We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Customer”

Kervan Carpet & Kilim
Ranked #3 of 18 Shopping in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Kervan Carpet & Kilim was established in 1978 by my father. We sell old and antique carpets woven in Anatolia in the same manner as they been have for centuries. Our source for these carpets is often from wedding dowries and those handed down from our ancestors. All carpets use natural vegetable dyes,unlike others sold commercially which are not of good quality.
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
“Happy Customer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had been put off buying a carpet in Turkey by the pushy approach of carpet sellers in Istanbul and by being unable to get realistic prices for what we were looking at. We went into Ibrahim's shop on our last evening in Goreme and were pleasantly surprised. There wasn't the pressure and he even suggested we go to the other carpet sellers in Goreme first.
Prices also seemed to be more realistic to us.
His approach was much less high pressure than we had experienced so far. We ended up buying one carpet and two sumaks and then had to arrange for delivery back to Australia. Ibrahim arranged this and posted them the next day, sending us the tracking number.
The carpets arrived in Australia b efore we got back.
Altogether, we were very happy with the carpets and all aspects of the service Ibrahim provided.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 644Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Qingdao, China
1 review
“So nice guy, so nice store, so nice carpet, so nice Goreme, so nice Turkey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is the best carpet shop in Goreme, and the best one that I found during the 15-days-trip in Turkey. The boss is very funny and so friendly, we had stay there few hours to chatting, and he treat us the turkey tea, and very yummy pide…

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samantha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highely recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We bought a very lovely patchwork rug from Kervan Carpet & Kilim. The shop itself is not very big but has great collection and also Ibrahim was very helpful. We visited many shops in Goreme to see rugs and compare price however he offered us the lowest price. We love the rug we bought and highly recommend this shop. It is really worth to visit the shop.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DancingTramper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Carpet Store in Göreme :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Kervan Carpet & Kilim sells as a speciality rare carpets made from old kilims - every item is unique and handmade. Mister ibrahim is very friendly and non-pushy.
I can recommand this shop to all visitors of Cappadoccia who likes to by an authentique souvenir.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly service with great prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had been to Goreme last week and found this shop with lot of original Turkish items. The shop sells rugs, Carpets, Lamps etc. The designs are original and beautiful. The prices were lowest as compared to any shop at Gorome and Istanbul. Bargaining is required.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grevillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kervan Carpet & Kilim also viewed

 
Goreme, Cappadocia
 

Been to Kervan Carpet & Kilim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing