We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, homely and great service”
Review of Emily's Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emily's Cave House
Ranked #58 of 76 Goreme B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Emily's Cave House. The couple who own the hotel are beautiful people and it almost feels like a B&B with the type of familiar interactions you have. The room was a nice change, and has everything you need -- just no TV, which isn't really needed in this town. The bathroom is great, and there is wifi in the main dining/living room. Like I said, Mahmet and his wife were really sweet and easy to talk to, and helpful. They also have an adorable English Pointer to play with.

Room Tip: The bottom right room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamishta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

The hotel is very nice, it's a bit difficult to find in the beginning but later on it's ok. It's operated by owner which very nice and helpful. We had very nice time during stay and best breakfast during we stayed in Turkey in many places. They also provided service for laundry with cheap price which was very good for us which were stay in Turkey for more than a week. The Cave room which we choose was not small compare to other hotels we stayed in Turkey and it's comfortable for our family. We actually forgot our important bag after checked out. But, we notified few minutes later. We headed back and found the owner already on his way with our bag.

Like it and want to share with you guys.

Room Tip: Cave rooms are not small as you may expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prachayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Stayed here Sept 2012.
cant compare it to other cave houses,as we have only stayed in this one,but based on our impressions,would stay there again.clean and comfortable,convenient location,and great staff.(very helpful,English-speaking not a problem).Had a nice,small-hotel feel;in fact there may only be 3-or-4 rooms? Maureen assisted us ably in planning a drive-tour (in our rental car) of the derinkuyu/ Ilhara valley/ agzikarahan caravanseray area...and with reservations for ballon trip...(having done the latter,,I can't honestly say it was worth it;i know I am in the minority by saying this,as everybody gushes about it,but I think its overpriced and underwhelming.I'd reccomend it at half the price,but i.m.h.o., i thought the caravanseray at agzikarahan,and finding a 4000 year old hittite underground village were vastly more valueable experiences than the morning float..but I digress).Maureen is a great resource and valueable asset to the cave House,and Essin truly touched our hearts, we think of her whenever we think back to Goereme.Access is by a short,but rough little road that the elderly,or drunks in high heels will have trouble with...walking distance to all things in town,yet quiet.Good value for money,with no negative attributes,that we experienced...we are fit,active,50 y.o.'s from Vancouver,who travel a lot.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This place was perfect: the price (really cheap for the room they gave us), the cozy and clean room (inside the rock, romantic atmosphere), the turkish breakfast (very rich and prepared at the moment) and the helpful owners. No doubt that if we are back in Cappadocia we will stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2, which was really nice. The others may be some smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed three nights at this wonderful cave hotel. The hotel is small and cozy, has a small living room with TV and WiFi, a dining room and two terraces. There are five large bedrooms with large bathrooms, dug into a fairy chimney. The breakfast is hearty and well served.
Well located in a peaceful and quiet street close to shops, bars and restaurants. The owners, Mehmet and Esin, are always helpful and caring, and welcomed us as if it were in their own home. They gave us lots of tips, for example go the point of view of the town of Goreme, tips about good bars and restaurants, and also told us about restaurants that give discounts and catch us at the hotel. Any eventual failure of communication in the English language on our part and theirs, was overcome with mime, google translator and a lot of sympathy and good sense of humor!
I recommend Emily's Cave Hotel to anyone wishing to have a great experience in a charming cave hotel in the friendly Goreme's city. If you appreciate the personal touch, this is the place! You will be welcomed by lovely and very likeable people!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielaDatas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I had a great time in this small hotel. It is perfectly situated , walking distance from every place in Goreme, and transportation available for every other sightseeing place in capadoccia. The room was impecable, clean, cosy and modern considering it is inside a cave. The staff was absolutely 5 stars, friendly and very helpful. Highly recommend, and if i ever go back to Capadoccia i will stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Punchpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Our stay at Emily's Cave House earlier this month was, simply put, amazing. The location is great, on a quiet side street but still just a very short walk to anywhere in Goreme. We stayed in one of the cave rooms, and it was fantastic. Huge and well-lit, with an enormous bathroom and shower. It's not an exaggeration to say that a normal-sized person could stretch out their arms in the shower and turn 360 degrees without hitting any walls, at least in our room. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. Perhaps the biggest highlights of our stay at Emily's though, were the people who worked there. The couple who run it, Mehmet and Esen, are two of the nicest, friendliest, overall best people we met during our time in Turkey. They were always available to answer our questions and suggested things to do during our free day in Cappadoccia. Mehmet, who is from Goreme, was a valuable source of information. On our last evening in Cappadoccia we had a late flight back to Istanbul, but even after checking out in the morning, when we returned in the evening we were given the option to take a shower in our old room, and we were invited to have dinner with them. Bottom line: book a room at Emily's Cave House and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.4 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 77 in Goreme
1,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 77 in Goreme
967 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#1 of 77 in Goreme
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#14 of 77 in Goreme
489 reviews
0.5 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#19 of 77 in Goreme
616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#12 of 77 in Goreme
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emily's Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emily's Cave House

Address: Gaferli Mahallesi Muze Cad. Goynuk Sokak No:12, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Emily's Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing