We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SOS is Great - Excellent Views,Staff & Service”
Review of SOS Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SOS Cave Hotel
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Our stay in July was memorable for many reasons, Some quick opening examples of the fine service we enjoyed is as follows -
We arrived on the day of our daugters birthday - SOS staff without anything other than a casual mention of it by us, arranged a magnificent, nicely decorated cake complete with piped "Happy Birthday" & her name.

I left my Ereader on the bus when we arrived in Goreme, staff happily rang & arranged it's return from the bus company when the bus next returned to Goreme in 3 days time (after my ereader visited the Black Sea without me!)

Unbelieveably this coincided with me later the same day of it's return, leaving it again on a bus as we departed for Istanbul, Musa the owner/ Manager then arranged for it to be found, & sent on to our hotel in Istanbul for me to happily & greatfully pay the freight of upon receipt!!.He also rung us to ensure it was received OK.

SOS review generally-

I was mildy wondering how we would occupy ourselves for 4-5 days on our intial arrival in Goreme, a bit of sightseeing, balloon trip & then what??

We settled into the SOS "bus lagged" on our arrival after a friendly welcome from all staff we encountered, happy with the facilities of the cave room, then sat and enjoyed the awesome 270plus degree view from the terrace of the "Fairy Chimney's" and I pondered the above.

The staff & Musa in paticular were happy to sit & chat with us for as long as we wished, whilst keeping an attentive eye on any other guest needs that arose.

We indicated to Musa that a balloon trip was on our wishlist & were happily reccomended to use Atmosfer baloons with an additional discount for SOS guests - the trip with Atmosfer was awesome - complete with a pinpoint landing of our basket upon the trailer - no lifting & loading required!!!

As we also explained our wish to absorb in greater detail sights & life in & around Cappadocia other then the stock tours, Musa offered himself to us as a private guide for a day trip, we encountered many "off the beaten track" sights & experiences. A cave home still fitted out with furnishings as in everyday life with a small shop & balcony to sit & enjoy a drink or food upon.

A village where the ladies (6 of them) were doing the weekly bread bake on a massive wood oven that we watched, bought some of the lovely bread & enjoyed with our Turkish lunch at a nearby restaraunt with awesome fresh lentil soup, kebabs, casserole,olives, cheeses, tomatoe etc.
A ceramics factory guided tour, Mulberry picking, Apricot tasting where ever we went as Musa grew up on an apricot farm & was keenly interested in apricot comparisons to his own that he is marketing dried. Carpet purchasing direct from a local wholesaler, out of the way cave churches & a recently discovered (30 yrs!) small Roman City with amazing intact mosaics that is under archealogical dig at the moment still.

A home cooked BBQ on our last night there with staff that was very very nice.

The staff in our opinion went above & beyond our expectations, treated us more like family, chatted like friends for as long as we wished, respected our privacy if we were tired, it felt more like a homestay or pension type hospitality than a typical hotel.

We were mildy surprised during on our arrival, that there is no official evening or lunch sevice promoted or on offer in the hotel, however as we found out if you were to arrive late in the evening, ask for, or just hanging around staff would happily share their own self cooked dinner meal with you or as upon our last night be invited to share an evening terrace BBQ instead of a 5-8 minute walk down the street to a restaraunt.

Our stay in SOS cave hotel was fantastic, we woud happily return anytime & would reccomend it to anyone as it caters very well to the varied types of guest they host from all over the world as staff have a host of languages they are either proficient in or learning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbear1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
There are newer reviews for SOS Cave Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

The SOS Cave Hotel has everything I needed for a wonderful visit to the Cappadocia region. The entire village of Goreme is walkable from the hotel, but it is on the peaceful and quiet edge of town. It takes 2 minutes to get to the Pigeon Valley trail, and the Open Air Museum is also close. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The view from the terrace where breakfast is served is gorgeous, and you can sit on the terrace any time to enjoy a book or the company of other travelers. Musa, Sinan, and Vulcan take very good care of their guests, providing wise recommendations for tours, food, and activities in the area. They clearly wanted us to see how wonderful the region is and to make sure our stay was comfortable. Breakfast is served and was delicious every day. One afternoon while I was on the terrace, they served us baklava and ice cream just to show the wonderful food and hospitality that Turkey has to offer. I will definitely stay there again when I visit Turkey.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IllinOisTeach3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

we stayed at this hotel for 4/5 days over the start of July. It was recommended to us by a local who we be-friended in Bodrum. It was also one that we had looked at as a possibility from trip advisor. It was excellent in so many ways.

We stayed in a cave room - a triple room downstairs from the main dining area. It was tastefully decorated, comfy beds, plenty of bedding (it was a bit chilly at night still). Enough room to put the suitcases down, and open, and walk around. The bathroom was really good too. As we stayed in the cave section of the hotel the room itself temperature wise was pretty stable, not really hot or really cold. Very cosy. There was one window that opened onto the lobby area for ventilation, and a vent duct to the roof. Plenty of air. The room/beds were tidied and towels daily, they even folded my clothes (certainly not required). They did our washing too.

The staff here are genuine and friendly. They all speak a few languages, some more than others but one staff member sat with my daughter to chat to find out more about Australia and get help with his English. It doesnt get more real than that. Dinner is an adhoc affair as some people wander down the road into Goreme main street for dinner. If you want food you can ask for it, or like us, if you just sit and relax long enough you are invited for dinner. We really enjoyed sitting having dinner with the staff as well. We sat with a few shared bottles of wine and chatted with staff but in particular Musa for half the night - sorry Musa for keeping you up late....but you are fun to talk to and a hive of helpful and quirky information!!

Musa, the owner, his brother and all of his staff should be commended for the relaxed and friendly approach to their customers. I have read a few reviews that there were no set menus or room service etc. This hotel is more like a pansion in the family oriented relaxed way. Just ask the staff and you will get help. When my daughter was craving cup noodles, they gave her a packet that they had recieved as a present from some Korean people. When they picked up a family at midnight who were hungry they were driven down the street for some food and brought back to the hotel.

We were stranded initially - as warned by Lonely Planet guide at Kayseri on the ULUSOY bus lines from Antalya (ulusoy buses not recommended for any reason) even though we had tickets to Goreme. As it was 5am when we arrived, we didnt want to ring the hotel so we organised another bus - we paid, not ulusoy buslines to Goreme arriving at 9am then a cab up the road - literally up the road, and was subsequently ripped off. Musa told us we could have rung him no matter what the time when we got stuck at any point.

Once Musa found out that we werent interested in the full touristy things and that there were plenty of other options he took us on a day trip around. we saw very few tourists, a couple churchs up the cliff, stopped at a village that was baking bread for the village and bought some (delicious) and some Roman ruins. Musa - can you give me the names of the places you took us, i was so relaxed i didnt write any of them down. We were taken to Mado - the home of the original turkish ice cream made out of goats milk, and a ceramic workshop. We stopped on the way back at a local winery and bought some wine to share when we got back to the hotel. We decided to go see the whirling dervishes after we told Musa we missed the Saturday night one in Konya and he took us to a local one, organised tickets and his brother picked us up in the car after the show.
When we told Musa about our love of Mulberries, he took us on a walk to the best spots and we spent a couple hours eating and picking the best white, and black mulberries, and learnt more about apricots, taste testing of course, than i could have imagined. All the extra mulberries we picked came out for breakfast the next morning. Ohhh, and they have real honeycomb and fresh apricots every morning for breakfast too. Lovely

We chatted about carpets as he showed us what he had just bought, and told him about ours. Musa ended up getting the carpet guy to bring around specific size carpets for us to look at at our request. We bought a hall runner from them and a carpet from Musa much cheaper than in the shops - and Musa organised us to send that all home via DHL so we didnt have to attempt lugging 30kg with us home.
Musa also organised our hot air balloon flight which was fantastic - with a discount.
Musa and i played with my camera to get some good shots of the hotel at night time. Musa - i have uploaded onto trip advisor but will email you the original if you want to put them up on your website.

I cant say enough about this hotel and in particular Musa. An experience we will never forget, and thanks to all the staff who made us feel like family and friends. A+++++++++++++++

Room Tip: the cave room downstairs was a triple, there are different types of rooms in different areas, some n...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sapphirecat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The SOS Cave Hotel was the perfect spot for my group’s ten-day stay in Turkey. A short walk from shops and restaurants in the center of town, this hotel is perfectly situated on a peaceful street with a gorgeous view of the sunset, caves, and the Uchisar castle. There’s easy access to several nearby hiking trails as well.

Breakfast was amazing! It was probably one of my favorite things about this hotel. I looked forward to it every morning. We all enjoyed the delicious wine and cheese and Fourth of July barbecue prepared for our group, too. All of the food we ate was fresh and local.

The staff members were available throughout the day, were very accommodating, spoke great English, and went out of their way to help us find the best restaurants, tourist attractions, and rental shops. They even drove us to a restaurant one evening! By the second day they already felt like family and we looked forward to coming “home” in the evenings and relaxing out on the balcony. Tourists from all over the world stayed at the SOS Cave Hotel while we were there and we saw the staff treat each of them with the same personal interest and care.

Thanks for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mundotraveler_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This was our second time staying here. The location is great, the rooms were fun and the staff were amazing! Musa and Vulcan catered to our every need...including driving us to a restaurant and getting us discounts and extra amenities. Any question, concern, or need was immediately addressed. As a result we will DEFINITELY be returning. Sure, there are likely other hotels with cheaper prices or additional amenities BUT they DON'T have Musa and his staff. THEY make all the difference.

One evening we returned to the hotel and Musa presented one of our team with a birthday cake since it was his birthday. We didn't ask for it...he just wanted to make our stay the best it could be. Oh, and the cake was delicious.

Thanks Musa for a great stay. Our team thoroughly enjoyed our 8-day stay two weeks ago.

Room Tip: Tell Musa what you're wanting and he'll take care of you. If there is something you want or...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WCK304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

SOS Cave hotel is a wonderful hotel with a bed and breakfast charm. The staff is EXCELLENT, they all care deeply for each visitor and desire that each have the best possible experience. My wife and I have stayed there twice now and both time have been excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seeker_of_fortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The owner of the hotel took such great care of our group of eight travelers this summer during our more than weeklong stay in Goreme. On the first night, he took those of us who were hungry to his favorite — and probably the best — restaurant in Goreme for a spread of the best Turkish food. Every question we had, he answered. Where do we go for pottery? Who has the best deal on ATV rentals? Can we have more of those grass-fed, organic eggs, please?

He even produced a birthday cake for my husband upon request, and made a fabulous grilled dinner for us Americans on the Fourth of July. He was an incredible host and the entire team went out of their way to make us feel at home. The rooms were cozy and comfortable with air conditioning and, most of all, easy access to the exploration-worthy region around us.

Thank you, Mousa! We're not "still thinking." :-)
- Virginia travelers

Room Tip: The cave rooms are cool at night but maybe warmer during the day if you plan to nap. A/C rooms are g...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitney p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#12 of 78 in Goreme
1,044 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#36 of 78 in Goreme
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#1 of 78 in Goreme
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maccan Cave Hotel
Maccan Cave Hotel
#15 of 78 in Goreme
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#5 of 78 in Goreme
593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#13 of 78 in Goreme
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SOS Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SOS Cave Hotel

Address: Goreme Center | Aydınlı Mah. Cakmaklı Sokak No:4, Goreme, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#4 Best Value Hotel in Goreme
#4 Business Hotel in Goreme
#6 Family Hotel in Goreme
#9 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £20 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your SOS Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sos Cave Pansion Goreme
SOS Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing