We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay at the Kelebek!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Kelebek while on honeymoon in Cappadoccia. The hotel is beautiful and very well located. The hotel's rooftop seating area- where breakfast and tea is served is gorgeous. The views are breathtaking especially during sunset. The hotel also owns a restaurant nearby which served very good food- we were surprised about this as we thought it would be geared towards tourists and not so good but we were wrong. But the best part has to be the incredible spa located at the hotel. The facility is beautiful and clean and the services are amazing. The two hours that we spent here rank in the top 5 experiences of our entire trip. My only complaint is that the room we stayed in- number7- looked bigger online and the bathroom was tiny. However, there is so much to do and see in beautiful Cappadocia that we did not spend too much time in our room. I would recommended this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peaches934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,947 - 1,953 of 2,626 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2010

Our family (with two kids, ages 13 and 9) and another family (kids of similar ages) stayed at the Kelebek Hotel for three nights in August during our visit to Cappadocia. The hotel is at the top of the hill in the town of Goreme and has fantastic views of the town and the valley below, including the famous "fairy chimneys", the moutain ridges in the distance and the fortress at nearby Upschia. The hotel, which was formerly a haven for backpackers, is a quaint, charming, higgledy-piggeldy conglomeration of rooms, set into caves (a little dank for my taste), old stone buildings and fairy chimneys. Because the terrain is on a hillside and part of the hotel is dug out of the rock, each of the rooms is unique in set up, furniture and design. The hotel has a small pool (very popular in the evenings after hiking), a hammam (which we didn't make use of as we ran out of time), lovely gardens and a variety of terraces from which to enjoy the beautiful surrounding views. It is also equipped with Wifi and internet (much to the joy of the kids, who would hang out in an alcove above the restaurant, furnished with carpets and cushions), with a fabulous view and play games late into the evenings). The staff, particularly Hasan, were wonderfully helpful and offered some terrific organized day tours of the area. The two we took were both given very high marks from our kids. Breakfasts are included at the hotel are are buffet syle, with typical Turkish fare, plus cereals. We ate dinner in the hotel one evening and the food was really good.

The town itself is a great location from which to visit the sites of Cappadocia, including the Goreme Open Air Museum, the underground cities of Derinkeryu and Kaymakli, and for hiking in the valleys (.e.g. the Rose Valley) and in the Ilhara Gorge. It is also a centre for hot air ballooning, an activity which is very popular amongst toursits (for good reasons considering the incredible views). The areas is great for anyone, young or old, who loves outdoor activites, such as hiking, climbing, clambering around in caves, mountainsides, gorges and underground cities.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMW1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

I would say "worth the splurge" if it was twice as much. As it is, I can't believe how great it was for such a reasonable price. We had a suite for 90 Euros a night and it was fantastic. I know there are many cave hotels in town but I can't imagine that any could be nicer than this place. It's a cave so I guess it's a little dark, but other than that it is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in! Bathrobes were comfy, the bathroom was spacious, service was friendly, the breakfast buffet was well-stocked. We had a little fireplace in the room with enough wood for a fire that lasted about an hour. Were there any negatives? Well, the room wasn't perfectly ready when we were ready to check in. It was pretty hot in there so we left our windows open and came home to a cat in our room (that was pretty funny actually but wouldn't be to some). We were left a few pieces of turkish delight on the coffee table but once we ate those the supply was never replenished. Other than that, the only negative I can think of is that for mobility impaired people this wouldn't be a great choice. There are several sets of stairs in the complex and there's a pretty steep walk uphill from town.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheophaniaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This Hotel is very accommodating. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. We were able to schedule all other activities with the hotel staff. The booking for the hotel was easy and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillHill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Staying at the Kelebek was almost surreal as if there really were magic carpets rides and after such a journey you'd really want to stay in a beautiful cave hotel! The Kelebek had everything... comfortable cool rooms, fabulous food! (we also ate at the restaurant of their adjacent hotel which was by far the best food in Turkey!)The staff was great including the folks at the full service tourist agency Turkey Heritage Travel located right on the premises! The pool was a perfect oasis after a hot day sightseeing...and the hamam was excellent!
Its definitely worth the long journey to get to Capadoccia and staying at the Kelebec made the whole experience devine!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santababs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We spent 2 nights in Kelebek hotel, and we felt very comfortable here. The website was very helpful, so we already new our room number. The room was cosy & clean. We used the facilities including free internet access, there are also two available posts, and we enjoyed the pool after one day trekking. The hotel is a mix of traditional and modern designe and the deck and lounge are comfortable. The breakfast was very good. Also it is located in good hight in Goreme and the view is great. Staff are friendly and very professional. It is a hotel I will remember as a great place for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azadeh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

The Kelebec Hotel manages the nearby Goreme Cave House Rental. During our stay Kelebec staff and the manager were very welcoming and helpful. We also had use of the hotel facilities including free internet access.
Our stay at Goreme Cave House was wonderful. In just four days we felt as if we had settled into a traditional village neighborhood, with the sound of roosters and milk hitting a plastic bucket in the morning.
The house is a short way up a cobblestone lane and overlooks Goreme and the amazing formations throughout the town and valley. The Cave House is a perfect mix of traditional and modern with a traditional stone court yard and cave rooms contrasting with a modern kitchen and bathrooms. Very comfortable.
The cave house is large enough for several family members or friends to have their own bedrooms with plenty of room to get together in the kitchen, on the deck or in the comfortable lounge. Also the individual rooms can be rented, although the rate for the house as a whole is quite reasonable.
Goreme itself is a nice blend of traditional Turkish village and tourist amenities including several very good restaurants. Geographically, it is in just the right spot as a base for exploring Cappadocia

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Kentgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 78 in Goreme
1,149 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 78 in Goreme
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 78 in Goreme
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 78 in Goreme
1,048 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#15 of 78 in Goreme
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#1 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £53 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing