We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captivating Cappadocia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel
Ranked #19 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We were visiting Turkey in August. We stayed at the Doors of Cappadocia Hotel. This is a 4 star hotel at a very reasonable price. Doors of Cappadocia is strategically located next to top flight restaurants, hikes, and balloon rides. If you are an adventurous individual or couple, Doors is the place to stay. After a day of trekking, cool off in the infinity pool with fantastic vistas. Enjoy!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
7  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PERİHAN Ç, Genel Müdür at Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the services provided by our colleagues.We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our services and facilities.We have shared your comment with the teams and they are equally happy to hear that you had a super stay with us.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
There are newer reviews for Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Like you are probably doing right now, I poured over TripAdvisor, Bookings.com, and spoke to everyone I know (and don’t know) in order to build the perfect itinerary for my trip to Turkey. After a wonderful week and a half 1st time visit to Turkey, I am proud to report that I did pretty darn good… That said, I’m going to pay it forward and make your search easy for you… By way of background, I did 3 days in Istanbul, 2 days in Cappadocia and 4 days in Bodrum then back to Istanbul for on final night. I flew Air Pegasus within Turkey. I suggest you pre-book hotel transfers from each airport (just call your hotel a couple days before your arrival and request a transfer - some charge, some offer a free service).

My stay in Cappadocia was perfection thanks to the Doors of Cappadocia. I was able to book all logistics for my stay from the U.S through the hotel Concierge (a wonderful gentleman who I later met named Vehbi). We stayed in a junior suite. It was a spacious room which perfectly blended the rustic Cappadocia cave hotel experience with clean and very modern minimalist finishes. It looks as dreamy as the pictures on the website. The hotel also features a rooftop infinity pool (awesome as it gets very hot in Cappadocia). My girlfriend unfortunately fell very ill during our stay in Istanbul (prior to our arrival in Cappadocia) so we were unable to do the Hot Air Balloon flights but from the rooftop we were able to watch the Hot Air Balloons take flight in the morning and this was equally enchanting; in fact, the view was so magical that I proposed to my now fiancé on their rooftop at sunrise! Thank you Ozge for being so helpful during our stay and for welcoming us into your home - Doors of Cappadocia is very lucky to have you. Also thank you Vehbi for taking care of all the logistics leading up to our arrival and for helping me prepare for the proposal. Both of you and the hotel itself, made our stay ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL and I look forward to returning. Quick checklist: hotel is modern and clean yet has all the charm of the famed cave hotel experience characteristic of Cappadocia. The hotel is walking distance from everything including the restaurants, ATV and car rental stores, and souvenir shops. The air conditioners work well, the swimming pool is a nice plus, the bathroom far exceeds expectations, and the bedroom and living rooms are very well sized (I can only speak for the suite). The hotel will book anything and everything you need for your stay from airport transfers to Hot Air Balloon tours. The only potential drawback is that the check-in receptionist office is located on top of the property and so upon arrival you have to climb what feels like a small mountain of steps to check in (small price to pay). I CAN SAY WITH CONFIDENCE THAT YOU WILL LOVE YOUR STAY - especially if you opt for a junior suite. 5 Stars without a doubt!

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NYCVacationer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PERİHAN Ç, Genel Müdür at Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the services provided by our colleagues.We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our services and facilities.We have shared your comment with the teams and they are equally happy to hear that you had a super stay with us.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

After two weeks touring from Istanbul , We had the best experience of Turkish hospitality at Doors of Cappadocia. Yavuz and his staff couldn't have been more helpful , and the facilities are outstanding . Rooms are stylishly appointed , and the rooftop restaurant, pool, and deck with 360 degrees views is just spectacular . I strongly recommend this to any Aussies coming to Turkey .

Room Tip: Just ask the staff what you desire . There are cave rooms lower down, but we enjoyed the suites high...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PERİHAN Ç, Genel Müdür at Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the services provided by our colleagues.We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our services and facilities.We have shared your comment with the teams and they are equally happy to hear that you had a super stay with us.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Doors

Let's get this right out of the way: as a concept, this hotel is very nicely designed around a courtyard, with lots of stairways (pack lightly!) and twisting stone corridors. The pool on the top level is very small but the view is wonderful and the sun chairs are comfortable (parasols would be a plus, given the scorching heat). Globally, the pictures you see on the web do reflect what you can expect to get, at least at first glance.

Our room was very nice and spacious, solid stone with vaulted ceiling and miniature fireplace, a bit dark, of course, but with a big man-height window opening on the inner courtyard... But wait a minute... it does NOT open? Ever? And the nice stone terrace beyond it is not a terrace at all but a passageway where other people walk while they peek into our bedroom, so we must keep the curtain drawn at all times, and bye-bye to the light and the nice view over the courtyard? Now THAT's a surprise...!

And speaking of surprises, what about those power plugs that are associated with a light switch (no issue there) but are also fed power by the said light switch, so that when you insert your phone charger into one when going to bed, and then kill the light, when you wake up in the morning your phone is dead because you unknowingly killed the power to the plug at the same time? Now THAT is clever engineering too...!

Along the same line of thinking, one might also mention the plastic, functional tray equipped with a kettle. The fact that the tray rests atop a small fridge plopped unceremoniously onto the (nice) flagstone floor instead of being hidden in a cabinet could also be mentioned, but more significantly, one cannot miss the fact that there is... well, NO power plug within reach (unless you wanna chance unplugging the fridge?). So, you have to take both the kettle and its base to some other plug somewhere in the room... and make sure you don't forget to turn on that switch, otherwise the kettle will never boil, no matter how long and hard you watch it.

And --wait: I was over-criticizing, there IS a pair of INDEPENDENT (yes! the gods be praised!) power plugs... except they're right by the bed on your partner's side, so don't use any of those to boil the water in the morning or the noise will wake her up... Mmmm... Aren't we now back to square one?

The nice stonework is also marred here and there by thick pencil marks of where the stone should have been drilled to install a light, or of the contemplated frame of the bathroom door that ended up narrower (see photos). The bathroom itself, although cavernous (but that's the name of the game of course), is roomy and nicely designed with a large stone shower. Too bad the towel hanger has been half-destroyed and not repaired, it now hangs dejected and almost useless from the wall (see photo). Too bad as well that some previous guests found it apposite to write their names on the wall, graffiti-style, which apparently escaped the attention of the staff. True, some other wrote up an addition on another wall, but hey... this is the Orient! (see photos).

Most of those are irritating quirks and flukes (well, except the non-opening, look-through "window") that you might want to overlook in different circumstances, but that are hard to forgive considering how much you're being charged for the room. And by the way, ONE dose of shower gel in a double room is NOT enough (didn't I just mention room charges?). The next day, we had two, so I thought it had been an oversight, but the day after there was NONE and we had to ask Reception for some... and the markings on some of those little bottles are so rubbed off that it looks like they've been repeatedly reused and refilled, and this was a first for us as well! Let me also add that things could have been a lot fluffier on the towel front.

After such a litany, the fact that the washbasin's faucet is mounted the wrong way, so that it supplies hot water where cold should come out, and also the fact that the close up mirror is unusable because it won't stay in place, having not been mounted vertically, are mere trivialities.

The bed, while not very wide, is OK and of good quality... but why scrounge and give only two pillows? That's one more trip to Reception to ask for more.

The wifi works, albeit not very strong nor very fast, avoid this hotel if you depend on it professionally or otherwise. One wishes the same could be said about the air conditioning, because without any openable window and the natural buildup of humidity in a troglodyte habitation, you'll need powerful air conditioning to chase away the warmth and the dampness... unfortunately, even at its lowest setting, our Turkish machine was not really up to the task (it paired nicely with the anaemic hair dryer!).

Breakfast is served in a very nice room with great views, but remains very basic, Turkish things of varying quality and some days they have what passes for sausages. Don't be too late for breakfast either (limit is 10) because there will be no more water in the boiling machine... Which doesn't matter much as they will have run out of tea bags too! By the way, it's the Lipton Yellow kind, so bring yours if you're a connoisseur, unless you want to sample the fruit-flavored kind --yuck for me.

Finally, they say on booking.com that there is free private parking and that is NOT TRUE. There are 2 or 3 spaces in front, and with 17 rooms in the hotel, not counting the neighbors, they are always taken, so you end up parking at the bottom of the hill and walking your way back up!

Final, final note: the personnel are in general very nice (except at management level where they tend to exhibit the familiar holier-than-thou attitude, don't say hello, don't say goodbye), and even though they don't speak English very well, one manages to get by with gestures.

In summary, hotel premises and location are wonderful, but there is a lot of room for improvement where amenities, hotelier craft and the art if making guests welcome are concerned. One may be better off at one of the less expensive places in Goreme.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Blue_439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PERİHAN Ç, Genel Müdür at Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the services provided by our colleagues.We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our services and facilities.We have shared your comment with the teams and they are equally happy to hear that you had a super stay with us.

Thank you for all that you have made criticisms. The graffiti in particular has not been deleted, they all have separate memory except you never bothered anyone in your. But just because she was bothering you just cleared. For the cables behind TV, there's nothing we can do in the hotel and in all areas, historical stones used to make any modifications on them no chance of hiding into stone, bathroom towel hangers from our attention to escaped, they changed. However, I wish that the technical issues you told us while staying at the hotel.We are a new business, missing only 3 will be our annual, but here it would be more sincere that you told to ...Constructive criticism would be. We publish them here was to develop.

Thank you for your understanding.

See you again ... ....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

we were excited to stay in a beautiful hotel like doors of cappidocia but their reception staff was very unhelpful and cold. Firstly, we were promised a cave room but we were given a regular room and then in the height of summer the room's air conditioning wasn't working. And when we complaint about it, the person at reception started an heated argument with us and asked us to go and look for another hotel!!
finally after a lot of argument they shifted us to a different room. Post that our stay was nice and comfortable but the initial arguments and unhelpful staff left a bad taste in the mouth!
otherwise the hotel had a beautiful decor and nicely done up.

Room Tip: Advice- please be 100%sure if you are being given the room you have been promised by your travel age...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Gurjeetkaurheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PERİHAN Ç, Genel Müdür at Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA on Tripadvisor.

The new 3-year and yet we are in line with the criticisms that you have made to our business are completing missing. However, your room air conditioner related work was not such a situation. All our rooms have the air conditioners are very adequate and we have received complaints from you for the first time. The front desk staff could do with a change of hotels it has been in line with your request. Also, as a hotel guest satisfaction, we take very seriously, be happy just to say your room has been upgraded for free on Suite room..
Thank you for your comment wrong...

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the services provided by our colleagues.We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our services and facilities.We have shared your comment with the teams and they are equally happy to hear that you had a super stay with us.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed at this Hotel for 3 days in July and loved every moment. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Situated in the Village made it easy to walk around. Breakfast excellent, room spotless, pool beautiful with outstanding views. Very friendly and helpful staff. Goreme is the best Village we saw in the region. This was a highlight of our trip to Turkey.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PERİHAN Ç, Genel Müdür at Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the services provided by our colleagues.We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our services and facilities.We have shared your comment with the teams and they are equally happy to hear that you had a super stay with us.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I had 3 nights at this most magnificent hotel and I absolutely loved it. The hotel is only a couple of years old and it is magnificent. Not big. Beautifully constructed and decorated and luxurious. It is very calming and peaceful and extremely comfortable. My room was amazing with character features and decorations.
The staff were fantastic. Vehbi and Koray and owner Yavvz were very helpful and attentive and supportive.
I highly recommend this hotel to all travellers

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Southaussiemate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PERİHAN Ç, Genel Müdür at Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the services provided by our colleagues.We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our services and facilities.We have shared your comment with the teams and they are equally happy to hear that you had a super stay with us.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.2 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 78 in Goreme
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 78 in Goreme
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#1 of 78 in Goreme
1,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 78 in Goreme
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel

Address: Orta Mahallesi Mizrak Sokak No:11, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
#12 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#18 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £54 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel Goreme, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing