We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with amazing views”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We really enjoyed our three night stay at the Kelebek Cave Hotel. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and the manager would go out of his way to spend time with us each morning, planning a manageable route on the map and pinpointing the sites for us to visit. We had hired a car and he genuinely wanted us to enjoy the most from our stay, which we greatly appreciated. The breakfasts were delicious and the views from the terrace absolutely out of this world. Thank you for a thoroughly amazing stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnJ60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,190
    303
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
423
1,310
130
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The staff of the Kelebek Hotel were so pleasant and helpful during our stay (they went out of their way to accommodate our needs, kindly allowing us to shower in the Turkish bath even on the day we had checked out) Our cave room was charming and the extensive Turkish buffet breakfast was scrumptious. You simply cannot beat the view from their rooftop dining area. Gorgeous!

Room Tip: Cave rooms can't connect to the wifi, but they are charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Kelebek Hotel was pretty hard for us to find (Google takes you to the street just east of the one you want) but it was worth the twisting back alleys of Goreme to find this place. Great mix of older charm and modern amenities (not a huge flat screen TV thankfully but a solid, western-style bathroom which isn't to be assumed in Turkey).

The gem of this place is the deck overlooking the city. Drinks and a fantastic view over the whole of the valley which are great at night (although it can be chilly up there at that time) and to watch the balloons launching at sunrise.

Don't think you can be disappointed.

Room Tip: There is a wide variety of rooms (we have a big family and had three different types) ranging from q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PritzlB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Fantastic hotel, 1st class accommodation & food. It's like a living fairy tale, highly recommend the organic breakfast trip organized by the hotel but it's only suitable for active people due to some of the natural terrain & steps all around the hotel complex. The views from every angle of the hotel is stunning and changes throughout the day.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and have individual character and are sympathetic to origins of the '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is by far the best hotel in Cappadocia. The owner takes perfect care of his guests and everything is made to satisfy ones desires. I truly recommend trying the organic breakfast experience. It is definitely worth it.

Room Tip: The suites are amazing and one should try for a night the chimney rooms (though they do not have a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloe2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Everything about this hotel is wonderful - I can't praise it enough. The staff spoke excellent english which made it very easy to communicate both before and during the holiday. They arranged the transfer from the airport (€40) and then helped us to make the most of our stay which was only 2 days. They arranged the private hire of a taxi to take us to 4 different sights of our choice which cost 150tl and took approx 4 hours so we got to see all that we wanted without going on various tours which were expensive. They even arranged for a tour guide at Kayakli underground city to meet us at the entrance so it was all very easy. (you need a guide here to make sense of it as there is no signage underground and one room looks just like another but there is a wonderful history to the place). I highly recommend going on the organic breakfast as you get to see the area away from the crowds and talk to people who have lived there all their lives. Unfortunately lots of honey bees decided to join us for breakfast but it didn't spoil our enjoying the morning and they cooked the best menemen that we ate all holiday. At the hotel the breakfast is also wonderful and they have a honeycomb hanging up where you can cut a chunk off to eat - heaven! They were also very helpful on our last day. We were catching the 9pm bus so once we had checked out they let us use the pool and after we had visited the open air museum they let us have a shower in the Haman so we felt fresh for the journey. Although they quoted everything in euros you can pay in dollars,GBP and Turkish lira. You get a 10% discount for cash and there are ATMs a short walk from the hotel. They also give us a lift in the car to take our bags to the Otogar as it's a steep hill with cobbled stones so not easy to drag 4 bags down! Great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sneemacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at the Kelebek in mid-may 2014 for 3 days. The room we booked ( in the cheaper ones) was rather small, but that is what we expected, being a cave hotel. Seeing the pictures, i think the more upscale rooms are much bigger. This ended up being the best hotel we stayed at in Turkey. The manager, Merth, went out of his way to help us. At some point being ill, he came with me to see a doctor, accompanied me the whole way, took me to the pharmacy and he kept on inquiring about my condition, which improved drastically. That allowed me to do the air-ballon that i also booked there. Their sister company, Butterfly ballon was very good. In a country where deception if often used to lure travellers to book tours, everything Merth said was right on.

Apart from the room, the hotel was great. Good location, amazing views from the dining area, which as a very nice indoor seating area and outdoors. Having a drink there at night is just amazing.

Kelebek was also the first place to offer us a breakfast bag since we left too early and missed the breakfast.

You really make no mistakes by staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeeceebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#2 of 69 in Goreme
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#1 of 69 in Goreme
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#3 of 69 in Goreme
1,078 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 69 in Goreme
919 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing