We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere with terrific food”
Review of Ocak Restaurant - CLOSED

Ocak Restaurant
Price range: US$9 - US$47
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We offer you most authentic Turkish dinning experience right in the heart of Göreme. We are open everyday 11.50am-11.50 pm. You can see the stunning view of Göreme's famous sunrise and sunset right from our garden patio. All our food are carefully prepared with the freshiest local ingredients. Our guests are important for us, they are like brothers and sisters.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere with terrific food”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had good home cooked food in this restaurant with wonderful views of the chimneys. The menu was a little limited but that was not a problem. We saw the sun set and the owner lit the fire, whilst the waitresses brought lit hurricane lamps to each table. A truy wonderful experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    33
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Vicitm of its own success”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We went there by accident as the other place was closed. There is great view from terrace.We were positively surprised by small menu which is changed daily.
Place is runned by family. It is kind of guesthouse with organic food. After we came almost whole place filled with tourists and people without reservation where not accepted. Our expectations based on this huge traffic went high. We had a grilled sausage which was ok, little to hard but maybe it was because of lamb? Grilled chicken was very good but served almost cold as they had small problem to organize orders. Homemade pilaf was simple and without character. Salad was dominated by parsley which made it too dull. Local wine for 40 TL was finally something good, smooth and light. Overall I appreciate local, small approach to cuisine. There is a lot of effort there but to be honest the final product doesn't reflect this. I have tried similar or not better food in those "touristic" restaurants in main street of Goreme. It's worth going but do not expect too much then u will be fine.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Home made food”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Aunty who served us barely knew few words of English. Her limited menu wasn't helpful either but her food was so organic, simple and delicious that it made up for all the shortcomings. Delightful setup and genuinely kind hearted cappadocians. Please do go for a home feel and good food. A welcome relief from the tourist food we were eating elsewhere in turkey.

Helpful?
Thank Saumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
türkiye
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“A must in Göreme”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

If you look for beautiful service and delicious meal, the best address for your expectations is Ocak. After we get in restaurant we feel like we are visiting their house and having meal together. And after the meal and tea service we thought yes it is. Thx and bon appetite to everyone...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack5daniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely service and an incredible location”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We loved this place, but the food could have been a bit more interesting. It was delicious, but not particularly flavoursome (as far as Turkish food goes), however we were told by many locals that due to tourist palates being what they are, it has become impossible to find real Turkish cuisine in Goreme - even down to the restaurants avoiding using salt! A really nice place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocak Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing