We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Fairy Chimney Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairy Chimney Inn
Ranked #56 of 77 Goreme B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We have been traveling for almost two months in Greece and Turkey. This hotel was our most expensive, but far from the best. The location is spectacular,but we thought the service and facilities very ordinary.
We arrived late in the afternoon, and we're shown to our room by the only one of the four young men about who spoke some English. The part cave room was fine except that the concrete shower and toilet area was not just outside the room, but across a small courtyard partly overlooked by the outside breakfast area. The advice not to book the Cukur room is sound.
We think they have a communication problem. There was no hotel information in the room such as when is breakfast, and can we clean our teeth with the tap water.
When we booked a ballon flight through the hotel, we had to visit the balloon company to determine our early morning pickup time.
This hotel appeared to have little covered public space. We wondered how they managed in wet weather, which does occur in Goreme

Room Tip: Do not book the Cukur room if you have any choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

We were not disappointed as we drove up the hill and saw this natural wonder. We spent 3 nights in the Kale rooms which was big, airy and magnificent views over Goreme. This family run hotel cave is welcoming and situated with perfect views overlooking the valleys or Goreme. It is an easy walk into town. Our host Unal who was very informative and helpful before our arrival and most certaily during our stay. Unal definitely made our experience one to remember and was very engaging and happy to share his thoughts. We went to a restaurant on his recommendation called, Topdeck cave restaurant - the food was excellent. We went there on our first and last night. The family run restaurant is a must visit. Book ahead to avoid disappointment. On our 2nd night Unal's sister, Guljan who owns the Fairy Chimney Inn with her husband Anders cooked dinner. It was yummy. the FCI is also a perfect location should you wish to view the hot air balloons from the top terrace. The Goreme open air museum and rose valley is walking distance. Book a tour to visit Ilhara Valley and the underground city of Derinkuyu. A breathtaking experience and much thanks to Unal for his generosity and time. This was definitely the highlight of our trip to Turkey.

Room Tip: Stay in the Kale room if you are a family of 4 or 5. It has a huge lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nerine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Our family stayed 3 night at there.
Cave house was restored very well and very beautiful and nature-friendly.

The people were very kind.
The Food was very very delicious.
We were so happy.

The view from the hotes was best !
I Love fairychimneyinn!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JungzooKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The Inn is built into and onto the rock formations rising above Goreme and has a wonderful view from the dining patio over a valley of the "fairy chimney" spires. Our room was part-cave, part built out, and was quite spacious, very comfortable and clean, with views of fairy chimneys. The buffet breakfast was very good and you were welcome to ask for eggs made to order in addition to the ubiquitous hard-boiled eggs. Unal was extremely helpful in planning walks and general sight-seeing. The dinners prepared some evenings on request by the owner, Gulcan, were extremely good and well worth the price (we had 2 dinners and each was different and very tasty). A 10 minute walk downhill to the village center.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraMike68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We spent a week at this hotel and can thoroughly recommend it. It is certainly unusual, built as it is into the local rock, but it has great but charm. We had a large room with a separate wet room, and we can well imagine that the even temperatures created by the rock are a real boon in the full heat of summer. We greatly enjoyed the buffet breakfasts on the sunny terrace, and at the end of the day were glad to make use of the loungers on another terrace just outside our room. Gulkan and Andus run the hotel very smoothly, and the helpful staff booked taxis, etc as a matter of course. Looking over the valley from the hotel is a real treat, and it is amazing to wake in the morning to discover perhaps 50 hot-air balloons drifting past you with just the occasional 'whoosh' from a burner. Fascinating features of the local area are the seemingly endless rock dwellings, churches, monasteries, etc. Almost everyone goes to the very local open air museum, but don't overlook the second one at nearby Zelva - we thought it easily the better of the two. We'd also recommend hiring a car and driver to visit sites such as the underground cities, rather than taking a tour with too-short stops at many sites. In short, this is an unusual and very interesting area, and the Fairy Chimney Inn is a great place to stay to enjoy it.

Room Tip: We chose one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My son and I recently stayed here during a trip around Turkey. I fell in love with Cappadochia and this hotel was part of the reason. Andis and his family were warm, fun, interesting and helpful. Of course, staying in an actual cave hotel is part of the allure, but because this hotel was so well run it made it a better experience. The room was comfortable. The breakfast was very good with a lot of variety. The views were awesome! There is a very comfortable patio area to meet and eat with other guests that over looks the fairy chimneys. There is another patio area that gives a great view of sunset. The torture of the stay was that they made their own bread and the fantastic smell just made you hungry. I suggest making sure you have a way to set a phone alarm as there are no clocks in the room, but they will wake you you up if you ask them to. I would highly recommend this hotel for those who want an experience, not just a trip. I also suggest getting up early at least once and watch the sky fill with hot air balloons! You wont regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

An EXCELLENT choice if you are after a boutique, interesting, character filled room/cave in Goreme. The views over the valley and town are exceptional. Bit of a walk (10min) up the hill to get there but well worth it for the view and the peace and quiet.

The service was informative and excellent, without being over the top or intrusive. Provided all solutions without a fuss.

Not for you if you are after new 5 star luxury, fittings and opulence. An absolute must if you want a genuine experience of Goreme. Quirky, ingenious, rustic, fascinating.

Twenty five years travel, probably my favorite room ever.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.3 mi away
Village Cave House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sarihan Cave Hotel
Sarihan Cave Hotel
#63 of 78 in Goreme
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Goreme Valley Cave House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Falcon Cave Suites
Falcon Cave Suites
#47 of 77 in Goreme
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sakura Cave Hotel
Sakura Cave Hotel
#26 of 77 in Goreme
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cave Life Hotel
Cave Life Hotel
#36 of 77 in Goreme
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairy Chimney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairy Chimney Inn

Address: Guvercinlik sokak 3/7 | Aydinli Mahallesi, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range: £25 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carefully restored cave-cone complex from Byzantine times with best views to the unique Cappadocian landscape. Authentic and almost private atmosphere, bordering on the bohemian. International management. World wide first and only cave-haman, WLan and all kind of service & advice. Free tea and sympathy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Fairy Chimney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairy Chimney Hotel Goreme
Fairy Chimney Inn Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing