We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rent a Scooter!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cappadocia Hitchhiker

Cappadocia Hitchhiker
Ranked #42 of 78 Outdoor Activities in Goreme
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It is a quad/scooter/bike rental that also offers tours. The place is in Göreme, next to the bus station.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rent a Scooter!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

On the first day of our trip in Cappadocia, my fiance and I did the hot air balloon ride and a hike through some of the beautiful landscape--so for the second day, we were craving something a little different. We decided to rent a scooter from Hitchhiker and boy was this THE way to see Cappadocia! The scooter was very easy to learn and Cappadocia couldn't be easier to navigate. I highly recommend going out into the landscape and getting some wind in your hair. We went to a beautiful cliff that overlooked Cappadocia that we wouldn't have went to otherwise. Ask your hotel the best spots reached by scooter, and rent one. It's an adventure.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    10
    10
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really fun ride, service could've been better!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Our hotel arranged for us to take a 2hr ATV tour with Hitchhiker. We got off to a nervous start when the gentleman who picked us up didn't say anything to us, took us straight to the office in town and made us sign some indemnity forms. The owner (i'm guessing) made the effort to come from across the road to greet us. Then the same guy who picked us from the hotel gave us VERY basic instructions on how to work the quad bike, and we were very unsure of what we were doing as none of us in the group had ever ridden a quad bike, and we weren't sure how the tour would go. And very soon, off we went! I was very nervous at first, but luckily I got the hang of the vehicle quite soon. Our 'guide' took us to different locations, didn't speak much English. He was young and friendly though.
I think the company can spend a bit more time getting to know customer's level / ability to handle the vehicle, give some introduction of what to expect, and then only get going. This would give the customers some confidence.
Nevertheless, going on the ATV tour was one of the highlights of our trip to Turkey / Kappadokya - highly recommended activity! Because we left at 2.30, our 2hr trip ended with watching the sunset from a point just in front of the rose valley. Beautiful.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mimimiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Intermittent fault on ATV we hired”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We hired an ATV for 4 hours. We had a great time, but after 3 hours there was an intermittent fault with the engine shutting down 3 times before we couldn't get it started again and walked back to hitchhikers. The mechanic drove us back and it was working again by then. No apology or refund offered for the time on the ATV we missed out on (though we also didn't request it).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mugen8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice 2 Hour Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

The 2 hour 60 usd tour was nice it gives you a nice layout of the area. If your looking for an exciting tour on an ATV it was not. It was a slow trudge through the valleys. The guide is just that he guides you through the valleys and stops tells were you are only and to take pictures and climb around a little he does not give any historical background on the things your looking at. Also it must be said the the equipment has seen better days kind of beat up my brakes would stick another machine in the group stalled every time he stopped. Overall I would do it again. They also provided wine cheese and bread at the end which was nice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BJGfrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Two hours of great sights and fun riding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Our family of 4 including 18 yr olds had a great time. Riding can be challenging with hills and downward slopes, but great fun. We saw the rose, red and love valleys from the top of the escarpment. Great views of the area we walked though yesterday. Well worth it and lots of fun.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank richo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cappadocia Hitchhiker also viewed

 

Been to Cappadocia Hitchhiker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing