We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The three beds room with private bath was great”
Review of The Dorm Cave

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dorm Cave
Ranked #40 of 75 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
172 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“The three beds room with private bath was great”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed in the three beds room with private bath at the Dorm Cave in early May. At 95 euro per room for two nights, it was the best deal in Goreme at the time. One advice, through the dorm Café, booked the pick up and drop off service from and to the airport. It is worth the 20 Lira one way per person. Other tours including the balloon ride can also be done through the dorm cave. No commission at a lower price than listed. Good deal.

Our room was situated at the top right corner of the facility. Very clean and comfortable. The private bathroom is adequate and modern. Except for a one time dogs barking and the usual call for prayer at night, the area is pretty quiet. No complains.

the free Turkish breakfast served every morning at the top deck on sunny day was just over the top.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlowAdvanture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    27
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
24
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I stayed here for only 1 night. I wished i could stay longer but my schedule was really tight. This hostel was awesome. The dorm was clean, there were enough power outlets for every bed and the bathrooms were really clean! The room was also cosy at night. If you are coming to cappadocia and you are not sure about where to go and what to do, worry not. The hostel guy, Cevat can help arrange everything for you when you arrive. Cevat was kind and friendly enough to help arrange for a hot air balloon tour for me and my roommates and he also helped book the green tour for us. Breakfast is served upstairs on the terrace. You can walk to Goreme town in 2-3 minutes to find restaurants and shops, and buy souvenirs if you like. Walking to the bus station also should not take more than 5 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Localtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I stayed here two nights. The accommodation in the dorm was simple, yet elegant because it is built into the side of a hill/cave. The exposed stone and tile are very nice. There is heating so we were comfortable during the chilly nights. The courtyard gives access to restrooms and showers and free breakfast and lounging are on a charming terrace overlooking the village. Staff members are knowledgeable and helpful.

If you're flying in from Kayseri, ask them to arrange a shuttle and you should be able to get it much cheaper than waiting until you arrive where the taxi drivers are almost criminally expensive (as with any such small airport).

Overall wonderful experience and a great place to meet an extremely diverse bunch of travelers if you're traveling alone.

Room Tip: I can only vouch for the dorms, which are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This place Is great to stay on a budget. The staff is friendly and the dorms were quite clean (we stayed in a 14 bed dorm room). The heater worked wonderfully and even the bathrooms had heated floors! The breakfast was quite decent and the roof-top sitting areas don't offer the best view but they are very relaxing and enjoyable. Coffee and tea was always available. WIFI was really reliable. They even held onto our bags for us for the day after check out. This place is great if you don't really need a whole lot but want to be in a good location. We met lots of great people there! I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Since I was traveling in low-season, I did not expect to find many great places to be open in Goreme. Fortunately The Dorm was open and you just couldn't beat the price, location, friendly service and comfort.

The hostel has both dormitory beds and double rooms, both were a great value - I chose to stay in the dorm since it was half-empty, but filled up later. The dorm was immaculately clean and well-designed. There were plenty of electric outlets so people could charge all their devices. Free wifi is available on-premises. There are several bathrooms/showers, all of them extremely clean and nicely setup.

Breakfast was awesome, as others have described here, pretty large plate with both sweet and salty produce. No complaints there.

I'd definitely stay here again, the service was professional and friendly, I felt very comfortable here. Great value.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribeirão Prêto, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

For a city like Goreme I am pretty sure that this hostel is one of the best over there.
The staff is very nice, the bathrooms are clean and warm. The bedrooms are warm and cozy.
They book some tours from there, I did some of then and was very nice.
Cons: The breakfast is a bit poor, but OK.
I recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodrigoFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barquisimeto, Venezuela
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Excellent hostel.....very well located, close to everything......staff very kind and nice.....it has a wonderful terrace to share with other fellow travellers....Good price......very clean....good breakfast.....internet facilities......I recommend it......

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#29 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sarihan Cave Hotel
Sarihan Cave Hotel
#58 of 69 in Goreme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garden Cave Hotel
Garden Cave Hotel
#42 of 75 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nirvana Cave
Nirvana Cave
#20 of 33 in Goreme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Terra Vista
Hostel Terra Vista
#11 of 33 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Stone House
Central Stone House
#4 of 33 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorm Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorm Cave

Property: The Dorm Cave
Address: Goreme Kasabasi Orta Mah. Hafiz Abdullah Sok. No:4, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your The Dorm Cave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dorm Cave Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing