We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #7 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Kelebek may not be the cheapest stay in Goreme, but it's totally worth it. They have a wide variety of rooms at different prices to suit most budgets. The staff was friendly (including an adorable puppy), and they came to the bus station to pick us up when we arrived at 4:30 am. The breakfast buffet was vast and delicious, made even better by the gorgeous views of balloons rising in the distance.

We stayed in both of fairy chimney rooms and they were both magical. We preferred room 6 to 5 because it had a bit more room. Just FYI, these rooms do not have an attached bathroom, so you have to climb down a fairly steep staircase to reach the bathroom. Not only were the fairy chimney rooms pretty inexpensive (35 euros per night), but it was such a unique experience that we will never forget.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,031 - 2,037 of 2,650 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2010

The setting of this hotel was beautiful and the location was perfect, the walk to town was a sort 5-10 minutes. The staff was excellent and helped us plan everything as we had a short amount of time. The food at the hotel was very good with an intimate setting. My only compliant was that although the room was large it was freezing cold with no way to warm it up. Granted we were underdressed for Capadoccia after spending a week on the coast, the only place we could warm up was the Hamam which was very clean and had excellent services.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank United787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

I chose one of the suites with fireplace and city view and was not dissapointed. Falling aslep by the fire was magical. The breakfast was plentiful, but mostly Turkish foods though you can order custom omlettes, etc. The hotel is up on a hill so you have wondeful views of Goreme and Uchishir and the walk to "downtown" Goreme is about 10 minutes. I also arranged a tour with the hotel, was very personal and worth the fee. Also, the staff were wonderful, I don't remember hearing the word "no" for any request I had. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesrion99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

Most reviews were good and this hotel was as reviewed. The staff was great and catered to our wants and needs. The food was good with a great breakfast...eggs cooked to order and lots of Turkish choices. We booked the 1-day tour and the guide was exceptional. A varied day of hiking (3K) with visits to underground city, pottery factory and wine tasting. A 10 minute walk to town (20 min. uphill coming home) was manageable. There were taxi's in town. The deluxe room was small with our luggage on the floor, but it was very clean and complete. Very good decor of local flavor. Their Golden Retriever made us a little homesick, but he was well behaved. A snowy close to our visit was perfect and beautiful!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

My friends & I spent one night at the Kelebek Hotel

=======
PROS
=======
1) THE VIEWS
Kelebek Hotel overlooks a valley of fairy chimneys & a mosque. Magical, beautiful.

2) THE HAMAM
NOT TO BE MISSED!!! there is nothing to do at night in Goreme, so why not try the hamam located in the Kelebek Hotel? Without question, the hamam experience (Turkish Bath) was an overall 10 day highlight of Istanbul/Turkey. The spa experience rivaled the best spas in Hawaii in terms of relaxation & delight. The spa staffers worked very hard to make our experience amazing, and they succeeded!! (side note: later we brought other friends to a hamam in Istanbul; and the KELEBEK HOTEL hamam was 1,000,000 times BETTER).

3) THE BREAKFAST
If you woud like eggs cooked to order, all you need to do is ask. DELICIOUS coffee. DELICIOUS food choices (eggs, french toast, breads, cheeses, meats, yogurts, fresh fruits, dried fruits, pastries, cookies, juices) and wonderfully kind & attentive staff

4) NO CAR? GOREME IS GOOD TOWN AS BASE FOR AN OVERNIGHT
Our small group had no car; but we could walk from the hotel down the steep hill to the town center for a GREAT lunch at ALATURCA, and walk to the Open Air Museum. did not need a guide & saved $$. However, we did use a guide the next day for a private tour to see more of the Cappadoccia region & it was necessary to have a vehicle to see the sights.

=======
CONS
=======
1) WALKING BACK TO HOTEL FROM TOWN IS EXHAUSTING
I agree with other people who warn that this hotel is a very STEEEEEEP hike from the town center. You really don't want to do that a few times a day, both because of the time it takes to walk & it's exhausting. GREAT suggestion someone else made if hotel could offer a shuttle at night back/forth to town

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bdmBoston_Mass_Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in a suite. The breakfast area for the "suite" guests were right outside of our rooms in a nice garden overlooking the mountains.

Besides breakfast we spend most of our time away from the hotel. At night we find it kind of inconvenient to go between the hotel and Goreme. It is at least a 20 min walk. There are some street lights but they are not well lit. We saw a few hotels that looked really nice from the outside and were closer to Goreme town center. Also, this hotel is located on a hill... there is an uphill climb if you walk back.

Breakfast is good. And we had dinner there as well one night which was also excellent.

The owner was friendly and took the initiative to greet us.

Overall impression was excellent. We like staying there but it would be nice if the hotel can arrange transportation into the city center for hotel guests.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank badkao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

The location was very good. The staff were very friendly and spoke good english. We stayed in rooms 18 and 19 and they were of perfect size. We were able to view the other rooms (the big suites) and they were to die for! Breakfast is simple but good. They will make you eggs if you request for it. They have a tour agency within the premises of the hotel and for 30 EUR per person you can go on a day tour in Cappadocia inclusive of lunch. Definitely worth staying at.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 77 in Goreme
1,171 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 77 in Goreme
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#14 of 77 in Goreme
492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#1 of 77 in Goreme
1,313 reviews
0 mi away
Sultan Cave Suites
Sultan Cave Suites
#15 of 77 in Goreme
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#1 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £50 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing