We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Place in Turkey!”
Review of Chelebi Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chelebi Cave House
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Place in Turkey!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This review is long overdue, as we stayed in late August 2013.

Eric and I enjoyed our 4 nights in Goreme immensely. Brothers/Owners Ishmael and Harun were our most hospitable hosts in the 3 weeks we stayed in Turkey. Upon our arrival they set us up in the room we reserved, and seeing that we were exhausted from the journey, offered us an afternoon snack of fruit and cheese-which held us over until dinner. Our room was really nice- such a unique hotel stay. We stayed in a cave room-a bit chilly as expected, which made the experience all more exciting. The bed was a little firmer than I am used to, but I slept great every night. Breakfast was awesome every morning- traditional Turkish breakfast, which I could never get enough of.

Harun and Ishmael will offer you all the chai you could ever want, as they are always looking to make you comfortable and show their kindness. All of the restaurants they recommended were delicious, some of the best food we had during our stay.

The hotel location is ideal, as Goreme is a great jumping off point for hiking and sight-seeing in Cappadocia. There were hours of amazing vistas and cave churches and dwellings from the hikes we went on straight from the town. No rental car needed.

The one day “red tour” we went on per their recommendation was well worth the about 100 lira, and allowed us to explore a larger area without worry about renting a vehicle, etc.

The hot air balloon ride was by far our best experience, and had Harun and Ishmael not talked us into it, we would have missed out on one of the top 5 adventures in life thus far. (Up there with Uluru in Australia, Hiking the Banaue Rice Terraces in the Philippines, and seeing the Pyramids of Giza).
What more can we say? There are so many cave hotels in Cappadocia; it can be overwhelming choosing one. We usually take a chance on a place that only has a few reviews (I think they were open only a few weeks before our stay)-and we are so glad we did! Chelebi Cave Hotel gave us an amazing experience in Cappadocia!

Ishmael and Harun, we wish you success with your business! It was a pleasure getting to know you during our short visit, when we think about Turkey we will think about your hospitality and the stories and memories we shared at your hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a cave hotel experience, request one of the cave rooms, both are gorgeous. Want a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    37
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
94
300
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

In my opinion this is a 5-star hotel, and we did not pay, nor could we pay, a 5-star price. The rooms are large and elegantly and comfortably decorated in a traditional Turkish and Greek style. The curtains are a dignified, somewhat aristocratic pattern. The rugs, presumably Turkish, are transcendent, on the authentic stone floors. The overall affect is quite stunning. The bathroom is large and elegant, and of course big, fluffy cotton towels are provided. Really, it is hard to beat this hotel no matter where you are. I guess it adds some ambiance when you wake up and see hot air balloons floating outside your window, just above the volcanic fairy chimneys that are millions of years old. Ismael is a great host and enthusiastically he helped us explore one of the world most amazing places. Book this hotel and you will remember it!

Room Tip: Room # 3 was our room - "Zümrüt" is the name of the room and it is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnclePen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We've travelled a lot, but this hotel blew us away. We stayed in the Seyyah room (Room 1), which is the nicest room in the hotel. It is a cave room with a giant bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub (our only tub in a month in Turkey).

The room has an area in the floor (covered with a piece of glass) where the fire used to be. It also has a seating area which was used for crushing grapes. There was so much history in the room, and it was so cozy, we just wanted to hang out in there even though there was so much to see/do in Gorome. Thankfully we had enough time to do both.

The staff was also extremely friendly. One day we ran into them eating some homemade "pancakes" (stuffed with cheese...) that some older ladies next door had just made. They insisted on sharing them with us. Of course, they were delicious.

Since this hotel is also on Booking.com, confirm your booking immediately if you're dealing with the hotel. Otherwise, you might miss your chance.

Room Tip: Seyyah (Room 1). Other rooms also looked very nice if you are on a tight budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdPaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

My husband & I recently spent 3 nights of our honeymoon at Chelebi cave house. We absolutely loved it - the hotel is incredibly beautiful, with tasteful but opulent furnishings and a great view across Goreme's fairy-chimneyed skyline from our first floor window and the rooftop terrace. Our room was huge and very comfortable - we were sad we had to leave to come to Istanbul.

The hosts, owners Harun & his brother Ismail really made our stay in Cappadocia. They are both charming, warm and attentive. They booked tours for us and helped us to explore the region independently by directing us to some little-visited local areas. They also made a real effort to make our honeymoon special, arranging and paying for a romantic meal for us at a wonderful restaurant in town (I think it was called the Anatolian Kitchen).

The daily breakfasts we had at Chelebi were the best we've had in Turkey with generous servings, fresh produce and beautiful presentation.

We highly recommend the Chelebi Cave House - it is a top quality boutique hotel and has very reasonable prices. We urge you to book in before it fills up and enjoy it!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We spent 5 days in Göreme and 5 nights at the Chelebi Cave House with Harun and
Ismail (smile :-)). This family run business gives you a warm welcome from the first minute. Harun, Ismail and their staff were always very friendly and absolutely helpful with everything. They even prepared a special breakfast for us because of my wife´s allergy. The rooms are really special. A cave room with western standard, clean, cozy, made with a lot of love gives you the real Cappadocia feeling. There are many traditional items and details in the room which makes it very special. A splendid bathroom with a small jacuzzi is just the icing on the cake.
We had a wonderful time and enjoyed every single day. Their tip for a balloonride with Voyager was excellent. We could do this everyday! Best wishes to you guys from Cologne, Germany. Hope to see you again. Tesekkür ederim for everything! Simone and Claudius

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudius K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Check in: We traveled as a group of 4, from Istanbul to cappadocia early in the AM. By the time we arrived, it was well after breakfast - and brothers Harun and Ishmael saw our starving faces and quickly set up a late breakfast. It consisted of fresh fruit, assorted breads, fresh jam (apricot, cherry, and strawberry), some cheeses and olives. Coffee and tea was complimentary. My husband must have drank over ten glasses of tea in our short two night stay

Rooms: We had a queen sized bedroom with a large entry foyer. The bathroom was large, accompanied by a modern shower. Our friends had a king sized room - larger than ours and even more impressive (I think it was room 4). The rooms are all newly renovated - as this hotel was just opened up spring 2012


To Harun and Ishmael - you were the best hosts I've had on my travels. We wish you all the success. You guys deserve it!

It is a family run hotel, with only six bedrooms, and a lovely private terrace which we could have hung out at for hours. This place is a steal. I've stayed at places far more expensive without even an ounce of the character that Chelebi has.

Our one regret? Way too short of a stay.



  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alwayslight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We had such a great experience here.
- The staff were always there, attentive and kind, from giving you advice on local sites, to bringing tea and snacks while watching the Euro cup after a long day of touring.
- The room was large, well appointed and spotless - special kudos for the size of the room and modern bathroom.
- The breakfast started us off right every morning, both with good food and great service.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing stay for solid value. A couple points to note - the hotel is a building not actually in a cave and can be a little challenging to find, but asking a local worked for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wnbAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 77 in Goreme
1,034 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 77 in Goreme
1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 77 in Goreme
1,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 77 in Goreme
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#10 of 77 in Goreme
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelebi Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelebi Cave House

Property: Chelebi Cave House
Address: Orta Aydinli Mahallesi, Aydinli Sokak, No:6, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You Are About To Be A Part Of The Fairytale!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chelebi Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelebi Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing