We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Marvellous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocak Restaurant

Ocak Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 99 Restaurants in Goreme
Price range: US$9 - US$43
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We offer you most authentic Turkish dinning experience right in the heart of Göreme. We are open everyday 6am-1am. You can see the stunning view of Göreme's famous sunrise and sunset right from our garden patio. All our food are carefully prepared with the freshiest local ingredients. Our guests are important for us, they are like brothers and sisters.
Melbourne, Aus.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply Marvellous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

A little tricky to find Ocak but follow the signs and keep walking up and up because it will be worth your while. Family restaurant with warm and generous hospitality like no other we've experienced in Turkey until today. Mother and father cook the most delicious food with love and care - daughter and son are so sweet and all want you to be happy and to feel good in their home. Massive portion of grilled chicken, rice, vegetables and salad after we'd already given in to the invitation to eat the lentil soup (fabulous) and mixed appetisers (included free). Then mother came out with some pilau to try (melt-in-the-mouth) as an extra treat. We foolishly thought we could fit in dessert and ordered two - almost had to roll home down the hill, we were so full. Mother and daughter met us outside to say farewell and even gave me a gift of handmade earrings and allowed a photo to be taken. Everything was superb. Highly recommended. VERY reasonably priced - we ate a HUGE meal for hardly any money. Thank you so much Ethem Polat and Family.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank deb1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethem p, Yönetici at Ocak Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello Beautiful People.
I hope everything's good.
Thank you very much for your valuable comments.
I hope to see you again.
Get everything their hearts desire.
Sincerely, Ethem and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    33
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Smiling family, good food, enjoyable experiences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I and my husband went to Ocak in June two time. It was just an unforgettable memory. Though we just noticed Ocak has so higher rating in Tripadvisor, anyway, they are deserved to have good comments because they always wanted to serve us the best by whatever they could. We know their name from the staff of Turquaz hotel, just next to Ocak. After we dropped our luggages to the hotel, it was so late at night. Thus we went to Ocak because of it convenience and family style. We were the first customers at the time. It was a bit cold but we still wanted to sit outside. They tried to keep us warm by keeping on adding woods in the stove. The set with rice, wheat and lentil mix soup was tasty, especially the soup. The beef kebab was tender and delicious. Though the taste of traditional pasta was quite special to us, cold and bit sour, you could still have a try. The most impressive one was the two pieces of cakes filled with walnuts made by her wife as compliment. Even we could not finish all the desserts at once, they were still yummy after two days in our trip.

On the last day we stayed in Goreme, we visited them second time before our overnight bus to Pamukkale. We asked them if they could make something for us to take away. Finally the couple and the another guy worked together to pack us two delicious luchboxes with grilled veggies, Turkish sausages , rice and bread. We felt so warm to be served by this family. It made our day.

Helpful?
Thank Nh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethem p, Yönetici at Ocak Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello Beautiful People.
I hope everything's good.
Thank you very much for your valuable comments.
I hope to see you again.
Get everything their hearts desire.
Sincerely, Ethem and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food was delicious, home cooked meal with lots of meat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We heard this restaurant was good, but with construction may have been hard to find. One of the owners came by motorbike to lead us to the restaurant. The seating was on the flat roof, and we felt like we got an authentic meal with great service. The restaurant overlooked a residential area. We ordered a traditional meal that was cooked in a ceramic pot. It was excellent and I was surprised how much meat was served. It was delicious.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank momstaxi1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethem p, Yönetici at Ocak Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello Beautiful People.
I hope everything's good.
Thank you very much for your valuable comments.
I hope to see you again.
Get everything their hearts desire.
Sincerely, Ethem and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“An unforgettable experience! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This was the kind of food we had expected to find all over Turkey but until now had eluded us.
From beginning to end the meal was faultless as too was the hospitality shown by the family that runs and owns this gem of a restaurant.
After being seated and an explanation of the menu we were offered a wonderful array of dried fruits, pickles, yoghurt and cheese with fresh baked warm bread. This was such a tease for our taste buds.
Next up we tried the stuffed capsicum, green bean salad and sautéed spinach. Again each having their own unique flavour.
For mains we tried the sausage. Wow! What an explosion of the senses. Spicey and so packed with flavour that it was hard to stop eating to leave room for the next dish. The house specialty. The lamb tandoor. Succulent pieces of lamb slow cooked in a wood fire oven with a well balanced amount of fragrant spices and vegetables.
This was all wasshed down with a wonderful local Cappadocian Syrah that we picked from the 'wine list'. A display of each wine set out on a table.
So please if you are in beautiful Goreme Ocak is a must visit.
Thank you for such a memorable final meal in Cappadocia.

Helpful?
Thank Asgre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethem p, Yönetici at Ocak Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello Beautiful People.
I hope everything's good.
Thank you very much for your valuable comments.
I hope to see you again.
Get everything their hearts desire.
Sincerely, Ethem and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food and genuine service ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Having lived in Goreme for a month and explored many eateries, Ocak is one of the best places to enjoy home cooking and Anatolian hospitality. Sitting next to an open fire, I felt like I was eating at a friend's house not a restaurant.

We ordered lamb kebab, green beans, dolmas (stuffed peppers) and baklava. Everything was delicious, and the baklava was unforgettable! Once you've tried these home-made goodies you would not want to have the commercial ones ever again!

If you are visiting Goreme, make sure you drop by Ocak to experience and support their philosophy of serving simple and genuine food.

Helpful?
Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethem p, Yönetici at Ocak Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello Beautiful People.
I hope everything's good.
Thank you very much for your valuable comments.
I hope to see you again.
Get everything your hearts desire.
Sincerely, Ethem and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocak Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ocak Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing