We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairy Chimney Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fairy Chimney Inn
Ranked #64 of 76 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2008

We stayed here for 5 nights and it was totally magical. Arrived very early in the morning on the bus and got a taxi up the steep hill! The owners did not mind that we arrived at 6 am and quickly made us breakfast and sorted out our room. Everyone speaks perfect English and are very hospitable. Andus who runs the hotel with his wife is also an expert on the area so can really help you decided where to visit. He is very knowledgeable and great to chat to over a glass of wine. We were told our room was modest and it was far from it. Built into the fairy chimney, the bedroom was large and decorated with traditional Turkish furniture, the bathroom was cave like with the most incredible views from the window. What made the room fantastic was that it up an upstairs. A large lounge with Kilims and cushions. An excellent place to chill out and lookout on to the breathtaking views. The hotel has a lovely court yard where you can eat breakfast (which was very good) and drink wine in the evening. You are also invited to eat with other guests and the family in the evenings for a very modest price.
We also borrowed their car which was incredibly cheap, a faction of the price of hiring a car in town. We would definitely go back, it is an incredible place and by far the best place to stay in Goreme. We loved it and will go back.

  • Liked — Amazing accomodation & location. Andus & Gülcan - Fantastic hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mincimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    24
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
21
52
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2008

A most wonderful setting to spend 8 days in Cappedocia.
Most fantastic views of Goreme and the surrounding landscapes from a high vantage point.
Andus and Gulcan were brilliant hosts and made us most welcome during our stay.
Breakfasts on the terrace were second to none and some great traditional Cappedocian food for evening meals.
A great place to celebrate a 20th wedding anniversary.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing (except having to go home)
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Beechfield91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

This delightful bed and breakfast overlooks Goreme on one side and a valley full of ‘fairy chimneys’ on the other. Our comfortable room was a unique rectangular cave dug into the side of the hill with a window overlooking the valley. The view from the window in the bathroom was particularly spectacular … you could shower while looking at a landscape of pinnacles. A small terrace outside allowed you to sit with drinks while observing the golden sunset. The staff were very helpful and pleasant and we enjoyed their typical Turkish breakfast while sitting on the terrace overlooking the town. Highly recommended and good value.

  • Liked — unique location and views
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BelairTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2007

I found this Inn by chance in late September 07 and stayed there for one week...I fell in love with the Inn, the owners & family, the location and the village of Göreme - so much so that I returned 7 weeks later and stayed for another 2 weeks in November!

The inn is beautiful, charming and everything one would want. Gülcan and her brother ünal are beautiful and loving hosts and will make you feel instantly at home and comfortable.

They have amazing rooms and the hotel is just fantastic to explore and enjoy. The town of Göreme is charming and the perfect place to explore the rest of Kapadokya. I've seen a lot of other places to stay in Göreme and talked with other travelers and by far I would recommend this inn for it's beauty, comfort, charm and the wonderful hosts.

Many of the guests I met while staying there both times were repeat visitors...some have visited many times - I can understand this! I will be back again and again...it's truly a wonderful inn located in a magical land :-)

  • Liked — the beauty of the inn, the hosts, the location, the landscape surrounding the inn
  • Disliked — that I had to leave!!! maybe the hike up the hill but you get used to that after one day ;-)
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank julesB2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2007

We did a tour in Turkye for 2 weeks and this was the best place where we stopped. Fairy chimney Inn is defenitly the best place to be when you want to vizit Cappadocie. Also it is located a bit higher than the other hotels and the view is magnificent.
We are so glad we stayed here, that probably we go back in the winter time.
Really clean, neat, cosy and lovely decorated room.
Just go there and have a look for yourself, you won't regret it a second.

  • Liked — Decoration, peace, view, hospitality and so much more
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolBrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.3 mi away
Bedrock Cave Hotel
Bedrock Cave Hotel
#7 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Cave House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harman Cave Hotel
Harman Cave Hotel
#13 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#12 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#11 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairy Chimney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairy Chimney Inn

Property: Fairy Chimney Inn
Address: Guvercinlik sokak 3/7 | Aydinli Mahallesi, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carefully restored cave-cone complex from Byzantine times with best views to the unique Cappadocian landscape. Authentic and almost private atmosphere, bordering on the bohemian. International management. World wide first and only cave-haman, WLan and all kind of service & advice. Free tea and sympathy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Fairy Chimney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairy Chimney Hotel Goreme
Fairy Chimney Inn Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing