We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super recommended!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
rome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at Kelebek for 6 nights. The staff was very kind and helpful. They really added value to our stay with lots of great recommendations. Do ask them for tips!
The hotel facilities are very good, with beautiful rooms (different depending on price, ask for their recommendation if unsure which to book), swimming pool, and restaurant. Breakfast is super, reliable fast wi-fi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berny_Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,173
    303
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
418
1,305
128
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My sister and I stayed at this hotel over the New Years Eve holiday. What a beautiful and magical place! The staff are amazing - very professional and speak English well. The breakfast buffet is great - a nice mix of western and turkish breakfast. We booked a hot air balloon ride and day tour. Both were excellent. The hot air balloon ride was absolutely magical and our tour with Mustafa was equally amazing. He is very knowledgeable about just about everything! He took us basically wherever we wanted to go. It was a lot to pack in in a day, but well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghana-go-quickly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My family of four stayed at Kelebek for three nights, and wished it could have been more. It was a wonderful experience from beginning to end. Ali the owner and Merk the manager were super helpful and such lovely people, as were all the other staff we dealt with. We stayed in a one-bedroom suite, (the kids slept in the living room on 2 rollaway beds), which was a very good size with an utterly enormous bathroom - all very elegant and well appointed. The buffet breakfast every morning was mind boggling - the range and quality of the Turkish food meant breakfast was never rushed! We got up at sunrise to watch the 70 + hot air balloons rising from the valley floor every morning - a sight we will never forget! Our room was cleaned beautifully every day and the property was delightful with a big rose garden, olive trees and spectacular views from the lovely little swimming pool and lounging area. Kelebek is a few minutes walk from Goreme town, and up a little hill, so the views from both sides of the hotel are wonderful. The Organic Breakfast trip to the Kings Valley, which they offer free to their guests, was one of the highlights of our trip to Turkey. We loved our stay here and would highly recommend this very special cave hotel for any discerning traveller.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plunksit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel ticks all the boxes, it has the most beautiful view of the canyons, from almost everywhere in the hotel. The rooms are charming and comfortable and are sprawled over different levels and caves so it feels quite village-y. The staff are lovely and attentive, keen to offer help and advice where possible. The breakfast was great and we were invited on a special 'organic farmers breakfast' one morning to the owners family's farm where his family had lived for the 400 years. It was so interesting hearing about the former Cappadocian life which has only changed from a purely rural village into a vibrant tourist destination in the last 15 years! The breakfast itself was amazing. The best menemen we've had along with other local delights and the setting was beautiful.

The only down point of the hotel (and it's sister hotel and restaurant) was that outside of breakfast the food served at was really disappointing. I can't really describe it anyway other than bland, which was at complete odds with the local breakfast we had already experienced. Maybe to cater for the broad range of tourists they dumb down the local cuisine so to appeal to everyones tastes. Which might be working as the restaurants were busy every night, it just wasn't for us. Although I think it's worth adding that the staff did try and offer me replacements when I barely touched my main but by that time I'd lost all hope.

So my advice would be to venture out for meals but for everything else this hotel is amazing!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatrix_Kiddo_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my staying in this hotel for 2 nights with my mum. Nice breakfast, helpful staff (btw, they r also good looking ppl :P) and thoughtful tour arrangement. We stayed at the room 115, I'm in love with the view from the terrace, the most beautiful sunset ever. Cave room is like one of those magic places out of the fairy tale. If you are looking for experiencing the beauty of the nature and escaping from the busy city life, this place is a wise choice. Also they have a very lovely pool and well equipped Hamman. I'm very fond of this place, will certainly be back again. Last but but not least, I also very enjoyed the rides. Start missing it.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mengqin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

One of those magical places where you just sit and stare at the wonders in front of you. If the hotel was merely a tent, table and chairs it would rate four stars because of the amazing views of Rose Valley in the mornings, sunset views in the evening and then spectacular night views.

Add to this the special hospitality of the staff, comfortable rooms nestled in caves and truly modern facilities and you have a 5 star stay.

We dined every night at the hotel just so we could continue to enjoy the amazing views. A glass of wine before dinner was a special treat.

One of the few locally owned and operated hotels in the area. We were given great advice about transfers, sightseeing and guides. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We use Trip Advisor all the time and were so thankful for the prior reviews of the Kelebek Hotel. We absolutely loved our four night stay there and had the chance to stay in two different rooms. The first three nights we stayed in Room 17 which was a cave room with terrace. It had a spectacular view of Goreme. The last night we stayed in Room 109 which was enormous and had a small balcony area that overlooked the rose garden. We loved both and were happy that we had the chance to stay in two different types of rooms.

The Kelebek is perfect for solo travelers, couples, groups, and families. I loved that it was a medium-sized property with so much to offer. The pool was a much needed retreat during the hot afternoons. We stayed at the Kelebek at the end of July and the sun and heat were intense. The pool was refreshing and we couldn't imagine staying in a Goreme hotel without a swimming pool especially for stays in the summer.

The breakfasts in the morning were abundant with many different types of items. But the best part was the organic breakfast that is on a farm a short distance from the hotel. That was a fantastic experience!

We ended up spending a lot of time at the Kelebek because it was so relaxing and comfortable. Even when we had planned to eat out for lunch or dinner, we often ended up eating at the hotel and it was delicious every time!

Thank you to the Kelebek staff for your hospitality and for making us feel so welcome! We will be sure to recommend the hotel to all of our friends and family members!

Room Tip: Room 17 has a terrace with an amazing view of the pool and Goreme. Room 109 is quiet and large. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dc10away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing