We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE place to stay in Cappodocia!”
Review of Walnut House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Walnut House
Ranked #32 of 77 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville
1 review
“THE place to stay in Cappodocia!”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff that went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Breakfast was the best we had throughout three months of travel. Located very close to the centre of Goreme, this is the perfect location to explore surrounding valleys Heritage sites. Staff also offer free tea when you are waiting for any tours or balloon rides.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djaovnieds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    68
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
71
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Literally 20m from the bus stop. Amazing breakfast. Run by the owner who went out of his way to help us. Gave us free breakfast when we arrived and excellent advise on sites to visit as well as free coffee and shower long after we checked out

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

From the moment I made the reservation until the evening I left for Pamukkale, I felt at home. Before leaving Qatar for my vacation I had received an email from Merdan giving details on tours and hot air balloon rides and even info on airport shuttles. He arranged my shuttle within a few hours of me calling from Istanbul. He also arranged for my tour of the underground city and supplied the voucher for the hamam.
The hotel is in a good location and close to all shops, restaurants, bars, bus station and even the hamam. Rooms are clean and very comfortable and cool enough without aircon - a must in Qatar! The garden is great to relax in, with the company of the family cats, after doing a few hikes in the valley and the view from the terrace when having breakfast is great.
I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Goreme, Turkey.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I stayed in Walnut House in july 2nd week for 2 days and I had an excellent time. Its located at walking distance to bus station and very convenient to reach if you are taking an overnight bus to Goreme. The rooms are very spacious and clean. Some people might find the bathroom small but its very neat and clean. There is a small garden in front and you can relax there. The WiFi worked very well both inside room as well lobby and garden area. The young owner of hotel Mardan is very hospitable. I interacted with him a lot and he happily answered all my queries about life in Turkey. He arranged everything from Balloon ride, Valley tour and Shuttle to Airport. I would go to an extent and say that it doesn't feel like staying in hotel but to a friend's home. I would recommend this hotel to both solo travelers as well as family/couples.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MakrandTravelDiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago de Compostela, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Walnut house is a perfect place to spend a few days in Capadoccia. You feel at home from the very beginning. Free tea, advice on tours... whatever you might need.
Rooms are clear, big, clean and very comfortable. And it has a beautiful garden where you can rest after your walks in the area. Breakfast is served in a terrace with wonderful views. Their omelettes are the best. Do not doubt in trying it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We recently stayed in the Walnut house...... The hotel is really nice, clean and tidy.....The owners are really really hospitable.... We were offered free breakfast on arrival which was good.... The young owner was happy to help us out with everything we really needed....The location of the hotel is excellent and just 2 minutes walk from the bus station....

The only drawback (which is not a big one) is that the hotel is not really a cave hotel but the interiors are designed to give the feel of the cave hotel...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiptoe007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We didn't have a booking when we arrived late into Goreme but we were so glad we wandered into the very conveniently located, Walnut House. The young manager welcomed us and nothing we asked him was an effort...his favourite saying is "as you like" or, " treat this like your home" The room was spotless and a real treat. Breakfast is served in a lovely area at the back of the pension and in always accompanied by lovely relaxing music. We were able to head off each day and come back and relax in the garden with a bottle of wine that we bought somewhere else, but it was cooled for us in the hotel. Our wonderful ballooning experience was also organised from the hotel without any fuss and is a must do even though the recent accident has people a bit worried. We decided to leave one of packs and head off for three days....no problem storing gear. The Ilhara Valley Gorge walk is a must if you have time. On our return, our room was ready and just a lovely as the first visit. Walnut House is a great place to stay in wonderful Goreme.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbjimsamjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#33 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon View Hotel
Canyon View Hotel
#26 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maccan Cave Hotel
Maccan Cave Hotel
#16 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Tribal Cave Hotel
Tribal Cave Hotel
#56 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koza Cave Hotel
Koza Cave Hotel
#9 of 77 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melek Cave Hotel
Melek Cave Hotel
#48 of 77 in Goreme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walnut House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut House

Property: Walnut House
Address: Orta Mah. Uzundere Cad. No:6, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Walnut House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel which has beautiful examples of old stone workmanship, opened it´s door to it´s guest in 1989. In the course of time, our hotel rooms were beautified and widened by the family members. Our family business consists of two buildings. When you get up, you can start the day with tasting fresh tomato and cucumber in our hotel`s backyard and then you can have traditional breakfast in our terrace accompanied by spectacular views. Also you can enjoy the view of fairy chimneys and start to day watching the balloons in the early morning. At the end of the tiring day, you can have a shower in your hotel room which has hot water 24 hours and you can enjoy the view by sitting in our terrace. In your hotel`s garden which has beautiful colorful flowers, you can read your book and you can drink your coffee after the tiring day. In this garden you can pick up walnut from walnut trees which has 25 years. And also the hotel`s name comes from this historical walnut tree. In our lobby which has traditional oriental corner and is decorated by a craftsman with furnitures made of walnut trees which has more than 200 years, you can pass wonderful time at all hours feeling comfort and tranquility. If you want to get culture, history, scenery, happiness, calmness and tranquility all in one in Cappadocia, you are in the right place. Do not for get here is your home in Turkey. This is a place where you can feel like you are in your home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Walnut House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walnut House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing