We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most Lovely Hotel and Staff in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2009

I just returned from a 3 week trip to Turkey. The first week was spent in Göreme at the Kelebek Hotel and Pension. What a dream come true. The hotel is beautiful, charming, well-run and has probably the best views in the area, from it's spacious terrace. The staff are warm, friendly, sincere and welcoming. There is a beautiful garden in which to contemplate the landscape and gorgeous sunsets, and a little pool as well. I was traveling alone and felt right at home. I liked it so much that I came back for the last 3 days of my trip. I treated myself to a suite and I felt like a Queen. Number One with a Bullet.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FifteenMinutes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,062 - 2,068 of 2,626 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2009

Kelebek Hotel & Pension is a great place to stay while visiting Cappadocia - Goreme is a nice town, conveniently located for sightseeing the area. Cave rooms are unique: very nice, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is very good and served in a beautiful terrace with a great view of the area. Best of all, very friendly and helpful staff, who are there to ensure you enjoy and make the most of your visit to this extraordinary palce.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie-NYNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Me and a friend spend two nights in Kelebek hotel in June 2009. I found it on the internet and booked it on the strength of reviews. And we were not disappointed. We were bowled over by the fairry chimneys, and Kelebek was the perfect base for sight seeing. The hotel has the most amazing panoramic roof terrace in town and even if you never leave the hotel you will see a lot! We shared room 18 and it was huge and lovely. The pool was great. Go hungry if your budget is tight, but do spend money on the turkish bath in the hotel; absolutely indulgent and a experience to cherish. We did the $70 package and felt it was a bargain at the price. There are cheaper baths in town, but it looked grimy. Do try the restaurant at the hotel for the evening. The food was great and the view spectacular. The hotel shuttle from the airport was a great deal as well as the day tour to see the underground cities, fairy chimneys and hiking in the Rose Valley. We had a delightful guide, Godcha, and felt it was good value for money at 30 Euros each. One warning: if you are still going to Istanbul, don't buy any commercial ceramics at the ceramic shop on the tour. Similar items sell for a fraction of the price on the street and in the bazaars in Istanbul. If you are interested in more unique stuff it might be fine. We had a incredible time at Kelebek and I would love to return. The red house wine, "Velvet", was great.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anet55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

Recently I stayed at the Kelebek Hotel in Göreme, and can recommend the experience: The view from the various terraces over the city and the valley are superb, the building and the rooms offer a “boutique” / “historic” hotel experience, staff is both relaxed (“here’s your key, come back tomorrow for check-in – you must be tired”) at the same time attentive and helpful, and the breakfast caters for pretty much every taste.

Some more details:

There are three basic room types – standard, deluxe and suite. I stayed in a deluxe room on my own and found it adequate for one person, but struggled to imagine sharing – go for a larger one if you can afford it (I met other people who did just that, after a night in a smaller room). Being a historic building it is difficult to find complete privacy – you are likely to hear your co-travellers coming and going. As seems to be typical for Turkey, it is also not possible to darken the rooms completely (the curtains are translucent), to if you are (like me) sensitive to light you will want to go to bed early – you will wake up with the sun…

There are two computers for free internet access, plus free wi-fi in the common areas; public toilets and a locker room allow you to stay around if you are leaving later in the day (i.e. overnight bus). Somewhat under-used, there is a beautiful and relaxing garden at the “back” of the house (the side facing away from Göreme), looking over further “fairy chimneys”.

Breakfast is notably above the normal fare in Turkey, offering both the typical Turkish fare and some more European tastes (cereals; chocolate spread!); the restaurant was in my view as everywhere in Turkey (i.e. neither better nor worse, and not more expensive than other tourist restaurants, either), and offers – apart from the typical kebabs and köfte – a daily special so you don’t have to repeat. You can also buy mineral water at the same price as in the shops in the village – safe yourself carrying it back up the hill…

As for getting there, the hotel is happy to organise transport to and from the airports (Nevsehir or Kayseri) for you; it is slightly (1 or 2 Lira) more expensive than through the airline offices, but saves you the hassle of doing it yourself. If you arrive by bus, it is easy to find from the central square – there are signs on almost every corner to take you there, and it’s just a 5-minute walk (up the hill, though).

If you are interested (thankfully no hard selling), staff will explain the tours offered by the hotel to you (no surprises – they do tell you where they go, including the “commercial stops”); I took the tour that included a visit to one of the subterranean cities, and thoroughly enjoyed it – the guide was both knowledgeable and entertaining, the group was small (in our case 6 people; according to staff limited to 8…10), we saw a lot and the tour was adapted to our requirements (some had to be back early, so they were picked up some time through the tour) – and all at a cost that would be difficult to beat going individually.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KasoViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Stayed in room 14

Pros - nice room, great staff, good breakfast. Free apple tea or turkish tea at all times. Nice to lounge around outside

Cons - would be nice to have wireless in the rooms. This is available in the lounges upstairs but not in the rooms. Would be nice to have some rugs on the floor because the floors are cold. Water splashes around the toilet area after shower. Should have a barrier. No TV in room

A good stay other than the minor cons.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eteo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

My husband and myself stayed at the Kelebek, in a Suite, in early May. Upon arriving, we were welcomed with a traditional Turkish tea, and a nice chat with Hassan who went over a map of the area and suggested things we might want to see/do. He also arranged our hot air balloon ride for the following morning.
Our "cave room" was unique, clean and comfortable. Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. We had dinner at the hotel one night and the food (and wine) were fantastic.

Our experience in Goreme was wonderful, thanks to staying in a great hotel with helpful people.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Kelebek Hotel in Cappadocia, a magical and miraculous part of the world. The rooms, built into the caves, are unique, very cool, and unlike any other place you'll ever stay. The location, right above the town center, is very convenient, and the views from the various terraces are lovely. The on-site spa was surprisingly lush and offered great services. Best of all, the staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. Huge special thanks to Hassan, who volunteered his own time to lead us on a hike through the Love Valley and was a super, sweet and fun guy. And enormous thanks and good wishes to Mustapha who led us on a guided tour of the many sites of the area and who was extraordinarily knowledgeable, engaged, and kind; he really made our trip special. Very highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ENNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 78 in Goreme
1,149 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 78 in Goreme
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 78 in Goreme
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 78 in Goreme
1,048 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#15 of 78 in Goreme
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#1 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £53 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing