We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place in the land of the fairy chimneys”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A beautiful place in the land of the fairy chimneys”
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We loved this hotel. Our room was cozy with a fire place. It was a cave room, but outside the world was sunny. The staff was excellent, the place very relaxed. We had delicious meals. Goreme is such a strange, special place that we found ourselves just spending much of our free time at the hotel, eating, relaxing. We travel a lot and couldn't recommend this place more. And very affordable! And nice hamam with terrific staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadgirlBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,211
    304
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
429
1,318
131
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

I stayed at the Kelebek Hotel from March 22 to 26, 2010 and had a wonderful memory there.

When planning my trip, I once thought about the high-end hotels in the area that cost more than 150 Euros per night and the cheap ones that are less than 50 Euros. During the trip, I had the chance to visited many of them as they are all in close vincinity. And I am glad I chose Kelebek, which is a perfect value and balance of what you pay and what you get.

Upon arrival, I was greeted by one of the satff members Hassan at the gate, who nicely introduced the property, city of Goreme and its surrounding area and explained details of the tours I booked. All the tours I booked with them were very well organised and planned out. The guide Adem was especially helpful and courteous.

The room (#19) was simple, clean, cozy, and full of characters. I was very happy to come back to a room like that after a day's tour, for the price of 56 Euros per night.

I also tried the spa package with hamman, massage and facial. The hamman was very relaxing and recommendable. Massage service was pretty standard. The facial was not really any formal treatment but a simple mask and rinse.

The hotel is prefectly located in Cappadocia. One can hike to the Goreme Open Air Museum within 20-30 minutes and the town of Goreme is very close to major sites by car. As other reviewers mentioned, the hotel is located on the hill and will require some climb-up (5-10 minutes) from Goreme city center. But I think it's a pleasant exercise and in the end you will be rewarded by the great review from the hotel terrece.

Though most hotel staff do not speak English, they are all nice and helpful. It is a well-organised business so you get the efficient and reliable services. What makes it a great place to stay is that you also feel the family-style comfort and intimacy. You might find yourself chatting with the staff casually at the terrace, sipping complimentary apple tea with fellow travelers in one of many cozy areas/rooms and pet the cute golden retriever Aleks, etc.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WandererFantacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Absolutely charming hotel with wonderful views over Goreme and the surrounding countryside. It's one of the best value hotels I've ever stayed in, having paid 40 euros for the kind of room and ambiance that would easily cost three times as much in the West.

The staff is on the busy side but polite. The rooms are lovely and the unique nature of the hotel, incorporating the old caves into the modern, architecturally friendly, buildings, with stepped terraces that offer wonderful views, means that the Kelebek is an unique, one of kind place.

Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tally15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Although you have to climb a bit to reach the pension, rooms offer a great landscape of Goreme. The personnel was very welcoming and helpful. The pension is a cave house, with rooms that were well-furnished, traditionaI and comfortable. If you want to stay in Goreme during your magical Cappadocia trip, Kelebek Pension looks like the best.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eda_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

All the reviews have said most of it. this is a great place to stay. There are not many hotels you can stay at that you have a open fire in your room! Staff picked us up and dropped us off at the bus stop for no cost. Breakfast on the terrace is stunning. Rooms are of high quality with the most comfortable bed in a long time and we travel a lot.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

I stayed at Kelebek with a friend for a two night stay. While the hotel was very quaint with a good location, the room accommodations were lacking in basic comforts expected of a hotel at this price level. When we booked, two individual rooms were not available so we were suggested to stay in one of their "larger" rooms. We agreed, requested a second bed be placed in the room. The extra bed was a very uncomfortable roll away cot temporarily located in the middle of the room. The room's bed wasn't much better as the mattress was more a futon quality than a true bed mattress. We paid over $135 US per night for this room so we were disappointed with the lack of comfort of the beds.

While the hotel staff worked very hard to meet our needs, the property manager seemed unapologetic that we spent two very restless and uncomfortable nights at his hotel. The first night we were awoken at 4 am by people getting ready to depart for an early flight and the second night, we were awoken at 3 am by a group of drunken guests who were taking flash photos and laughing right outside our hotel room. We called down to the front desk and they immediately went outside and requested that the group quiet down but we still spent another sleepness night.

All in all, we found the property full of character but it wasn't a comfortable stay and we likely would choose a different hotel to stay at the next time.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank globegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

From the moment we arrived to the time we reluctantly farewelled Cappadocia, Kelebek was a perfect, fantastic, amazing place to stay. We booked after reading reviews online and in guide books and happily they are spot-on. We were greeted by the manager, Hasan, the most friendly person we’ve ever encountered in such a position. He spent 30 minutes with us, chatting about the place, recommending tours and familiarising us with Goreme’s out-of-this-world geography.

Our cave room (104) was equally impressive, with a beautifully appointed sitting room, large, atmospheric bedroom and huge bathroom with separate spa and shower. Little windows overlooked the valley and in the mornings hot air balloons would drift past, almost at eye level at times, and a little tray of Turkish delights sitting on a coffee table in our room was a very nice touch.

The breakfast terrace and lower lounges have the most amazing views of Goreme, especially as the sun sets over the crazy rock formations – it’s just one of those places you have to see for yourself to really appreciate, no matter how many photos you’ve looked at.

All of the staff were wonderful, hard-working and friendly, from management to the lovely people working in the restaurant. The hotel is in a great location overlooking the valley, built amongst the fairy chimneys and an easy walk to town … but just far enough away to be out of the main tourist stretch. About the only people who might be better off somewhere else closer might be those who can’t manage the reasonably steep walk back up each day (though taxis are available).

We also did a day-tour through Kelebek, which was excellent. Our guide, Levent, was brilliant and interesting, and knew so much about every place we visited. The only downside was a so-so lunch at a very touristy Turkish restaurant. A ceramics gallery where we stopped had beautiful work, though you might be better off actually buying similar pieces elsewhere (their stuff was about 3 times the price of most other places we visited). All up though we thought it was definitely worth doing the tour as a lot of the things we saw, like the underground city, would have been difficult to really appreciate without a guide, and the group was limited to about 12 people so it wasn’t crowded.

The hotel is certainly popular with people from all walks of life and from all across the globe, and it has a constantly good vibe to it. Its popularity means is can sometimes be difficult getting on one of the internet terminals though – perhaps our only tiny gripe with the place (hardly an issue really!). Goreme was the highlight of our trip, thanks in no small part to Kelebek and the people who work there so we couldn’t recommend it enough.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing