We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IMPORTANT DISCLAIMER --this place is not a hotel it is your own home”
Review of SOS Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SOS Cave Hotel
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Jaipur, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“IMPORTANT DISCLAIMER --this place is not a hotel it is your own home”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

First of all I find myself in great difficulty to give a review of this place as hotel because in my whole stay we felt like our personal second home in Cappadocia Gerome and Mr. Musa, Sinan and Volkan as my extended family members like brothers . I booked this place after reading review in TripAdvisor. and booking com as most of them really appreciate the personal touch in this hotel .I appreciate their promptness to reply any email query and ever willingness to accommodate the wish of their guest.If I had right to give 200 marks out of 100 I would definitely give it to them as every one of them worked hard to earn it . We took a morning flight to Navashir Cappadocia from Istanbul which later I felt was not a good decision ,overnight bus from Istanbul by Metro bus would be better as comfortable bus with excellent service on board along with saving in form of reduce night hotel stay and airport transfer at both end and above all no hazels for catching a morning flight.Mr Sinan was there on airport for our private transfer to hotel with his smiling face, as soon as we reached hotel they offer us nice breakfast including superb cheese omelet ,fresh fruits and organic apricot and honey comb with variety of bread ,juices and coffee etc on terrace.We enjoy having breakfast in this wonderful terrace. Their terrace is absolutely brilliant because there is no obstruction in front of hotel, with breathtaking views across the fairy chimneys, a great place for breakfast and a few drinks in the evening.
It is the perceptive and friendly service that makes it worthwhile staying in this small family-run hotel. The owners and staff are social at just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home. The rooms are great, quiet and clean. we family of four (2 adults and 2 children )stayed in largest 5 bedded cave room which had a special Cappadocia feel . The staff are happy to pick you up on arrival in town and to drop off and pick up from any of the local walking tracks. Mr Musa is very helping and extremely experience person with great knowledge regarding which place to go ,which tour we should take and which ballon company is best for us . he booked us to atmosphere balloon company at very attractive discounted rate and took pain to ensure that we got a special 8 seater V.I.P. ballooning experience. His knowledge of carpets and keleem ,jejeem and rakarah is really helpful for us to decide which keleem we should buy .He even arrange some old keleem for us from direct local weaver at very attractive price .If you trust Musa then you will always find him with your side only. If you are thinking of going to Gerome, and you should, stay here. By far the best hotel on every level across the globe .... WE MISS YOU ALL and Would definitely return if we ever head back to Goreme.
Room Tip: Ask for a large cave room.
Other tip: don’t miss organic apricot which comes from owner Mr. Musa’s own farm

Room Tip: large cave room for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arun Kumar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soscave, Manager at SOS Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Hello Arun,

What kind of reviews ,there is only one think to say perfect.
You are riğht here is your second home whan ewer wold you like to come back feel always welcome.
Say hello to your Family to.

All the best regards

From turkey to India

Sos Cave Hotel
Sinan Kanlıbaş
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    81
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
91
187
58
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at this place for a couple of nights and we had a great time! The staff is very friendly and helpful and even took us for a complimentary walking tour through the rose valley. They were always ready with helpful information and a joke! Really warm people...

The breakfast was good and they also made real nice gozleme for us. Overall we had a comfortable and delightful stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Divakar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Their terrace is absolutely brilliant because there is no obstruction in front of hotel. I enjoy having breakfast in this wonderful terrace. The room is clean and comfy.
Their staff treat every guest as their family, i felt very warm here. They always provide extra to guests when they have time. For examples, they accompanied us to go hiking in Pigeon valley. They drove us to the amazing peak (much better than the sunset point) to watch the sunset, etc. I had never ever though I would have these fantastic experiences. So, I highly recommend you to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Room with balcony is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We were recently at the hotel with a group of walking friends from the UK. Lovely hotel that provided everything we needed. Very comfortable and accommodating. It would have been easy to have spent the entire time sitting on the terrance sipping and snacking. Would definitely return if we ever head back to Goreme.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LWDouglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

It's been just 24 hours since we landed in Goreme/Cappadocia and at the SOS hotel.
We're already starting to miss the place, which is made worse by the fact that we came here for only 2 days.

If it helps you, we are a group of 7. 4 adults and 3 kids in the 12-16 age group.

About SOS.
Just completely amazing place. Goreme was running out of rooms when I reached Sinan (+90 (384) 271 21 34) on the phone about a week before our arrival. I had a deal closed in about 1 hour including the back and forth of emails and credit card information. It really helped that you were talking to the owner, and he was able to take quick calls on your needs. We ended up taking two rooms - one a large 5 bed room and another with 3 beds that was perfect for the kids.

The hotel arranged for our pick up from Kayseri Airport - that cost 25TL per person, and took about an hour. All in all a good decision to fly into Kayseri instead of Nevsehir. Flights to Nevsehir tend to get more expensive, so this was a good trade off.

We met Sinan's brother Musa at the hotel. And from that point on, Musa took over. We arrived mid morning, and after some refreshments, Musa helped us chalk out our day's itinerary... important since we were here only for two days; and called for a rental 10 seater van to drive us around.

We started with lunch at the Kapadokya Koyevi restaurant with Musa driving us and joining us for lunch. This has to be the best home cooked fresh food in the area. It is a garden restaurant that has local women making their own fresh bread/naan and "gozleme" on the fly. Gozleme is basically stuffed flour rotis (like stuffed kulchas back in India).... with potato, spinach, cheese fillings. Simply fantastic. The food was highlighted with a wonderful lentil soup and some wonderful local vegetable dishes and a brilliant couscous-pasta combination to mop it all up.

Musa then took us to the Rose Valley and Love Valley. Simply splendid views that take your breath away and some minor trinket shopping. We visited some of the 'mushroom' formations and volcano formations that provoke one's imagination.

We also went to a couple of 'tourist traps' - a ceramic museum and a onyx outlet. The ceramic museum is though an experience not to be missed... we ended up learning a lot and buying some wonderful memories for back home. This place was called Guray Comiclecik - wonderful!

At the end of the day Musa drove us to the highest point on the hill behind SOS with a bottle of wine! What can one say about a sunset? See the pictures!

SOS and Musa did a wonderful job for us, taking all our headaches of planning away. They organised a wonderful balloon ride this morning, the lunch, the dinner on their lovely terrace with a lovely view (hard to leave this place as I write at a sunny breakfast after the balloon ride).

All in all, don't miss any of the suggestions that Musa makes (except perhaps the onyx place unless you are into jewellery).

Cappadocia is a place to pause, breathe, cycle and walk. And we are leaving tomorrow more than content. Coming back soon for a longer more relaxed break!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nandieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelsall UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at the SOS Cave Hotel May 2013 for 5 nights we had a wonderful time. The hotel staff were very helpful they arranged our shuttle and local sight seeing trips. Nothing was too much trouble for them. If you asked for something and they could do it they would. Most of the staff spoke English which made our stay much easier. The continental breakfast was very comprehensive my wife was very surprised and please to see natural honey comb (not honey out of a jar) not many if any 5 star hotels provide this at breakfast. There was also fresh fruit available each morning. The Hotel is located just a short walk from the town center it is the last but one at the end of the road this meant that from the terrace you had wonderful views of the valley. We would not hesitate to recommend the SOS Cave Hotel to anyone and if we go back to Goreme again we would stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterPelsallUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at the SOS in May 2013 with a group of 6. From the minute we arrived Musa and Volkan made us all feel welcome like part of the family. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They gave us great advice about local walking tours, arranged our balloon flight and pointed us in the right direction for trips to Avanos and Urgup local towns. My wife and I stayed there in 2006 and went back with our friends as we found the staff and atmosphere to be really friendly, casual and accommodating, just like this latest trip. The big feature of the hotel is the terrace with breathtaking views across the fairy chimneys, a great place for breakfast and a few drinks in the evening. The rooms are great, quiet and clean. The staff are happy to pick you up on arrival in town and to drop off and pick up from any of the local walking tracks. If you are thinking of going to Goreme, and you should, stay here. By far the best hotel on every level....

Room Tip: Ask for a large cave room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kades51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#35 of 77 in Goreme
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#14 of 77 in Goreme
1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#33 of 77 in Goreme
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harman Cave Hotel
Harman Cave Hotel
#20 of 77 in Goreme
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maccan Cave Hotel
Maccan Cave Hotel
#19 of 77 in Goreme
249 reviews
1.2 mi away
Takaev Cave Hotel & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SOS Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SOS Cave Hotel

Property: SOS Cave Hotel
Address: Goreme Center | Aydınlı Mah. Cakmaklı Sokak No:4, Goreme, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Goreme
#3 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#4 Business Hotel in Goreme
#6 Family Hotel in Goreme
#9 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your SOS Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sos Cave Pansion Goreme
SOS Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing