We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easily the coolest hotel I've ever been to” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Easily the coolest hotel I've ever been to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

What a place! We only had time to stay one night, but it was easily the best place my mother and I stayed on a two-week vacation to Italy and Turkey. The restaurant (where they serve the impressive free breakfast) was just lovely with a view of the whole valley of Goreme. The place truly seems like something from a fairytale. Our room, one of the caves, was clean and comfy, and now we can officially say we’ve slept in a cave. It felt luxurious and magical, and that price! It was ironically the cheapest place we stayed. We drove in from Ephesus (a great drive) and got a little lost trying to find the hotel on the narrow winding streets of Goreme. But we stopped in the main square and half the town seemed to stop what they were doing to help us find it. The hotel was a great launching point for seeing the sites, and I’m sure the staff would be very helpful setting up tours and activities for folks with more time.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizNewsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,175
    303
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
418
1,305
129
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

There are a lot of cave hotels in and around Goreme, Cappadocia. We stayed at the Kelebek Cave Hotels. It was great! We had initially planned to stay in Cappadocia for one night, but you will need two nights to take it all in. We wanted to experience the Turkish Bath at some point and the spa at the Kelebek hotel arranged a private session for us – they are called Hamams. The customer service is awesome. We were able to extend our stay by one night without any hassle. They have free breakfast at this beautiful lounge overlooking the entire town and free wifi. The hotel will also provide local transportation to the Goreme Open Air Museum as well. They have a sister hotel right next to it which opened the week we were there, so you have options. The kitchen is open 24/7. There is a pool and a great restaurant attached to it. I hear the food there is really good, so somebody will have to try it and write a review about it.

The hotel will try to sell you their own tours which is not a bad deal for your money, but if you want options walk down to the town center. There are a lot of tour companies there.

Here is an insider tip – we taught the local pizza (Pide) place the concept of delivery and they ended up delivering Pide’s to our hotel. It’s down the street from Kelebek (down a really steep hill) and ask for Ulysses. He is really awesome and for two Pide’s and delivery (totally sufficient for four) it was only 10 Lira. They don’t have a delivery menu, so we pre-ordered and asked Ulysses to deliver after our spa appointment. Worked out great.

Cats - harmless for the most part but they are everywhere so please take note of that.

Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pogo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

Two friends and I rented Ian's House (a cave house affiliated with Kelebek hotel). What a great experience! It's huge, really cool, and would be great for a large family or group of friends. We were able to have breakfast at Kelebek for 5EU each a day which is a deal! The breakfast rocks. Best of all are the people who work at the hotel. Pinar is one of the girls who works there and is such a sweet person and hard worker! Neat area of the world to visit!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cari37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

The Kelebek driver was waiting at the arrival gate with a friendly greeting, hadn't realized quite how far the Nevsehir airport was from Goreme. On arrival at the hotel Hasan greeted us warmly offered us tea and took the time to explain life at the Kelebek. After getting us settled Hasan asked us what we hoped to do for our 4 days in Goreme...his suggestions and advice were brilliant, he helped us plan an itinerary that gave us the best introduction to the diversity of the area and as it turned out was great value for money. The hotel itself is esthetically fabulous it's better than the photos, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the food is great and the staff are fantastic. Huge thanks to Pinar who looked after us on the terrace each evening, her genuine friendly approach and easy smile was greatly appreciated...made us feel like we were staying with friends. The view from the terrace is spectacular add that to the general vibe of the Kelebek and you have one very relaxing place to unwind after a big day of exploring. We were catching the night bus to Antalya on our last day so the guys looked after our bags and provided us with towels so we could take a shower and freshen up before we left. I will definitely come back for another stay at the Kelebek the experience was brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hendricks11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

I HIGHLY recommend this hotel. We were visiting for the first time. After spending time in Istanbul, we were tired and had fallen sick just when we flew into Nevsehir. Kelebek was an absolutely fantastic place. Hassan, Mustafa and all others are very knowledgeable and helpful. The hotel is wonderfully decorated in traditional Turkish style - you can tell that the owner(s) love this place just by the thought that has gone into designing this hotel. The views are gorgeous, the breakfast is very healthy and nice with a lot of choice. The pet dog is very friendly. The tours are easily organized (only in one tour we felt that things could have gone better). Overall, we really enjoyed our stay - Goreme is a great place to visit and Kelebek is a no-brainer choice if you want to enjoy your viist. They will take care of you from the airport pick-up to the final drop off. (We stayed in room 15 which we really liked.) Also - some reviewers had complained about the "uphill walk" etc to the centre of Goreme. I was concerned about this, but really, the walk was nothing.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ap09Wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed at Kelebek Hotel for 4 nights in June. The hotel has been tastefully created to blend in with the extraordinary landscape. There are fantasic views whichever way you look. There are lots of steps to negotiate - some quite steep which could be a challenge for anyone with mobility problems. We stayed in Room 19 - a junior cave suite. The room was great. The only drawback for us was that it opened out on to the pool so was a bit less private than other rooms. The staff were charming and really helpful.
I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone visting Cappadocia.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suejdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

I would highly recommend this place. Lovely rooms, good food and the staff are extremely helpful. They arranged a couple of things for us - a balloon trip and a day tour and both were great. The hotel has a lot of character, and helps you experience the real magin of Cappadocia.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sandra032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing