We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding local food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocak Restaurant

Ocak Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 99 Restaurants in Goreme
Price range: US$9 - US$43
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We offer you most authentic Turkish dinning experience right in the heart of Göreme. We are open everyday 6am-1am. You can see the stunning view of Göreme's famous sunrise and sunset right from our garden patio. All our food are carefully prepared with the freshiest local ingredients. Our guests are important for us, they are like brothers and sisters.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I wandered up to Ocak in the early evening, hoping to eat an early meal then walk up to the point to watch the sunset. There was no one else around and they were still setting up but gladly accommodated us. We had a lovely meal of pottery kebabs with fresh bread and accompaniments. Some of the best tasting food we ate in Cappadocia!

Helpful?
Thank KitKatClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethem p, Yönetici at Ocak Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hello venerable friend.
Thank you very much for your valuable comments.
I hope you get everything your heart desires.
I'll see you again in the future.
You all are very good,. We love you too.
Take care of yourself.
Sincerely.
Ethem and OCAK Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    33
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must go!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

What an amazing restaurant! The strong husband brought the big pan full of (super delicious) lamb kebab to the fire, from their on the lady put it on everyone's plate. It was no surprise that people quickly changed their order to lamb kebab when they saw and smelled the pan.


Next to the food, the people were very friendly. Also the view and ambiance (next to the fire) made it an unforgettable night.

Helpful?
Thank Emil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethem p, Yönetici at Ocak Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hello venerable friend.
Thank you very much for your valuable comments.
I hope you get everything your heart desires.
I'll see you again in the future.
You all are very good,. We love you too.
Take care of yourself.
Sincerely.
Ethem and OCAK Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Authentic cuisine, great hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Looking for a last place to dine in Goreme, we realized that Ocak was just a few steps from our hotel. We got there as the sun was setting - lovely.

The family (owners) were very welcoming and attentive. The daughter\servers brought over a tray of wines for us to explore. The mother brought over some special treats - tasted like chocolate and a fresh herb in a crepe - totally delicious. The sons started a fire in the pit when folks were cold - a bit smoky but warming.

My husband and I agreed that this was our favorite local experience. The food was tasty and nicely prepared - seemed very authentic rather than touristy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LynneMH_3818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethem p, Yönetici at Ocak Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hello venerable friend.
Thank you very much for your valuable comments.
I hope you get everything your heart desires.
I'll see you again in the future.
You all are very good,. We love you too.
Take care of yourself.
Sincerely.
Ethem and OCAK Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must visit - great food, incredible hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Picked us up from hotel
Opened the restaurant and served us food at 3 pm
The best tasting beef and lamb claypot kebab we have ever had - cooked in a large clay pot rather than the small gimmicky ones
It is a family restaurant serving incredibly tasty local food

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepak R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethem p, Yönetici at Ocak Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hello venerable friend.
Thank you very much for your valuable comments.
I hope you get everything your heart desires.
I'll see you again in the future.
You all are very good,. We love you too.
Take care of yourself.
Sincerely.
Ethem and OCAK Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic service on a rainy night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We enjoyed a couple of local wines and a tasty beef dish while enjoying the view at the top of the hill up Aydinlii Socak. When the wind and rain started they quickly ushered us under a covered area and then finally onto a lounge with blankets to enjoy a local tea. The people here are warm, welcoming and friendly and it was a shame we ran out of time to visit again

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolumKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethem p, Yönetici at Ocak Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hello venerable friend.
Thank you very much for your valuable comments.
I hope you get everything your heart desires.
I'll see you again in the future.
Take care of yourself.
Sincerely.
Ethem and OCAK Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocak Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ocak Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing