast. The Turkish massage at the hotel was one of a kind and it shouldn't be missed. Although the massage was for 70 minutes, we stayed for 2 hours. You must stay here if you visit!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giffen18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,228
    306
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
434
1,325
134
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I had seen on TripAdvisor that this hotel was ranked number 1, so decided to book. It certainly lived up to its reputation....and more! Stunning location, above the town, easy walking distance. Quite hilly and quite a few steps, but worth it! For the slightly older visitor, easy to walk down....you might want to take a taxi back up. Beautiful, well equipped rooms and really sumptuous bathrooms. The staff are so helpful and friendly. They booked our Balloon ride with Butterfly Balloons! Not to be missed! The hotel has a great swimming pool, and we had the most divine Turkish Bath in their beautiful therapy area. Lovely breakfast on a balcony, overlooking the town. Views of the fairy chimneys. Just perfect. I'm just sorry that we only had 2 nights there. Next time, I'll stay longer to enjoy their amazing hospitality! I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!!!!! If you wake up at 5.45 am , and step outside your room, you will see the sky covered with hot air balloons, quietly soaring above. Spectacular!

Room Tip: Go on the website to choose the room that you want. They are all different. We had room 102, which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed in July. We had two rooms - both king suites. They accomodated the kids by adding a bed to one of the rooms. Rooms had sitting areas, beds, and nice bathrooms. The hotel was really cool. There were so many nooks and crannies. My daughter loved sitting in the rose garden on the hammock. We all loved the pool which had a beautiful view of the town. The pool also had a bar.

The owner was incredible. He took the time to go over various tours and help us make wise decisions (such as not going to the Open Air Museum in the middle of the day). He also DROVE US to the museum to avoid the uphill walk. When I requested decaff coffee, they DROVE us to town to find it.

They recommended the best restaurants (Go to Topdeck!) and helped at all times.

Look no further. This is a great hotel! We hope to visit again one day.

Room Tip: Maybe we should have considered a cave room during the summer. We were a little hot (though they pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bratzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Literally, you sleep in a cave. It's the coolest thing. The people who run the hotel are warm and oh-so-friendly. The hotel itself is almost like a resort (without the tacky factor) - it has a pool with a marvelous view (swim at sunset!) and quiet communal areas (with a nice coffee shop/restaurant, comfortable cushioned reading areas, hammocks, etc.) spread out amid the labyrinthian cave structure.
We ended up meeting a lot of great people here - somehow the atmosphere lends itself to both privacy and community. The hotel offers really great tours without any shopping pressures. To book, you have to email them - rates are only available on their website, but very reasonably priced. The breakfast is amazing. Location is great - you can walk into the town and to the Open Air Museum quite easily. For other sites, book the tours - the guides are easygoing and tourists are very, very well-treated. Goreme is one of those places where everyone knows everyone, and they really aim to please their visitors.

Room Tip: All the rooms have individual touches; in very hot months, ask for a fan - since you're sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Kelebek is the most unique hotel I've ever stayed at. Some of the rooms are cave rooms, while others are newer manmade structures. I booked back in September 2013 for my July 2014 stay, and all rooms were available at that point. You can pick your room, and each room has a description on the website. Before booking, I e-mailed the hotel...this was our e-mail exchange:

Me: Do you have availability from 7/22/2014 - 7/25/2014 for a Deluxe room?

I am looking for the best room available with A/C and a window/view of the town.

Hotel: All of our rooms are available for the dates you have requested.

Me: Which of the deluxe rooms has the best view? Do they all have a/c?

Hotel: Rooms 20 and 3 have the best view.

Me: Great, thanks. We'll take room 20.

This may be totally my fault, but I assumed that room 20 had a/c based on the lack of response regarding the matter. When we got there, I found out room 20 did not have a/c and temperatures were reaching 95 degrees Fahrenheit during the day. We decided to tough it out since there was quite a lovely breeze the first day, and I was able to take an early afternoon nap without a problem.

By nighttime, the breeze had vanished, but we still slept with the windows open for ventilation and hopes of a breeze. That was problematic because there was a loud barking dog all night - I had to use my ear plugs!

In the morning, we decided to pay the difference for a room with a/c for the next 2 nights. We were given room 107 for night 2 and room 111 for night 3. Room 107 was certainly larger than our original room, but it was dark and dungeon-like. The most disappointing part of it all was that the a/c didn't work, so we had to go another night without it.

As a kind gesture, the owner/manager upgraded us to their nicest room for night 3 (room 21), which DID have working a/c. I rarely expect exceptional customer service in foreign countries...I feel like that is a very American thing, but the hotel went above and beyond to make us happy at the end of the day, and for that, they get 5 stars.

Getting back to the hotel itself:

-The check-in process is lovely. The owner recommends activities and provides insider tips, which was very helpful. I do believe they will also book affiliate tours for you (Butterfly Balloons is their sister company).
-The grounds are gorgeous with multiple outdoor sitting/lounge areas by the pool, garden, reception area, and restaurant. Most of the time, you will see guests sitting outside as it is hard to get wifi inside many of the rooms.
-There is complimentary breakfast from 7:30 - 10:30 at the hotel with the option to participate in their complimentary daily organic breakfast at 8:30 in the valley. You get picked up by a wagon and driven 15 minutes into the valley. You do have to walk down some sandy steps, so I would recommend wearing sneakers.
-Every one of the staff members is friendly and helpful.
-The pool terrace is the perfect place to view the hot air balloons at sunrise.

If you are considering a stay in Cappadocia, I highly recommend staying at Kelebek. Just make sure you realize most rooms do not have a/c, so if that is what you want, double check with the hotel. Also, the hotel is hard to find, but if you can locate Butterfly Balloons on one of the main roads, you will see signs on the building direction you to Kelebek.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveler275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Kelebek was recommended to us by different people and we can now understand why. Our stay was excellent and with coffee and tea on the house, we just had to visit the outside sitting area often - and it was so special. Especially to watch the sun set over the magical valley. Breakfast was excellent. They organised the balloon flight for us and were also extremely helpful to help us with renting a car to explore Cappadoccia.They picked us up and dropped us at the Kayseri airport. Everything worked out as scheduled. It was lovely to have a drink at the swimming pool in the late afternoons and mingle with other guests. We will now also recommend Kelebek Cave Hotel.
If I may, I'd like to also give some constructive criticism: We stayed in Room 12 and the people getting up early for the balloon flights as well as people coming and going from the restaurant had to pass our room. The woke us up many times. Although the breakfast served at the hotel is stunning, the bun they give you when you go to the airport before breakfast (which you pay for) is absolutely without taste - no butter, a piece of tomato and a green leaf and that is all. I'm sure Kelebek could improve on that!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wannagoplaces2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful hotel for 3 nights. I loved my "fairy chimney" room and the views from the hotel are magical, especially around sunrise when you can watch the hot air balloons floating by. There is a beautiful garden and a very nice swimming pool too. One of the reasons I booked this hotel is because of their option to visit the family farm for an organic breakfast and a bit of history and I thoroughly enjoyed that excursion and the delicious breakfast. The food on the hotel premises at their restaurant was also delicious. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are lovely, quiet, comfortable, clean & beautifully decorated. Having been a professional massage therapist for over 20 years I must mention the excellent reflexology treatment I received at their heavenly Hamam. The airport transfers they offer are very convenient as well. Cappadocia is a very unique and special place and Goreme itself has a lot to offer. I highly recommend going on a hot air balloon ride. That was so much fun and wow...the views are spectacular. I hope to return to the Kelebek Hotel and bring my husband with me. He'd love it too.

Room Tip: I loved the fairy chimney room. I imagine all the rooms are nice though. It's a lovely hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#11 of 72 in Goreme
1,023 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 72 in Goreme
1,160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 72 in Goreme
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 72 in Goreme
934 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.0 mi away
Sultan Cave Suites
Sultan Cave Suites
#12 of 72 in Goreme
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing